We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel, pool, and restaurant in the Old City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, pool, and restaurant in the Old City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I went to this hotel in May, and it is imbued with the magical feeling of old Jerusalem. There are flowers and vines growing on the walls that slope down to the swimming pool, and the scenic view of the lobby, which is the highest floor, is breathtaking. Their meals are kosher, with a breakfast and lunch bar that is so opulent that there are 10 or 12 different types of white soft cheese, mountains of Israeli salad, olives, hummus, tahini sauce, etc. etc. The pool was a great respite too. The service at the hotel was good, the room was very clean, and our group had a great time!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funklady9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit in May. We were delighted that you and your group appreciated the location, style and facilities of the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    345
    129
    56
    36
See reviews for
333
339
40
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay in this hotel. The location was central and the views of the old city from our room was breathtaking. I think every room has a view. The aesthetics were very Arabian, actually Moroccan riad-like, and I loved it. Breakfast buffet selection was overwhelming. Great food but the coffee was weak. Wouldn't fault the hotel on coffee because in general, brewed coffee is really bad in Israel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dento97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay, that the experience was a positive one and hope that you will consequently return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Went for a family bar mitzvah. Everyone had a great time. Food was amazing, views are breathtaking, staff was extremely helpful, from the manager down to the cleaning staff.The pool area is a beautiful quiet oasis to relax in. The architecture tells you that you are in Jerusalem, not in a generic hotel anywhere else in the world.
We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The suites are a worthwhile upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lloydray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and share with others how much you enjoyed your recent stay in our hotel. We hope that you will return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

This hotel`s saving grace is its location and fine views, It is probably the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed at,The hotel sells/gives away tickets for locals to use the pool at weekends which gives you all the ambience of a noisy overcrowded refugee camp,Impossible to relax with so much noise.
The hotel also has a huge garden terrace adjacent to the pool which is rented out most days for weddings and barmitsvas, so your peace by the pool is ruined for most of the day by workmen setting out hundreds of table and chairs,scaffolding rigs for lighting being built,sound systems being checked,crockery,drinks,flowers etc being delivered all day by noisy workers.On one occasion we were asked to move our sun loungers out of the way to make way for a wedding photographer who wanted to set up his stuff.We got very short shrift from the management when we protested that we were paying guests actually trying to have a holiday,You should also know that on days when these functions occur the pool is often closed much earlier then advertised because the paying guests make the place look scruffy for the wedding guests.
also all the public spaces in the gardens are off limits to hotel guests during theses functions.
Our feeling was that the hotel was so busy making extra money from outside parties that the genuine paying guests got a very low quality holiday experience indeed.
Despite copious amounts of signs declaring that you are in a no smoking hotel (except in designated spaces,and they don`t actually have a designated space) there would usually be at least a dozen people openly smoking around the pool at any time which the staff were terrified of dealing with despite numerous requests from guests.There was cigarette mess all around the hotel gardens and pool area as there are no ash trays in the hotel because it is supposed to be no smoking.The whole place needs much better management who are focused on the needs of the paying hotel guests instead of chasing fast bucks and compromising on quality.It also needs a bloody good clean,Book this hotel at your peril....

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank david B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
It is with regret that we read your long review, which clearly expresses how your expectations were not met and as a result your great disappointment. We are sorry that you were unable to enjoy your stay but in our defense would like to clarify a point. The month of August, apart from being hot, is generally known as a busy holiday period when the majority of our guests are families, often staying with children, whether they be foreign tourists or locals. It is a month that is characterized by weddings and barmitzvas, festivals, open air concerts, crowds, and impatience and is most certainly loud in comparison to any other month of the year. We wish to remind you that we do not choose our guests and in August there are those that ignore the many no smoking signs posted around the pool area and the demands of the lifeguard are frequently to no avail. Anyone expecting a quiet, orderly and peaceful vacation in August will, unfortunately, like yourself, be disappointed. For such a vacation we would recommend visiting Jerusalem and our hotel during the months of May, June, and September. The pool is then less frequented and a quiet haven. However, in the event that we host a function in the adjacent banquet garden we will again close the Pool area an hour earlier. We will, however, do our best not to disturb guests in the pool area and will transport equipment and furniture via a different route.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totowa, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Modern hotel with beautiful grounds and an excellent view of old Jerusalem from its lobby. Great Israeli breakfast. Free wifi only in lobby area otherwise they charge per day per device. It would be a great hotel if it were closer to the old town and the mall near Jaffa gate (it's a very long walk).

Room Tip: Lobby is on top floor so one level down is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAG546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were most pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel but were sorry that you found the location too far from the Old City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Having stayed elsewhere in Jerusalem and Tiberius, the Mount Zion was a very pleasant improvement. The service was good, the staff were helpful, the view was magnificent and the pool was an oasis for enjoyable relaxation. Above all, the location was ideal for our wish to explore the Old City. We loved it and hope to stay there again in 2015

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and such a warm one too. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay, the month of May is indeed a pleasant time to travel, and we look forward to your visit in 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for a wedding that was taking place in the hotel. The staff gave us early checkin (before 9am) in high season, without any trouble. They were helpful throughout.

The rooms are okay, nothing amazing, but exactly what you expect from the price.

The location is fantastic though - on a hillside (literally - the hotel is build down the side of a hill) opposite the old city. The hotel gardens have a great view as does the reception area.

One possible criticism is that the decor is an attempt to look authentically middle eastern (mosaic floors, rugs, metal benches) which doesn't entirely succeed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for sharing the experience of your recent over night stay which we understand was quite satisfactory. We regret that the decor in our lobby was not to your liking but we hope you appreciated the spectacular views from the large windows and the ambience in general.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#15 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Property: Mount Zion Hotel
Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing