We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant and beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
raanana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“pleasant and beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

The hotel is beautifully renovated and has a breathe taking view as it faces the old city of Jerusalem. The rooms, ours were standard rooms, are beautiful with comfy beds and nice decoration. Breakfast was rich and delicious. Staff very helpful and nice. Excellent value for money. We were there before and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mehulal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    347
    129
    56
    37
See reviews for
334
341
40
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
paris, france
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Nice reception, but room decor needed refreshing, as it was a bit old. Had a nightime visitor in the bed our first night (=cockroach!). The pool people didn't bother to pick up stuff left by the day's guests (but did find the time to horse around amongst themselves!). Hammam was dated too. Excellent breakfast! A good 12-minute hike to the Old Town. All in all, not great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burkele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Stayed here in August with our son - very nice hotel. Well situated for the Old City (if you don't mind the walk up the hill). Loved the quirkiness of the hotel - lots of pots, flowers and small terraces dotted around the place.
Room was large but I would have preferred a slightly smaller bedroom and a larger bathroom. Rooms definately do need updating and the management should look at this.
Hotel staff were lovely and very helpful. Breakfasts were fantastic - really set you up for the day. Lovely manager in the breakfast room who remembered us each morning.
Only complaint - went to the pool in the late afternoon. There was a pool attendant, a life guard and someone serving behind the bar. Neither did their job effectively. As it was towards the end of the day, there was rubbish and old towels everywhere - I don't understand why one of the three people could not have cleared up. Rubbish bins were overloaded and cats were tipping them over to get out the rubbish. Did not want to stay in the area - it really was horrible.
Apart from that - nice hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mang0jam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerfield, Florida
Level Contributor
235 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

This comfortable boutique hotel offers astounding views of the Old City and the Hinnom Valley and a fascinating history. We enjoyed a citadel room with ample space and comfort for five nights. Hotel staff offered helpful advice for dining and exploring. The breakfast buffet was exceptional. The lobby and hidden public sitting areas encouraged socialization. The pool was inviting. We highly recommend this hotel.

Between 1882 and 1948, this hotel was an eye hospital serving Moslems, Jews, and Christians. During the War for Independence, a unique cable car linked this building with an Israeli position on Mount Zion. A small museum in the hotel features the cable car and hotel history.

The hotel is only a 15 minute walk from the trendy German Colony area featuring a variety of superb restaurants. We recommend Roza Restaurant & Bar and Caffit in German Town, as well as the non-kosher Lavan Cafe Restaurant in the Cinematheque.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

A real jewel hidden in a valley overlooking the Old City, this exotic hotel has some of the most breathtaking views of Jerusalem. Located in an historic building, the Mount Zion has a special charm. Unlike chain hotels, the whole place is adorned with beautiful furniture and decorations with an unmistakable Middle Eastern flair. I've stayed there many times, and enjoy the special family atmosphere which makes it a home from home. I am sure there is no more picturesque or unusual hotel in the whole of Jerusalem. Enjoy, but let's keep this as our secret!

Room Tip: Suites have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanWootliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giv'atayim, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We just came back from Mount Zion Hotel, where we went to celebrate our first anniversary.The hotel was a huge disappointment for us. We've upgraded the room so we'll get better view when actually we only saw (and heard) the main road, the room was filthy and unwelcoming, all we wanted is to go out ASAP, mainly when the wedding that was just below our room started and the volume was unreal! also the stuff was very rude. I planed on having a surprise to my husband and asked for the best room and as mentioned before I even upgraded the room, the hotel told me we'll get fruits and a great room - the room we got was empty, NOT EVEN MINERAL WATER, NO MINIBAR nothing. The hotel is far from being Boutique hotel and I don't recommend it at all. Gali.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank g_bengiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya, Israel
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Just came back from 3 nights at the Mount Zion Hotel. When I reserved the Citadel room I specifically asked if it’s a room with a view and was answered "of course". When we got the room we were very disappointed: We had no view (see picture), the room was too small for the family (2 adlts+2kds) and decorated in a bad taste…
Other than that the hotel is very nice, the building is authentic and the location is good. Given all that – it is priced too high! NOT A GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY.

Room Tip: Lobby is in 6 floor. Rooms in 2-6 (7?). The 2nd floor has no view even if they promise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Property: Mount Zion Hotel
Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing