We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“First Class hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed here in April (I've stayed before too) and it is a clean, friendly, comfortable hotel with stunning views of the Old City of Jerusalem.

It's not a 5 star and doesn't pretend to be, but it's a really good 4 Star and better value than most other hotels in that category.

The superior rooms are all in the older section of the hotel where no two rooms are the same, where there are high ceilings and REAL character in each room (could improve pillows though).

Well located to walk to the Old City and near a street (Emek Rafaim) with lots of nice shops and restaurants.

Lovely pool and grounds too.

Room Tip: Stay in the older section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ameliashiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    345
    129
    56
    36
See reviews for
334
339
40
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Good value for money. Very good service. Breakfastv rather poor as for European breakfast habits. Room nice, clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mysterious274856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boca raton
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

the hotel is old and leaves a lot to be desired. the water pressure in the shower was so weak i wasn't able to wash my hair. the bathrooms are old, housekeeping did a mediocre job of cleaing prior to my arrival (there were remnants of previous guests' leftovers in my room), no washcloths without asking multiple times. my room was dark even with the shades open. no wifi reception at the pool. not a great location if you want to go to the old city. i didn't like the linens either. overall, not a great hotel. the food was good at each meal.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pgrbocaraton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Don't be fooled by fancy photos they are not Citadel rooms. Based on prior reviews we reserved a Citadel Room at about $300. When we got there we were give this cheap little room that I assume was the $199 room. I objected. The management was bitter and arrogant. I asked that I need to cancel and leave the hotel. They said they must charge me one night. We ended up forced staying there 2 nights and moved to a much better hotel at $200 a night.
This place may look nice in pictures but in fact it is cheaply renovated. The step up and down corridors are inconvenient. The tine secondary elevator is a joke. Walking distance to Jaffa gate is not really close or convenient. Bad lock my wife found a huge cockroach at the tub.
Yet, if you have to stay here, make sure to visit the Spa (Hammam) its a pretty and unique middle-eastern style steam room.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by fancy photos. A Citadel room ($300) is not one of them, its just a basic ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sid N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent 8 nights at the Mount Zion Hotel this April. Our room was lovely and spacious. We enjoyed the breakfast, and eating on the patio was a highlight, looking out on the old city walls. The breakfast is probably better when it is not Passover. Athough the hotel is away from the city center, it is located near Emek Refaim, the Cinematheque, the Old City, and Yemin Moshe. Our only complaint was the service we received. The staff at the front desk was uniformly unfriendly and indifferent. When we asked for directions to a particular location, either the desk personnel did not know or gave vague information. When I inquired why a newspaper was not left on our door, the response was that there were no more newspapers, what I would consider a "tough luck" response. The fitness room was okay, but could use some more nad updated equipment.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveUslan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed five nights as part of a group tour. Although the hotel is somewhat oldish with signs of wear and tear, the room was cosy and suitably furnished. The bed was comfortable and the sleep was peaceful and quiet. Our room (No. 326) had a nice view of the Dormition Abbey in the distance on Mount Zion. The buffet meals were sumptuous and tasty. The service was very good and the staff were friendly, polite and helpful. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to King David Street, and is also conveniently located near the old city.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pragasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

very comfy family hotel. Excellent service and quite surrounding. Beautiful view of the town from our bedroom and the breakfast was plentiful.

Room Tip: rooms on top floors have a better view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenza w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#15 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Property: Mount Zion Hotel
Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing