We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs refurbishment and very uncomfortable” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Needs refurbishment and very uncomfortable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed in the Mount Zion in July this year and were very disappointed with the standard of the rooms. The hotel is in desperate need of modernisation and both my husband and I slept very badly for the three nights we were there. In addition the A/C made a loud noise all night. The hotel is in a lovely position but unfortunately we had a tiny window with no view and when we asked if it was possible to move the manager couldn't even be bothered to see if there was an alternative. My family found him very rude and cold. Otherwise the pool staff were lovely and were always there to help if need be.
The breakfast at the hotel was excellent but dinner was worse then the food they provide at schools.
We found this hotel over priced and very uncomfortable. It certainly shouldn't be rated as a 4 star by any means.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosenthal21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations and that you were disappointed with your room and we are absolutely certain that it was not the intent of the Front Desk Manager to offend you, However, if this was indeed the case, please accept our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    345
    129
    56
    36
See reviews for
334
339
40
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We enjoyed staying at this hotel-great location not far from Old City and Mamilla Mall. Beautiful view from the lobby. The pool is all the way down at the lower level- we traveled with our 82 year old dad - he had a hard tie maneuvering steps throughout the hotel and getting down to the pool. Harry has beautiful items at the gift shop. Overall, we enjoyed staying here, but would not recommend it for those with trouble walking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay but regret that your father had trouble with stairs. Although the majority of our rooms are accessable soley by elevator, there are rooms that also require taking stairs. We recommend that when making the reservation for your next visit, you request a room that is easily reached by an elevator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

The hotel grounds and lobby are very beautiful and clean. The rooms, however, are not clean nor comfortable.

While the rooms for couples were adequate and spacious, the family rooms were way too small, and the kids beds were very uncomfortable.

There was a blood stain on one of the towels. The shower curtains had black stains on them. When we got back to the room after our room had been "cleaned", we found open packages of soap in the tub (there wasn't any cleaning done, they just made our beds).
From the beginning we were given two toilet paper rolls, but both of them were almost finished. We had to ask for more, since they didn't give us any during "cleaning" time. We also had to ask for a new shampoo, since there was no refill in that area too. The toilet paper and shampoo came one hour after we asked for them. In the meantime we had to ask toilet paper from another family in our group.

We stayed there Thursday-Saturday. On Friday afternoon, we noticed a food tray someone left outside their room with food on it, as well as some trash on the floor. When we saw that it was still there on Saturday morning, we went to the lobby and told them about the tray. They said they will take care of that.
When we left on Saturday night, the tray with the stale food was still there. For all we know, it is still there now.

The water pressure in the shower was very low.

There is not nearly enough parking space for all the hotel's guests. We had to drive around in circles in order to find a parking space.

Food: We had three meals in the hotel. On Friday morning, the breakfast was very good. There was a nice variety and it tasted great. Friday night was a disaster. The price was so high, we expected a fine dinner with a lot of selection. Were we disappointed.
We were seated in an extremely crowded table, in a very loud room. The lighting was white fluorescent - very unpleasant. To move a chair back, the people beside you had to get up as well because the chair was stuck. The options were couscous, rice or potatoes, and spring chicken or steak, and a few salads. This is not what we expected for the amount of money we spent on the meal. We went to other Jerusalem hotels for Friday dinners before, and the experience was totally different, much much better for the same price (or less, I don't remember exactly). The chicken wasn't thoroughly cooked.
The buns were not fresh. The food was hardly edible.
The desserts were terrible! I was excited to see beautiful macaroons, but the taste was so bad I couldn't even finish one. Just bad. It was a very bad experience.
Saturday breakfast was also very bad, especially compared to the breakfast on Friday.

If this is important to you, TV selection was terrible, and the TV set work for some of the time. Too few channels to select from, plus the cable supplier is Israel's cheaper (meaning worse shows and movies that nobody ever heard of) cable supplier. They only have about 20 channels available, and one of them is a gaming station. What they didn't think of, is that nobody can use the gaming station since there isn't a cable box in the rooms. So it's just an empty channel (not a big deal obviously, but it's a little thing that shows you the hotel's professionalism).

The elevators are very small.

pros: huge towels in room, great pool. The lifeguard and staff were extremely nice and always helped us find seats.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fmDafna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review although, of course, we were sorry that it was such a poor one. We very much regret that your stay proved to be a bad experience but, at this time, we can only apologize for any inconvenience and/or aggravation you were caused. However, although we truly appreciate any form of constructive criticism, we found some of your comments subjective and others incorrect. The parking lot opposite the hotel is a public one, does not belong to the hotel and is free of charge. It is also frequented by people not residing in the hotel and it is quite true that there are periods when it is difficult to find a parking space in the immediate area. As for the Friday night buffet dinner, we offer aprroximately 14 different kinds of starters, mainly salads, two kinds of soup, fish, chicken and beef dishes, a carving station, couscous and the vegetables that accompany it, but also three other vegetables, roast potatoes, rice and local dishes such as stuffed eggplant in a tomato sauce, "kadaief" filled with ground lamb and mushrooms stuffed with lentils and root vegetables. There is also a children's corner. As for the dessert buffet there are at least as many varieties as the starters plus 2-3 platters of fresh fruit.Tthe price for dinner is 255 shekels and includes tea and coffee. Never before have we heard the term disaster when referring to a Friday night buffet - on the contrary - the number of compliments are frequent and many. The hotel breakfast on Saturdays, as you must surely be aware as someone living in Israel, is limited by the Jerusalem Rabbinate. Whereas during the week we offer, apart from the lavish buffet, a variety of six hot dishes plus an active omelet station, self-service expresso machines or the possibility of ordering a cappuccino, we are not permitted to do so on the Sabbath. No cooking is allowed in hotels on the Sabbath, consequently the choice of food that can be reheated is limited and there can be no omelet station nor expresso machines made available. Once again, we are sorry that your stay was not an enjoyable one and understand that you will not be visiting us again, but please know that the majority of our guests do enjoy the location, facilities and service we offer and many return year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

The hotel has a nice view and is close to the Jaffa Gate to the old city. Appart of the location, the only really great thing about this hotel was the tasty breakfast buffet offering extensive choice. The outdoor pool was closed due to winter season so we were not able to enjoy that part of the hotel's amenities. The hotel's interrior is in desperate need of renovation, as all the equipment seems really old and worn down with only little effort being paid to maintenance. Given the high price they are charging, I will try to find another place for my next stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were surprised that since you were refering to your visit in February that you did not mention the Hammam (Turkish steam bath), which is the highlight of our Spa and fitness center, but especially so during the winter. However, with regards to your comments about the need to refurbish our rooms, please be advised that we have been doing just that. Our rooms have been freshly painted in light colors, the fitted carpet has been replaced, as has the bed linen and the rooms are also about to be fitted with new sets of curtains and other soft furnishings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albertson, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at the Mt. Zion in a deluxe room - 2 adults + 20 y.o son in a larger room. The hotel is extremely old and historic, but well maintained. It is physically the most beautiful hotel I have stayed at. It was not a suite, but adequate with a great view of part of the old city and Silwan (Arab town) valley.

The room was ok and clean. Bathroom had a drainage problem, but it was fixed with minutes of my call. Towels were immediately replaced as well.

We found the staff nice and helpful. Breakfast was abundant and good. Coffee is awful - but we found out that almost all Israeli coffee is awful - it is not American coffee. We had a Shabbat dinner in the hotel, which, although pricey was very good and very good service. The pool is terrific and not as crowded as other Jerusalem hotel pools. The spa is so-so, but the outside area of the spa is a true gem - some couches, tables, chairs surrounded in greenery and covered by huge umbrellas - spent a Shabbat afternoon there and it was amazing! If you do hang out here, bring your own food, wine, drinks, whatever. No one hassled us until they had to close.

Location is very good, but expect a great deal of walking - both ways up hill (not kidding here - Jerusalem is a series of hills and valleys). Old city zion gate is about 15 minutes for a good walker; Jaffa gate is about 20 minutes. Add 10 minutes to get to the kotel.

Make sure you tour the secret cable car room - it is fascinating.

I would stay again

ONe suggestion: hotel should offer walking tours of the history of the facility.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review - and such a warm and detailed one too.
We were of course delighted that you appreciated the location, the style and charm of the building,that you enjoyed the facilities and that the service was good. We therefore hope you will choose to stay with us again when next visiting Jerusalem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

I have stayed twice at this hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There is a wonderful pool. The views across the valley towards the old city and Mt. Zion are splendid. The hotel is well located for walking trips into the old city or to the King David hotel area for shopping. The breakfast buffet is extensive and very high quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cleve2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for writing a review. We are pleased that you remember last year's stay as an enjoyable one and hope that you will also be planning a third visit...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

You do not come to the mount Zion fpe the rooms. You come to the Mount Zion for the view. You come be surrounded by the history and majesty of Jerusalem. The rooms are adequate. But the views, the ambiance and the pool are spectacular. The breakfasts are also wonderful as is the location. The service is good. Not outstanding, but better than we had come to expect in Israel (aad to say). Our family spent four nights at the hotel in July and would have happily stayed here longer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpsonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were delighted that you appreciated much of the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay. We also hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Jerusalem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#15 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Property: Mount Zion Hotel
Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing