We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Jerusalem Ambiencewith Up to Date Amenities”
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #20 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Went for a family bar mitzvah. Everyone had a great time. Food was amazing, views are breathtaking, staff was extremely helpful, from the manager down to the cleaning staff.The pool area is a beautiful quiet oasis to relax in. The architecture tells you that you are in Jerusalem, not in a generic hotel anywhere else in the world.
We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The suites are a worthwhile upgrade.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lloydray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and share with others how much you enjoyed your recent stay in our hotel. We hope that you will return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,138)
There are newer reviews for Mount Zion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

This hotel`s saving grace is its location and fine views, It is probably the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed at,The hotel sells/gives away tickets for locals to use the pool at weekends which gives you all the ambience of a noisy overcrowded refugee camp,Impossible to relax with so much noise.
The hotel also has a huge garden terrace adjacent to the pool which is rented out most days for weddings and barmitsvas, so your peace by the pool is ruined for most of the day by workmen setting out hundreds of table and chairs,scaffolding rigs for lighting being built,sound systems being checked,crockery,drinks,flowers etc being delivered all day by noisy workers.On one occasion we were asked to move our sun loungers out of the way to make way for a wedding photographer who wanted to set up his stuff.We got very short shrift from the management when we protested that we were paying guests actually trying to have a holiday,You should also know that on days when these functions occur the pool is often closed much earlier then advertised because the paying guests make the place look scruffy for the wedding guests.
also all the public spaces in the gardens are off limits to hotel guests during theses functions.
Our feeling was that the hotel was so busy making extra money from outside parties that the genuine paying guests got a very low quality holiday experience indeed.
Despite copious amounts of signs declaring that you are in a no smoking hotel (except in designated spaces,and they don`t actually have a designated space) there would usually be at least a dozen people openly smoking around the pool at any time which the staff were terrified of dealing with despite numerous requests from guests.There was cigarette mess all around the hotel gardens and pool area as there are no ash trays in the hotel because it is supposed to be no smoking.The whole place needs much better management who are focused on the needs of the paying hotel guests instead of chasing fast bucks and compromising on quality.It also needs a bloody good clean,Book this hotel at your peril....

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank david B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

It is with regret that we read your long review, which clearly expresses how your expectations were not met and as a result your great disappointment. We are sorry that you were unable to enjoy your stay but in our defense would like to clarify a point. The month of August, apart from being hot, is generally known as a busy holiday period when the majority of our guests are families, often staying with children, whether they be foreign tourists or locals. It is a month that is characterized by weddings and barmitzvas, festivals, open air concerts, crowds, and impatience and is most certainly loud in comparison to any other month of the year. We wish to remind you that we do not choose our guests and in August there are those that ignore the many no smoking signs posted around the pool area and the demands of the lifeguard are frequently to no avail. Anyone expecting a quiet, orderly and peaceful vacation in August will, unfortunately, like yourself, be disappointed. For such a vacation we would recommend visiting Jerusalem and our hotel during the months of May, June, and September. The pool is then less frequented and a quiet haven. However, in the event that we host a function in the adjacent banquet garden we will again close the Pool area an hour earlier. We will, however, do our best not to disturb guests in the pool area and will transport equipment and furniture via a different route.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Modern hotel with beautiful grounds and an excellent view of old Jerusalem from its lobby. Great Israeli breakfast. Free wifi only in lobby area otherwise they charge per day per device. It would be a great hotel if it were closer to the old town and the mall near Jaffa gate (it's a very long walk).

Room Tip: Lobby is on top floor so one level down is best.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAG546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were most pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel but were sorry that you found the location too far from the Old City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Having stayed elsewhere in Jerusalem and Tiberius, the Mount Zion was a very pleasant improvement. The service was good, the staff were helpful, the view was magnificent and the pool was an oasis for enjoyable relaxation. Above all, the location was ideal for our wish to explore the Old City. We loved it and hope to stay there again in 2015

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and such a warm one too. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay, the month of May is indeed a pleasant time to travel, and we look forward to your visit in 2015.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for a wedding that was taking place in the hotel. The staff gave us early checkin (before 9am) in high season, without any trouble. They were helpful throughout.

The rooms are okay, nothing amazing, but exactly what you expect from the price.

The location is fantastic though - on a hillside (literally - the hotel is build down the side of a hill) opposite the old city. The hotel gardens have a great view as does the reception area.

One possible criticism is that the decor is an attempt to look authentically middle eastern (mosaic floors, rugs, metal benches) which doesn't entirely succeed.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellinRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for sharing the experience of your recent over night stay which we understand was quite satisfactory. We regret that the decor in our lobby was not to your liking but we hope you appreciated the spectacular views from the large windows and the ambience in general.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Nice swimming pool, and most things nice or OK, but an extremely rude staff member at the front desk that made the family feel most unwelcome. But if you can avoid him (an older man who seemed to be in charge at the front desk) then you will probably have a nice experience. Other staff generally nice.

Room Tip: Recommend the pool early mourning, very few guests at that time.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay. We were very sorry to learn that you found our front desk manager rude and that you felt made unwelcome and although, at this time, we have no means of knowing what actually occurred to cause such an opinion, we would like to apologize for any unpleasantness you may have experienced and also if you were offended in any way. We are aware that sometimes the intonation of the english spoken by locals does not always suit the words spoken and can create a false impression but we find it difficult to believe that rudeness was intentional. We were glad to read that you otherwise had a pleasant stay and hope you and your family will have another opportunity to visit Jerusalem and choose to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

I have never stayed in such a bad hotel. The staff are extremely rude, especially the manager. Every day there was another problem. 38 of us stayed there & we all complained every minute. We also had things stolen from our rooms. Do not stay here ever. You will regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Signon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Neither from the title nor the content of this review can we recognize our hotel, the Mount Zion. Firstly, your claim that the staff and manager are rude not only has no basis but would be against our own interest and policy. Further, it is impossible that 38 guests could complain “every minute” without anyone of our 130 staff knowing and our head of security assures us that there were no reports of theft made during your stay. It is possible that you are amongst the small number of guests that did not enjoy their stay and we are very sorry if that is the case, but to falsely accuse us and mislead the public in such a manner, is spiteful and a slander against our good name. Nevertheless, if indeed you did stay in our hotel, we invite you to contact us directly so that we may learn what happened to cause such a reaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,042 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,355 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,785 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#11 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: £126 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing