We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #18 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Comfortable room, gorgeous view of Jerusalem from the lobby window, amazing breakfast, very clean! Only negative is that the wifi is only available in the lobby. We were so busy with our tour that we did not have a chance to use the spa or pool but they both looked lovely.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view of the old city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonefire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were most pleased to learn that you were comfortable and that you enjoyed your stay but wish to clarify that although WIFI is available in the lobby free of charge, it is also available in the rooms at a charge of $10 per 24 hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    354
    129
    56
    37
See reviews for
346
348
40
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Terrible hotel!
Tired, shabby and dirty. The buffet food was cold, the shabbat dinner was expensive and cold. The bedroom was awful! The bed had a plastic sheet undear nearth it, I woke up every morning with bites on my body as I think there was fleas in the bed. The bathroom was dirty with mold on the sink, toilet and shower head. The carpet/decore/wardrobes/tables/curtains was all old, broken and dirty. The hotel was noisey, the water came out brown out of the tap one night! and the electricity stopped working. When we complained and asked to move to a nicer quieter room we got told there was nothing else to move to and if there was a problem with noise then we should have called reception!
DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rock_8929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
We were sorry to learn from the review of your recent stay that you disliked everything about the hotel and that your experience was so extreme. We will not attempt to convince you that our hotel is not as you portray it to be, as we understand that every experience is subjective.However, it would appear that you were unaware that we unfortunately suffered a burst water pipe on the Saturday evening of your stay and that the water supply to all rooms was shut off for aprroximately half an hour. Consequently when the water supply returned there were incidents of the water being brown. We believe you were advised to let the water run for a while and that it would return to normal. Further, it should be noted that neither your room nor the corridor where your accommodation was located were otherwise affected by the incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We loved the artistry of this magnificent hotel. The structure incorporates the historical architecture of the area, providing breathtaking views of the old city. The decor reflects the history of the area and the staff provides outstanding service. The rooms are large and well appointed. Our room had a garden access balcony. The relaxing hot tub and Turkish spa provided views of the old city through the beautiful garden. The breakfast was outstanding. We enjoyed the quiet and gentle atmosphere of this hotel. Very conveniently located. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms with outside sitting areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CStrauss213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your warm review and for taking the time to write one. We were of course delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you particularly appreciated the room and garden balcony - a type of which we have only a few. We also hope that on a possible return visit to jerusalem you will choose to stay with us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantagh, NY USA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were there for a five night stay. There were a couple of minor issues in our suite--within five minutes after my call, a staff member arrived and took care of them. Centrally located near the Jaffa Gate, several good restaurants nearby and those Israeli breakfast buffets. Reasonably priced, would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite and ask for a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxwelldrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you would gladly return - and we hope you will...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times-Its quaint, boutique like, great view of the Old City, steps to walk there, really charming if you like Old Jerusalem, and a good location. The service is wonderful they really aim to please, especially with repeat visits. The suites are really lovely, they have a lot of old charm and heritage, very spacious, some with huge, huge patios. The food is good, the Turkish spa is wonderful, the garden is stunning, the pool nice, the view of the Old City awesome. We also made a Bar Mitzvah there 3 years ago, supurb and memorable-from the little shul to the charming simcha/banquet halls. They were most helpful with everything. Can't say enough especially about the admin staff they are tops, warm like family and most caring, concerned and helpful.

Room Tip: 555 and any of the 700's excellent charming spacious rooms/suites. (I only stayed in the superio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you so much for your warm review and for taking the time to write one. We were delighted to know that you appreciate the facilities and the service the hotel provides and that you enjoyed your recent stay as much as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We were at this hotel for several nights while visiting the Jerusalem area. This hotel is quite pleasant....not a five star but more than adequate. The staff was most helpful and gracious, in fact Ahmed, a desk attendant used his personal cell phone to make a call for me to the US! It's centrally located and us within walking distance to shopping, dining and some sightseeing. Free wifi in the lobby only but you can purchase wifi for your room for $10 per 24 hours.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mjandpups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were pleased that you found the location of our hotel convenient and our staff helpful and very much hope you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

the hotel is close to the Jaffa gate of the old city - about a 10 minute walk. it is also close to the old railway station where there are several good restaurants with outdoor patios.

the breakfast is amazing, lots of choice and everything is fresh.

the room we had (room 642) was huge and had a nice view of the old city and the Mount of Olives. Housekeeping did not do the best in cleaning the room each day as dirty glasses and cups were not attended to. not a major deal though.

the fitness centre was tired and the equipment was dated big time. An upgrade is sorely needed there. the pool was a nice size but unfortunately the water was too cold.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddleballdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback of your recent visit and in particular the constructive criticism you offer but very much hope that you were nevertheless able to enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#9 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#16 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Property: Mount Zion Hotel
Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing