We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, romantic hotel a stone's throw from the Old City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful, romantic hotel a stone's throw from the Old City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

I don't have enough good things to say about the Mount Zion hotel. I stayed here with my family for the greater part of a week, and I don't think I've ever stayed in a hotel that was a nice or as comfortable in Israel. Let's start with the location--the hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the Jaffa gate and the new Mamilla mall. The lobby and many of the rooms look east out over the valley of Gehinom and toward the mount of olives and Jordan beyond. The hotel is wonderfully decorated with ottoman and middle-eastern furnishings, and each room we stayed in (we moved around a few times) was unique in size and decoration. Outside, there are numerous little gardens and verandas, each landscaped with beautiful flowers and vines. The hotel also boasts a huge, secluded pool big enough to swim laps, with ample beach chairs all around and towel and bathroom facilities on site. Above the pool, there is a small outdoor hot tub with a view of the old city, plus a beautiful, steaming hammam and a decent fitness center (two treadmills, elliptical, bike, a bench, a nautilus machine, and hand weights up to 20 kg.) Finally, perhaps the most important attribute of the hotel is its amazing buffet breakfast. This isn't your ordinary breakfast. On every day except for Shabbat (when there is really no hot breakfast), breakfast options include a make-your-own omelette bar, numerous alternating hot breakfast entrees, four types of salads, six kinds of cheese, a full fruit bar, yogurts, numerous types of breads, and delicious desserts like chocolate and apple croissants. The highlight for me was the squeeze your own orange and grapefruit juice bar. The hotel provides fresh oranges and grapefruits and a squeezer and you can go and squeeze yourself as much of the good stuff as your heart desires. There is also, of course, unlimited coffee and tea. Finally, the wait and hotel staff were by and large friendly, multilingual, accommodating, and courteous--qualities that one cannot always count on when traveling in Israel.

One note of caution/tip: The wireless internet, while speedy, is not free--US $15 per 24 hours. But, if you just need to check email occasionally without paying an arm and a leg for the hotel wireless, head to the business center on the fifth floor, where there are three (free) computers with internet access.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the East.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    345
    129
    56
    36
See reviews for
334
339
40
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
273 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

The location of the hotel is great. There is ample free parking across the street. I would recommend the citadel rooms or suites if you can afford them. The other rooms are a little sparse. We were lucky enough to book through our local Jerusalem guide and he was able to get us a suite at a discounted price. These rooms overlook the old city and are in a turkish style which is a nice change from staying in more traditional hotel rooms.

We ate in the coffee shop/lobby bar area. The menu was unimpressive but the food was excellent and the cost was less than half what you would pay for the dinner buffet. The breakfast buffet was included in our package and was very, very good.

Overall we were happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Work with a local guide or travel agent for pkgs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rwgrncrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

Immediately upon arrival to the Mount Zion Hotel, we felt and witnessed its special atmosphere and the magnificent view of the old city. The architecture, design and decor of our room helped to bring us a great feeling about the hotel and being in Jerusalem.
The staff was kind and attentive and we experienced excellent service. The breakfast was delicious and provided us with a taste for more. In the spa, we had really good massages and the Turkish bath is incredible. The location could not be better (walking distance to the old city (and terrific nearby shopping).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mratson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

great hotel with a magnificent view to the old city of Jerusalem and mount Zion.
Very comfortable rooms with an oriental touch , quick service and excelent breakfast .
walking distatnce from the Mamila shopping center and the old city .
We have been there several times and it is always a new surprize .

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benny017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

We could not have found a better hotel for our trip to Israel. It's wihin walking distance to most sites, breakfast was elaborate and the rooms were spacious and serviced twice a day. The staff was very helpful, in fact, so helpful, we didn't need a tour guide for most of our outings. They were always eager to tell us about the best parts of Jerusalem.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jwalhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
767 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

Location is nice as it is within walking distance of Jaffa Gate to the Old City. I had a large suite with a view of Mt. Zion. It was spacious enough, however, to get to it, you had to walk a long way from the front desk and then enter an outdoor courtyard before going up a few flights of steps to the suite. The hotel is in need of some attention. The door was jammed at the end of the hall that led out to the courtyard, which was the only way to my suite. I asked for help from the staff, and while promised they would help open the door, they didn't. I then made the Manager on Duty mad because I went to his office and asked him to help me. Lights were burned out in my room, and they were never replaced. Towels provided were thin and worn. The hotel for the price was not as I would expect. There were cleaning supplies stacked up on a table next to the entrance. Service in the bar off the lobby was terrible. I didn't go there for drinks, but rather for food. The food was good when I got it. I asked the evening before my departure for help with our luggage the next morning because I was leaving at 6:15AM. I was told to just call the front desk in the morning and someone would be there in 5 mins. When I called the next morning, I was informed that the "Porter" service did not start until 7AM, so I received no help at all with the luggage on my departure. All in all, this hotel is average. Beds are average, condition of the hotel is average, and the service I experienced was poor. If you want a nice location but don't expect much else, I would recommend this hotel. Otherwise, there are better choices.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevewilhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pisa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

Venue is really large and nicely furnished. The staff is really kind and available and the Hamam (the Spa) adds its proper touch. Only bad thing: paid wi-fi connection. It is not acceptable in 2011 any hotel asking to pay for wifi.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margolis73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#15 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Property: Mount Zion Hotel
Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing