We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount Zion Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Windmill Hotel(Jerusalem)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,190)
Filter reviews
1,190 results
Traveller rating
543
398
147
61
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
543
398
147
61
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturkish batheye hospitaloutdoor jacuzziold cityjaffa gatesteam roomtrain stationstone wallsminute walkbeautiful hotelemek refaimbar mitzvahgerman colonywithin walking distancebit datedan upgradehot dishes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
664 - 669 of 1,190 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Our recent stay at the Mount Zion left us wondering how such a lovely property could get so run down, yet have so many guests. Our room keys never worked, and despite efforts to get things fixed, nothing happened. Service was slow, and requests often ignored. It may be a good value, but the property sorely needs an update.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter. But views are better facing Mt.Zion.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay in our hotel. Although we would have preferred a more positive review we appreciate the constructive criticism and your taking the time to write one.We are very sorry for any aggravation and disappointment you were caused and regret your stay was not a pleasant one. We really can do better. With regards the hotel requiring an update, please note that we are actually in the process of refurbishing guest rooms, including wardrobes, new bed linen and carpets and that WIFI is now free of charge in the lobby and Business Center.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Great hotel very close to the Old city of Jerusalem, 10 minutes to walk to reach the Armenian part of the City and the Southern entrance.
We have been upgraded to a fantastic suite and have had a bottle of red wine, chocolate, fruits and appetizers at our arrival from Tel Aviv : great and very pleasant surpise !
The suite had a great view, was very comfortable, clean and well maintained.
The breakfast buffet is incredible!! Actually I think the best one of all my travels. Outstanding with all kinds of fruits, cheeses, croissant, eggs, vegetables and great espresso or cappuccino Italian coffee !
Many thanks to the General Manager, she helped us a lot and gave us full support and advices in any circumstances.
Very close there is the Cinemateque where the restaurant is excellent with very good service and view.
I highly recommend this hotel and the close restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ozem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for expressing your appreciation. We were pleased that you found the hotel's location to be excellent, delighted that you enjoyed the suite and happy that our breakfast met with such approval.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We travel in a group of 3 and so we get an additional bed to our room. Where was enough space for all. We stay only one night. In my opinion the location is good, 20min to the old city an you have a unbelievable view from the hill in an small valley.
The hamman is gorgeous, I like it.
The breakfast next morning was absolute perfect. All that can be on a breakfast - you found them.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FTannex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

We very much appreciated and thank you for taking the time to write a review in Trip Advisor. We were, of course, most pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope that your next one will be a litlle longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We wanted to spend most of our six days in Jerusalem exploring the old city and the Mt. Zion Hotel was the perfect choice within walking distance of the Zion, Dung, and Jaffa Gates; though a bit of a climb down and up a Hill. Frommer's lists it as the best hotel for romance and it definitely could be. But it is also a very nice hotel for families and tours. I was traveling with my sister and we could not have been happier. Built in the Judean Hills looking onto the Old City the Mt. Zion provides perfect views from: the bar and large lobby windows; the terrace outside the breakfast room; the garden and pool (which had just closed for the season), and some rooms that have private balconies. You actually enter the Mt. Zion from the street level and take an elevator down to the rooms. The staff is friendly and helpful. We stayed for two nights before driving down to Eilat and Petra, and returned for four more nights. The staff helped us rent a car from Avis within walking distance. We were able to park for free across the street on our return and leave our bigger bags for the two days. Like most of Jerusalem there is history in the hotel which began in 1882 as an eye hospital by a British charitable order, the Order of St. John. Through several wars it served different purposes with additions added on here and there and the end result being a charmingly restored and well decorated hotel. The room we had the first two nights was cozy and well designed. It looked down on a small courtyard and garden. Before we left for our travels we asked to upgrade on return and were assigned a room, in an area with several suites and a private stairway to the breakfast area. This room was much larger, had French doors that opened to a perfect view of the Old City, and was indeed very charming and romantic with the right company. My sister and I thoroughly enjoyed it as well. A free breakfast is included in the room and it is a smorgasbord of wonderfully delicious choices with breakfast foods indicative of many cultures. There is a chef who will make an omelet to order, along with rows of cheeses, breads, waffles, warm and cold dishes, vegetables and fish, a variety of salads, coffee, a wide choice of teas, and just about anything else you might want; and it is all delicious. After breakfast we usually did not eat again until dinner. It had to be the best buffet breakfast either of us have ever had. The pool had just closed for the season but was large and surrounded by a well-kept garden with chairs from which you can also see the old city. There are robes in your room which you use to go down to the small outdoor Jacuzzi. Do not miss visiting the large beautifully tiled hamam (Turkish bath). You can arrange for spa treatment or just go in on your own to sit and relax for a while. Be warned this hamam was especially hot, so make sure you ask the attendant how to keep yourself hydrated when in there. There is also a small exercise room on the ground floor. The Mt. Zion is right across the street from the Menachem Begin Museum which we did not get to visit, but heard it is quite nice. And just below the hotel is an International Cinema with many movies in English or English subtitles. The few drawbacks of the Mt. Zion are there is no concierge. The front desk staff was somewhat helpful, but not knowledgeable about local music, theater, or nightlife. They have a standard brochure of local tours through which we booked a nice one day tour to the West Bank to see Bethlehem and Jericho. The other drawback is there are no restaurants real close by. We were lucky we had no rain during our six nights in Jerusalem so we enjoyed the twenty minute walk to a wide choice of restaurants and pubs along Shimon Ben Shetach St. I’d highly recommend a stop at Zolli’s Pub during Happy Hour and try a hookah or stop into one of the many nice restaurants for a delicious dinner. They all have their menus outside and in the evening this is a very active place for diners, local and tourists. You can’t go wrong with the Mt. Zion Hotel which was a welcome place to come back to each evening.

Room Tip: The few rooms we saw were all nice. The hotel is spread out so you might do well to ask to see a room first. If you want to splurge the suites are very beautiful and are off in a private section of the hotel with great views of the Old City.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank r_dickens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at the Mount Zion on Trip Advisor. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that your visit to Jerusalem was a successful one. Please note, for your possible return visit, that there are actually four good restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, each not more than a 5 minute walk away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We were booked into this hotel as part of a tour. The hotel is very comfortable. Rooms are well- appointed, clean, quiet. Service is good. The hotel is within walking distance of the Jaffa Gate of the Old City of Jerusalem, thus the location is great. Also, the view of the Old City from the lobby windows is beautiful. We had heard that the breakfast buffet at Mt. Zion Hotel is exceptional, and we were not disappointed. Delicious food, quite abundant, and with so many choices it was difficult to choose among them. The only negative we found at this hotel was the cost of dinner in the dining room. We thought it was outrageously expensive (over $200 for two of us) and chose to eat at the lobby cafe instead, which was much more reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marsha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Thank you for your warm review and for taking the time to write one. We were delighted that you appreciated the facilities and service we provide and that you enjoyed your stay. However, there must surely be a misunderstanding regarding the charge for dinner, which we price at 160 shekels during the week and 255 shekels on Friday evenings, not including wine or soft drinks. When converted to US dollars these prices are aprroximately $40 and $64 respectively.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews