We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great staff, wonderful breakfast, excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #18 of 96 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great staff, wonderful breakfast, excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

We could not have found a better hotel for our trip to Israel. It's wihin walking distance to most sites, breakfast was elaborate and the rooms were spacious and serviced twice a day. The staff was very helpful, in fact, so helpful, we didn't need a tour guide for most of our outings. They were always eager to tell us about the best parts of Jerusalem.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jwalhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    340
    129
    56
    36
See reviews for
330
338
39
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
749 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

Location is nice as it is within walking distance of Jaffa Gate to the Old City. I had a large suite with a view of Mt. Zion. It was spacious enough, however, to get to it, you had to walk a long way from the front desk and then enter an outdoor courtyard before going up a few flights of steps to the suite. The hotel is in need of some attention. The door was jammed at the end of the hall that led out to the courtyard, which was the only way to my suite. I asked for help from the staff, and while promised they would help open the door, they didn't. I then made the Manager on Duty mad because I went to his office and asked him to help me. Lights were burned out in my room, and they were never replaced. Towels provided were thin and worn. The hotel for the price was not as I would expect. There were cleaning supplies stacked up on a table next to the entrance. Service in the bar off the lobby was terrible. I didn't go there for drinks, but rather for food. The food was good when I got it. I asked the evening before my departure for help with our luggage the next morning because I was leaving at 6:15AM. I was told to just call the front desk in the morning and someone would be there in 5 mins. When I called the next morning, I was informed that the "Porter" service did not start until 7AM, so I received no help at all with the luggage on my departure. All in all, this hotel is average. Beds are average, condition of the hotel is average, and the service I experienced was poor. If you want a nice location but don't expect much else, I would recommend this hotel. Otherwise, there are better choices.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevewilhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pisa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

Venue is really large and nicely furnished. The staff is really kind and available and the Hamam (the Spa) adds its proper touch. Only bad thing: paid wi-fi connection. It is not acceptable in 2011 any hotel asking to pay for wifi.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margolis73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

Very nice garden and rooms, however not very convenient for the old city centre, as you have to walk a main road with much traffic.
Fantastic breakfast

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guilia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

The hotel is in a central location with a very nice view of the city. The rooms could use an update as it is getting old. Service was fine for our needs. The breakfast and dinner were very nice. Superb breakfast buffet any day but Saturday.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevepitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2010

I was looking for a historic hotel, located close to the Old City, with good service. An Israeli friend of a friend said Mt. Zion Hotel would be my best bet. It more than fit the bill. The hotel is in an old building, which was built as an eye clinic in the 19th century. Rooms in the old section are arranged around charming courtyards. Our high, high ceilinged room had magnificent views of the Old CIty -- which can be reached by a ten minute walk. The interior decoration is neo-Ottoman. Very elegant but never ritzy. The buffet breakfast was out of this world -- a wonderful assortment of salads, fresh orange juice (you squeeze it yourself), cheeses, yoghurts, pastries, breads, fresh dates. The Turkish steam bath with high domed ceilings and tiled floors and walls steams you back into another era. Mind you, this is not a five star hotel in the classic European sense. There are not butlers running around, the receiver and the telephone body in my telephone in the room did not match, there was some dirt on the walls, but it is also not one of those boring hotels with long corridors of doors. It is a unique experience and a delight with added cultural and historic interest. (There is even a little museum at the hotel about how the building was used in the 1948 war for a secret cable car that brought food and sustenance to the Jews under seige in the old city. The cable car is still there.)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bailingan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

The hotel has a great staff and they try to make up for the overall tiredness of the place. If you can find an alternative with a good location at a similiar price, Id skip this place in a heartbeat.

The hotel smells. The stench of old and new smoke permeates the place and leaky faucets, outdated bathrooms and generally run down condition makes this place a downer. The pool is devoid of water - no kid swimming here in winter as you can do in many other places, including the David Citadel. The gym opens late and even closes for 2 hours in the middle of the day. Just one look at the outdoor wicker furniture sums up the place, frayed all over, not too comfortable and nothing youd want to spend your hard earned money on.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 133heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 96 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#16 of 96 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#9 of 96 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Property: Mount Zion Hotel
Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing