We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, nothing too special” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place, nothing too special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for a wedding that was taking place in the hotel. The staff gave us early checkin (before 9am) in high season, without any trouble. They were helpful throughout.

The rooms are okay, nothing amazing, but exactly what you expect from the price.

The location is fantastic though - on a hillside (literally - the hotel is build down the side of a hill) opposite the old city. The hotel gardens have a great view as does the reception area.

One possible criticism is that the decor is an attempt to look authentically middle eastern (mosaic floors, rugs, metal benches) which doesn't entirely succeed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for sharing the experience of your recent over night stay which we understand was quite satisfactory. We regret that the decor in our lobby was not to your liking but we hope you appreciated the spectacular views from the large windows and the ambience in general.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    345
    129
    56
    36
See reviews for
334
339
40
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Nice swimming pool, and most things nice or OK, but an extremely rude staff member at the front desk that made the family feel most unwelcome. But if you can avoid him (an older man who seemed to be in charge at the front desk) then you will probably have a nice experience. Other staff generally nice.

Room Tip: Recommend the pool early mourning, very few guests at that time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay. We were very sorry to learn that you found our front desk manager rude and that you felt made unwelcome and although, at this time, we have no means of knowing what actually occurred to cause such an opinion, we would like to apologize for any unpleasantness you may have experienced and also if you were offended in any way. We are aware that sometimes the intonation of the english spoken by locals does not always suit the words spoken and can create a false impression but we find it difficult to believe that rudeness was intentional. We were glad to read that you otherwise had a pleasant stay and hope you and your family will have another opportunity to visit Jerusalem and choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

I have never stayed in such a bad hotel. The staff are extremely rude, especially the manager. Every day there was another problem. 38 of us stayed there & we all complained every minute. We also had things stolen from our rooms. Do not stay here ever. You will regret it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Signon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Neither from the title nor the content of this review can we recognize our hotel, the Mount Zion. Firstly, your claim that the staff and manager are rude not only has no basis but would be against our own interest and policy. Further, it is impossible that 38 guests could complain “every minute” without anyone of our 130 staff knowing and our head of security assures us that there were no reports of theft made during your stay. It is possible that you are amongst the small number of guests that did not enjoy their stay and we are very sorry if that is the case, but to falsely accuse us and mislead the public in such a manner, is spiteful and a slander against our good name. Nevertheless, if indeed you did stay in our hotel, we invite you to contact us directly so that we may learn what happened to cause such a reaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espergaerde, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed here 3 nights and would definitely stay here again. The hotel has a fantastic location and compared to the other hotels near the Old Jerusalem it is a good deal.

For the first 2 nights we stayed in a family room on the same floor as the reception. They are a bit dated but worked well for us. The breakfast is lavish and eating outside on the terrace with a great view of Old Jerusalem was wonderful. The staff were all very friendly, helpful with suggestions and professional. We were advised on a guide for Jerusalem and he turned out to be excellent.

The last night we got a fantastic upgrade to their best SUITE in the hotel. WOW and thank you!! It was a fantastic experience for our children.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were pleased that you appreciated the facilities, the location of the hotel and the upgrade on your last night, but most of all we were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would gladly return. We hope you will.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

The Mt Zion is phenomenal value. The hotel is clean and the atmosphere is wonderful. As for the location, it truly is within walking distance of anything you want to see in Jerusalem. And, the pool is amazing!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ari_from_Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and thank you also for the warm comments. We were delighted that you found the value good, the rooms clean and the atmosphere wonderful and we hope that on a possible return visit to Jerusalem you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed in the Mount Zion in July this year and were very disappointed with the standard of the rooms. The hotel is in desperate need of modernisation and both my husband and I slept very badly for the three nights we were there. In addition the A/C made a loud noise all night. The hotel is in a lovely position but unfortunately we had a tiny window with no view and when we asked if it was possible to move the manager couldn't even be bothered to see if there was an alternative. My family found him very rude and cold. Otherwise the pool staff were lovely and were always there to help if need be.
The breakfast at the hotel was excellent but dinner was worse then the food they provide at schools.
We found this hotel over priced and very uncomfortable. It certainly shouldn't be rated as a 4 star by any means.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosenthal21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations and that you were disappointed with your room and we are absolutely certain that it was not the intent of the Front Desk Manager to offend you, However, if this was indeed the case, please accept our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We enjoyed staying at this hotel-great location not far from Old City and Mamilla Mall. Beautiful view from the lobby. The pool is all the way down at the lower level- we traveled with our 82 year old dad - he had a hard tie maneuvering steps throughout the hotel and getting down to the pool. Harry has beautiful items at the gift shop. Overall, we enjoyed staying here, but would not recommend it for those with trouble walking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay but regret that your father had trouble with stairs. Although the majority of our rooms are accessable soley by elevator, there are rooms that also require taking stairs. We recommend that when making the reservation for your next visit, you request a room that is easily reached by an elevator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#15 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Property: Mount Zion Hotel
Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing