We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing for Crowne Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #38 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
251 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Disappointing for Crowne Plaza”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The Pros: The room was basically clean, the bed comfortable.
The Cons: This is an old hotel that is quite run down and shabby with chipping paint, the sink faucet was not attached to the sink and swivelled when I tried to turn on the water. Had to hold the fixture with one hand and turn the handle with the other. Told management who said they'd fix it but didn't. Bathtub very slippery but had a sign that the tub was treated with an anti-slip/skid product. If so, it didn't work. Service was correct but not very gracious. There is a "restaurant" which is more of a buffet dining area. Seems many people and most families take breakfast & dinner included so the dinner dining room was jammed and full of kids running and screaming - lively & charming in a sense but not restful. The food was, at best, mediocre. Fortunately if you have executive privileges there is a small quiet business lounge on the 21st floor where you can take breakfast & dinner - tiny selection of food but it's quiet at least. The hotel is central to the Supreme Court and Knesset but a long walk or shortish taxi/train to the Old City. Very little walkable nearby except the bus station and a street market. It was very hot while I was there (up to 85F) even though it was December; they had turned off the central AC so the whole place was very hot and unpleasant. They said they could not turn it back on. Crowne Plazas are usually rather good but this one disappointed. My rating here would be somewhere between poor and average. If you pay the posted charges it is not worth it. If you can get a cheaper rate, might be worth considering in a pinch.

Room Tip: If you must be in this area have a look at the other major hotels close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bcobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Bcobert,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. It is unfortunate that we were not able to deliver 100% satisfactory experience on this occasion due to your dining experience being sub par and maintenance levels being a disappointment. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Again, thank you for your review and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    362
    239
    162
    135
See reviews for
350
310
93
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, texas
Level Contributor
264 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Very convenient location. The local bus station is close by, as is the light rail station. The light rail is great to get to the old city and other areas.
The hotel is an older property and could use a facelift. However, it is still good, and the staff are very friendly and helpful, though there were times when it seemed they were short staffed. But nothing that detracts from the value provided by this property. Breakfast spread was huge and excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alikarim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I really liked staying here. The hotel was very clean and beautiful. The staff is super friendly and accommodating. I went with a large group and we ate breakfast, lunch and dinner here everyday. The food was amazing! I loved the location -- close to all the great sites. The elevators are super slow (but this was probably because of Shabbat). I ended up taking the stairs with my 60lbs bag after waiting 15min (not a big deal though). I really enjoyed the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrekker42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petah Tikva, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

the hotel is located comfortably close to everywhere, the citypass train, as well as the bus station.
the the view is spectacular. clean, food is the best! the lounge is very quiet, clean, and food is great. I would recommend to add some more types of alchohol in the business lounge besides white and red wine, as afer a working day you want to relax. Wissam from reception was great, he was very proffessional, cooprative. and helpfull. the room was spacious, amazing view from every side of the hotel. I would definetaly go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sigalit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza for one night whilst on a tour, room on the 15th floor, got to door of room to find electronic key did not work, waited 10 mins for member of staff, once in room found it to be dingy especially the bathroom which had fittings hanging off the wall, it looked like a dimmer switch.. In the bathroom?? Went down to dinner to find a bun fight going on with about 200 people trying to get to the buffet dinner, had only 30 mins to get it, eat it and be outside on a coach, hotel not geared for more than one coach party at a time. Would not recommend this hotel.. It is an ex Hilton yet the wake up call say's welcome to the Holiday Inn . So what is the actual name and why keep changing it?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheley13, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,
First let me thank you for choosing to stay at the "Crowne Plaza" Jerusalem Hotel.
It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and facilities and we sincerely apologize if we fell short on this case.. Please contact us on email address: jm_gmsec@hiil.co.il to further discuss the matters mention. We hope that you will continue choosing "Crowne Plaza" Jerusalem hotel for your future lodging needs.
Kind Regards,
The hotel's management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Hotel was centrally located. lovely views from the rooms. Our room was old and dated, needed a lot of new stuff. toilet was dinged, sink was stained, carpet was full of stains. Bedding was bare. We had two twins that we pushed together to make a double, slept on one duvet to make it more plush and cover with the other duvet. Hotel was crowded and over-booked. We had to wait 3 hours after check in time for our rooms, because we checked in on the Sabbath Day.; when we got our room, the bathroom was still dirty but we were tired, so I cleaned it a bit myself.
Towels are worn, not the best but it did the job.
Buffet was okay, but after 4 days it was repetitive; too many people, buffet not equipped with even seating, people was waiting for seats and cause a back-log. Waiting to be served coffee or tea is terrible, it comes cold.
Other than the few snags, it was okay. We spent 4 nights here and we made the most of it.
The hotel offers a shuttle to the City centre which is a great feature, the driver of the shuttle can't speak much english and is almost rude. We did not wait for him to return to the hotel, we caught the train back to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chinkygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheley13, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,
First let me thank you for choosing to stay at the "Crowne Plaza" Jerusalem Hotel.
It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and facilities and we sincerely apologize if we fell short on this case.. Please contact us on email address: jm_gmsec@hiil.co.il to further discuss the matters mention. We hope that you will continue choosing "Crowne Plaza" Jerusalem hotel for your future lodging needs.
Kind Regards,
The hotel's management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The view from our window was wonderful. The room was very quiet for sleeping. The temperature of the room fluctates, but we opened the balcony door in the evening for fresh air and also enjoyed the sounds of the city. The food was very good and the pastries and breads were exceptional! All staff were very courteous and helpful All in all, it was a very good experience ... I would not hesitate to stay there agan.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheley13, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing "Crowne Plaza" Jerusalem hotel and for your thoughtful comments regarding your recent stay with us. Your comments will be shared with our Management, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make our guests stay as special as possible. We will be looking forward to the opportunity to serve your future lodging needs.
Kind Regard,
The hotel's management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#17 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#30 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#16 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem
Address: Givat Ram, Jerusalem 91130, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#13 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#22 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#29 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Jerusalem hotel is ideally located at the entrance to the capital, half an hour drive from Israel's international airport and within walking distance from the Knesset - the Israeli parliament and Supreme Court with their unique architecture, also in the vicinity the museums district. the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem hotel is the tallest building in the city and an impressive land mark. All rooms have balconies and are over looking the panoramic views of the old city and new quarters with breathtaking scenery of Judea hills in their backgrounds. The hotel offers a variety of banqueting solutions from 30 to 900 participants in a theater style seminar at our modern and audio-video equipped conference hall or at a sit down gourmet function as per your request. Within a few seconds walk the biggest indoor convention complex in Israel The ICC. At the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem You'll find the most updated executive services, Club lounge on the top 21st floor, Wireless high speed Internet connection in all rooms & public areas. Covered heated swimming pool and SPA including 2 tennis courts, gym, wet and dry sauna and workout studio classes. From It's great location you are invited to walk or a drive to each of this holy city's specially characterized historic areas and get back to your home away from home at the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Jerusalem
Jerusalem Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing