We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ymca”

Archibald C. Harte Restaurant
Ranked #444 of 729 Restaurants in Jerusalem
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: AsiaRooms.comFromer's
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“ymca”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

good meal in pleasant surroundings and not too expensive. we were however taken aback by the rather aggressive way in which we were demanded to give extra money for service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nelleke k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    18
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The worst service in Israel; mediocre food”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I had high expectations for this place. Located across the street from the King David Hotel, it is in a posh neighborhood of Jerusalem not far from the Old City. The building itself is spectacular, and I'd read good reviews on Trip Advisor. Maybe it was an off night but our waiter disappeared half-way through our meal, NEVER to return! I had to stand up several times to get help, like asking for a dessert menu, or some tea. In fact they never even brought the tea. The food was not bad, but for the price (it's moderately priced) and for the location I expected far better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JonPgh206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The backdrop to this lovely restaurant is the beautiful, old YMCA building that is now a lovely hotel. The 3 Arches is part of this on King David Street, not far from Mamila and the Old City.
Typical middle eastern food, freshly cooked and nicely served, full of different flavours. Enormous and plentiful appetizers and warm pittas. The wine wasn't so good. Went twice and drank nice, ice cold water! Very reasonable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JestherBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 573 helpful votes
“Nice, but has seen better days”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

First Impressions: Along King David Street, straddled between the Christian and Armenian Quarters, sits the Three Arches YMCA Restaurant. It has a longstanding history with another local historic landmark across the street: The King David Hotel. Offering an eclectic international menu, it serves non-kosher meals throughout the day. (Caveat: This is a review of the restaurant, not the YMCA hotel.)

PROS: Location... location... location is its best asset. It's easy to find. If not, everyone knows where it is. There's outside front patio seating with giant parasols for shade. Open during the Shabbat.

CONS: Unfortunately, the restaurant is already showing its age and may be on a slow decline. I may be wrong, but I feel like it's running on survival mode, so to speak, no doubt feeling the market pressure from the sagging economy or the countless new "competition" sprouting around the Old City, particularly at the Mamilla Mall. This is reflected in the cook's blase' attitude and the staff's defeated demeanour.

Verdict: I'd be hard-pressed to recommend this place. Sorry, guys, tradition and history aside, you won't be missing much if you skip this place. A coin toss. Grade B.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eternal_Nomad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nahariya, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location, nice hotel.”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Older hotel with lots of history. Rooms small but adequate. Breakfast good. Location very very good; easy walk to Old City, but, trams, and most other place in Jerusalem.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chaim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Archibald C. Harte Restaurant also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Archibald C. Harte Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing