We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, fabulous breakfast”
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2012

This hotel is extremely large and takes time to learn to navigate. The architecture is interesting: the building began as an eye hospital in 1882. It has wonderful views and great morroccan decoration. The location and breakfasts cant be beat. The hamam (hot steam bath) was a treat. That said, the hotel is somewhat shabby and has seen better days. The carpets and towels are frayed and there was no clock in the room. The service was uneven. Some of the staff was superb and others were down right surly. The biggest indignity, however, was the lack of free wifi in the hotel. They charge 15 dollars per day per device for internet! This, to me is outrageous! Tey refer guest to their "business center" for computer use. This consists of two tired computers that are so virus filled that you cant navigate any sites easily. We left the hotel and walked to the right a little and were able to obtain a wifi signal. Also, there is a restaurant caled Levan close by that has free wifi. If computer access is nrot important to you, then this hotel is the place for you. Also wonderful was their small cafe in The lobby which has beautiful views tasty food and cordial service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barndoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay in Trip Advisor. We very much appreciated your warm words and took the negative aspects you mention as constructive criticism. With these in mind, we are pleased to be able to inform you that next month we shall be changing all our bed linen and during the month of January we shall be fitting new carpets in all guest rooms. We also hope that by the New Year our new system of WIFI will be installed and that there will be free access for hotel guests in the Lobby area. Our business center will remain free of charge but we shall continue to charge $15 for 24 hours WIFI access in the rooms. We hope that on your next visit to Jerusalem you will once again be a guest in our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2012

perfectly located this 150+ years hotel is very "oriental" in design. breakfast buffet is outstanding. rooms are clean and spacious. TV was a pain to operate - but then who cares about TV when you're in Jerusalem! staff friendly. we were moved to a better room that had a small terrace/patio, that was nice. being an old hotel it is somewhat of a labyrinth, but it adds charm. water flow in our room was poor, and there were no hot water at the very late night hours - if you want to take a hot shower at 01:00, forget it.

Room Tip: rooms vary a lot. better ask to see the room, and ask to upgrade if possible. some of the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nushki65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review in Trip Advisor.We were delighted that you appreciated the location and the historical building and that you did not allow the problematic aspects of your stay to spoil your enjoyment. Although we have no idea at this time why there was no hot water available, irrelevant of the time of day or night, we offer our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you were caused. We hope you will,make a return visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We spent 6 nights at this hotel as part of a group. We were satisfied with the size and comfort of the room, although it could have used a bit more attention from housekeeping. The hotel is well located for accessing the Old City and the German Colony areas. Breakfasts were very ample and delicious, with lots of variety. We had a buffet dinner in the hotel one night, which was also to a high standard. The pool was available but on the cool side. The public areas were pleasant and had wonderful views. The gardens are very pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMYM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at the Mount Zion Hotel in Trip Advisor. We have noted your comment about the lack of attention given to your room by our housekeeping staff and are very sorry. We hope that you otherwise enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Hello,

we stayed at the hotel last Friday (9-11/11) for 2 nights, for our honey moon.
The room was ok, no special services/food etc'
The Friday night meal was really bad, no taste, no variety, they put us in the other dinning room so each time you wanted to take a food you were must go to the other dinning room.....
The food containers were closed, the dinner started too late, and in the morning it was finished to early....
we were expected to have much more for the honey moon.....

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LioriK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thank you for writing a review in Trip Advisor and may we offer our congratulations! We are sorry that we did not meet up to your expectations but wish to clarify that we were quite aware that you were honeymooners when we upgraded your room to an Executive Suite, overlooking the Hinnom Valley and Mount Zion and the customary courtesies we offer to honeymooners (platter of fruit and pastries and a bottle of wine) was placed in your room. We regret that you did not appreciate our Friday night dinner which is rich and varied and receives many compliments as it did on the same Friday you were guests in the hotel. When you arrived for dinner the dining room was full and you were offered a table in the adjoining dining room with other guests that had also not reserved a table in advance. Although when leaving the dining room you were asked if all was well and you replied in the positive, you approached the Manager on Duty to complain. As a gesture of goodwill he gave you a reduction of 20% on the meal . Although we understand that we have no control over the expectations of our guests we do try our best to ensure that they enjoy their stay. Although we feel you were treated fairly we recognise that we were not successful and we are truly sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Unfortunately the service you receive in this hotel fades the feeling of its beauty.
They answer the phone when they want, George should be fired for arguing that he didn't answer because he was busy. I am always thinking of the traveler with a heart attack and needing emergency help. The front desk acts as though they are doing you a favor or your disturbing their day. What a lousy attitude.
Come, visit the rooms, take a picture and then go somewhere else. You can do better at few steps from Mount Zion Hotel at Hotel Dan Boutique.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jopin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay in our hotel. Although our Front Desk staff generally provide an attentive, informative and helpful service we apologise if there was an argumentative tone when George tried to explain why he was unable to answer your call. He has since been reminded what the procedure should be when he, as the sole receptionist, is busy attending guests and the telephone rings. However, since the physical aspect of our hotel is to your liking and we assume that the housekeeping department and the dining room provided you with the standard of service you would expect, we hope that in time you will choose to remember the more positive moments of your stay and perhaps even make a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

The hotel's location is fabulous, its grounds are beautiful, the breakfast bar is outstanding but the room's are just okay. Note: the hotel is within walking distance of the old city and perfectly safe to do so.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelHistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review in Trip Advisor. We were pleased to read your appreciation of the location, the grounds and the breakfast buffet and regret that your room was somewhat of a disappointment. We are planning to make some improvements which we hope you will be able to enjoy on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed here for six nights as part of a group tour. Our room was strictly fair (good size, nice view), mediocre decor and amenities. The buffet breakfasts and dinners were fine. There were many choices (fresh fruit, teas, smoked fish, etc for breakfast). Restaurant lighting is pretty depressing for dinner. The pool was never available while we were there (parties in the late afternoons and the pool closes at 6:00 p.m.).

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank mary f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thank you for your review of your stay in our hotel. We were pleased to read that your room was satisfactory and your meals fine. We have taken note of your comment regarding the lighting in the dining room and will look into ways of improving the ambiance. We regret that your itinerary did not enable you to enjoy our wonderful pool, which during September was open from 8:00am until 6:00pm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#19 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,433 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,118 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arcadia Ba'Moshava Jerusalem
#4 of 100 in Jerusalem
474 reviews
Villa Brown Jerusalem
#2 of 100 in Jerusalem
127 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#15 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#13 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: £130 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing