We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A complete dive” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
231 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“A complete dive”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

I really don't know where to begin. I booked to stay here recently via Expedia. As I was going to a conference at the convention centre next door, I thought the Crowne Plaza would be the ideal place to stay but no! It's a dump, in the middle of a building site. In retrospect, I should have paid to stay somewhere much nicer and nearer the Old Town with views and atmosphere, even if that meant walking or getting a taxi to and from the conference every day.

So, check-in. No smiles, no warmth. My colleague had to show no documents. I, on the other hand, was subjected to an interrogation. Then they couldn't find my booking. After much discussion which did not involve me, they brought me a piece of paper and asked me to sign it. The booking was for someone other than me. When I pointed this out, they just changed the other person's information!

Next, the room. It was tiny. It was also shabby and in grave need of a refurbishment. Everything except the bed was shonky. There were finger marks and dust everywhere. The toilet was absolutely disgusting, like it had never been cleaned and the shower was no better. The iron didn't work and neither did several replacements. There was only 1 coat hanger. The mini bar would not open and, get this, they CHARGE you for keeping your own things in it. Get real! This is a hot city. What is wrong with keeping an occasional bottle of water in it!

Next, the communal areas. These were just as shabby as the rooms. The carpets were worn and dirty. The corridor walls needed a lick of paint.

Next, noise. The hotel's rooms are arranged in 2s with each set of 2 rooms having their own door and little corridor. The doors literally slam shut. If you are unfortunate enough to have really loud neighbours who come and go all times of the night, this is a problem. Even with considerate neighbours it could be an issue as many flights leave Tel Aviv at strange times so people do leave the hotel in the early hours of the morning.

Next, service. There was none. No smiles. No offers of help with the bags. Surly breakfast room server who allowed people to push in and be allowed into the room ahead of other people "because they are locals". Terrible coffee. Borderline food. Red wine instead of white wine etc etc.

Lastly, getting a taxi. The hotel has this ridiculously tiny driveway for taxis meaning there is literally chaos if you want to go somewhere in a cab. There are drivers touting for business everywhere (even inside the hotel and even drivers with Crowne Plaza branded taxis), there are people trying to get cases in and out, people almost being run over. Do avoid.

So, does this hotel have anything to offer? Well, the bed was comfortable which was its only plus point.

Would I stay here again? No, absolutely not.

Why is my review so different from others? I strongly suspect that not all the reviews are genuine. This hotel is so far removed from the Crowne Plaza chain it is difficult to comprehend how it has stayed open. I stayed in the wonderful CP at Singapore airport en route to Israel - what a difference!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank nesbitevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear nesbitevans,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

Again, thank you and I look to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    352
    231
    156
    127
See reviews for
338
296
87
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

A smile from the reception clerk on arrival may seem trivial but it can go a long way, especially when the next thing a guest encounters is the room. At first i thought they had forgotten to clean my room but on checking with other guests it turned out that, unswept carpets and broken furniture were the norm in rooms that were not refurbished. Refurbished room had no broken furniture but were minimal in every way.The pool was full of screaming kids and the lobby large with no comfortable chairs. While the dining area was well run the food is cooked in the center of the dining area so when the air vents stop working the smell of cooking settles on the guests. Crown Plaza get your act together or close down, refurbish and select new staff..
If you want to be by the bus station but away from the action and the Old City, if you don't mind dirty rooms and smelly dining - this is the hotel for you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marianga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I recently stayed at the CP-Jerusalem and had a great experience. The staff were uniformly helpful and cheerful. I arrived late and rushed, and had to run out after registering. When I got back late at night, I'd forgotten several items (eg toothbrush, extra pillows), and the response was quick and nice, both from the front desk and housekeeping. The managers are very accessible- always out in the lobby and on the floors. And the location is very convenient, with the tram line a short walk away. All in all, an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chicag0Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

My stay at the Crown Plaza Hotel was amazing. The staff was friendly, the food was perfect and the location is near everything. The swimming pool is a beautiful Olympic sized pool with clean maintained water and a nice patio. I would definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dreed91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was a great hotel to stay in. The service, the food, and the rooms were better than expected and the overall stay was perfect. I highly recommend staying in this hotel when visiting jerusalem. You will not be disappointed

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jercro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Very nice staff with fantastic rooms. We had a great dinner all three nights that we stayed there. The whole experience was a pleasure to stay. Akram, one of the managers was extremely accommodating to any needs that our little group had. Overall, a great experience that I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LukeFinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Allen, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I had a great time here in Jerusalem. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly especially since I was an American traveling in a country that spoke a different language. I would highly recommend this grand hotel for anyone traveling into Jerusalem or Israel in General.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bkopsick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#15 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#24 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Grand Court Hotel
#37 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem
Address: Givat Ram, Jerusalem 91130, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#13 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#22 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#29 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Jerusalem hotel is ideally located at the entrance to the capital, half an hour drive from Israel's international airport and within walking distance from the Knesset - the Israeli parliament and Supreme Court with their unique architecture, also in the vicinity the museums district. the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem hotel is the tallest building in the city and an impressive land mark. All rooms have balconies and are over looking the panoramic views of the old city and new quarters with breathtaking scenery of Judea hills in their backgrounds. The hotel offers a variety of banqueting solutions from 30 to 900 participants in a theater style seminar at our modern and audio-video equipped conference hall or at a sit down gourmet function as per your request. Within a few seconds walk the biggest indoor convention complex in Israel The ICC. At the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem You'll find the most updated executive services, Club lounge on the top 21st floor, Wireless high speed Internet connection in all rooms & public areas. Covered heated swimming pool and SPA including 2 tennis courts, gym, wet and dry sauna and workout studio classes. From It's great location you are invited to walk or a drive to each of this holy city's specially characterized historic areas and get back to your home away from home at the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Jerusalem
Jerusalem Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing