We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Than it Appears to Be”
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #19 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“More Than it Appears to Be”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

From the street this unassuming one story stone building would be easy to overlook. Inside is a very comfortable hotel with a great view of Old Jerusalem. The hotel is built into the hillside with the lobby on the top floor and several floors of rooms below. The courtyard and gardens behind the hotel are lovely.

Start your day with an amazing Israeli breakfast. The buffet includes a large selection of salads, fruits, pastries and cheeses. There is an omelet station for those that want a more familiar breakfast. All were well prepared and delicious.

You can walk to the old walled city in 20 - 25 minutes. There is a pedestrian bridge within a block of the hotel. The nearby Cinematheque is 2 minutes away and has an excellent cafe named Lavan. The Old Train Station is a few blocks away and has several eateries.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your warm review and for taking the time to write one. We were delighted to read that you appreciated the location, style and comfort of our hotel and hope you will choose to stay with us again when next in Jerusalem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    373
    135
    60
    40
See reviews for
370
373
40
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Had a 2 nights stay at Mount Zion. Hotel is on the downside of a hill side, with the reception being on the top floor and the rooms on lower floors. decent size rooms. some rooms are with small balconies as well. nice view of the city from most of the hotel locations. hotel offers free wifi in the lobby, but chargeable in the rooms. good breakfast spread. good location. it was a good overall stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajatBMumbai (Bombay)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay in which you write that it was a good overall stay. We hope you also enjoyed your visit and that you will choose to return to the Mount Zion when next in Jerusalem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My wife & I went there for a day of retreat. It was like going back in time to Ottoman Empire Jerusalem. We loved every minute of it.
We had a twin massage session scheduled for 11:00; we got there at 10:30, found a free, public parking space right opposite the hotel. Built on the mountain side, the hotel lobby is on the top floor and the rooms are under it. We went down to the spa compound and settled there. Undressed, put on bath robes had herbal infusion and waited for the masseuses. They came in on time introduced themselves and ushered us into the massaging room with a large whirlpool bath and two massage beds.
The massage was one of the best i ever got and my wife who's a highly esteemed
Physiotherapist thought so as well.
After an hour of a great massage they left us all by ourselves in the candle lit room and we slipped into the bathtub for a long relaxing wash.
we than moved to the Turkish Hammam which was great and then to the showers and restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaimKess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy general Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for the warm review and for taking the time to write one. We were delighted that you enjoyed the experience of our Spa and hope you will soon return for another day of retreat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reno
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The hotel is located in an old part of town. The Mount Zion Hotel requires some serious upgrades. Restaurants are sometimes far. In Jerusalem many streets are quite old, made of stone, and Jerusalem is hilly which makes it difficult to get around. We had an upgraded room if it was a suite but it was dusty and unused. To get to our room we took an elevator, then we walked thru a patio and a minimum of 45 steps to our suite. The suite was charming, very old, with an outside patio. No upgrades, it looked like no one had used the suite in a long time. We checked the suite every night to see what items were not replaced ie. towels, soap, toilet paper. The staff was very accommodating and after we called the items were delivered right away. The bed was made with only one sheet (the bottom sheet.) No sheet was placed under the quilt. All beds at the hotel are made the same way. We were at the hotel 5 nights. The second morning we were both coughing and noticed the pillows were dusty. I looked at the quilt and it looked very dusty. I went to the front desk and requested the bed be changed. The asked me if I wanted everything on the bed changed. My answer was yes. I was told it was going to take a long time, and they wanted to know how long were we going to be out of the room. That night everything was clean. The following day we found that a dirty pillow that had been sitting on the floor had been placed on the clean bed as decoration. For two nights the air conditioner was not working, and it created some difficulty breathing. We called it in. After three hours the maintenance person could not get the A/C to run. He was finally advised to wash the filters, and that seemed to solve the problem. Maintenance is poor, and the standards are lower than I expected. Breakfast at the hotel was very good, and service was excellent. We had our Friday night meal at the hotel and it was excellent. Very tasty food, nicely spiced and prepared.

Room Tip: No tips, we tried to get a good room. Our room was a charming antique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were sorry to read that you did not appreciate the location or the original building that dates back to the 1880's and we wonder if you enquired at the Reception regarding the restaurants, as there are at least seven in the immediate vicinity, between 7-10 minutes walk away, and there are more if you allow 10-15 minutes. We are not sure from your description which suite you occupied but we can safely say that no room or suite in our establishment requires 45 steps to reach it. Further, no sheet is placed under the quilt because the quilt itself is inserted in an eiderdown cover which is replaced each time the bottom sheet and pillow cases are changed. We regret the problem with the airconditioner but were pleased that you enjoyed breakfast and Friday night dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This old historical hotel is located in close proximity to Jaffa Gate of the walled Old City. It is a 4-star hotel, presumably with some of its star power derived from its age (there is a photo of the hotel in an elevator dated 1875) and history (as an interfaith eye hospital, an arms warehouse used by the Turks during WW1, and as a channel for communication with Israelis blockaded in the Jewish /Quarter during the War of Independence). I would give our room no more than 2 or 3 stars, although I agree that the beautiful dining room and breakfast rate 4 stars.

The configuration of the hotel is noteworthy, with the lobby level being the top floor, 6. Our room, 403, was of adequate size and was in stellar condition. The twin beds were comfortable. The fresh red rose int he bathroom is a very nice touch. The shower was fine, but I would have preferred stronger water pressure. The bath towels and soap shared two characteristics in common: both were rather coarse and thin.

The breakfast buffet had options for everyone. We're vegans, and we were quite pleased to find soymilk.

Although poorly signed, the fitness center is located in the spa area on the first floor. If you routinely exercise early before breakfast, the fitness center is useless, since it does not open until 8 AM. I jumped on the treadmill in the afternoon a few times.

We had a very comfortable four-night stay at the Mt Zion Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeganChela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy general Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Mount Zion. We were pleased to read that you spent a comfortable four days and hope you will consider staying with us once again should you return to Jerusalem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Have mixed feelings about this place. We stayed for a week whilst my husband attended a conference on site. Firstly we were wimps and shouldn't of accepted the room we were allocated which had a view of a stone wall with litter on the ground below. Other delegates who stayed for fewer nights had rooms with a view. Can't really understand how reservations make these faux pas. The room itself was ok but a little tired as were other parts of the hotel. In no way could you call this a "boutique" hotel. The style of potted plants furnishing the public areas went out with the ark. The swimming pool is great but only open till 5pm and loses the sun at about the same time. Obviously the architect didn't consider this. There is no place to have a coffee outside yet the views are outstanding. Generally people sit in the reception area cafe/bar looking out of the window. However breakfast here must be one of the best in the world, hats off to the female executive chef I saw wandering round occasionally. We also had an superb buffet lunch. I think overall the service was a bit indifferent but that does seem to be the norm in Israel. Position wise it is a bit of a walk everywhere. I liked the exercise but some might not especially in the height of summer.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We regret that you were not happy with your room and sorry that you did not ask for it to be changed to another, but hope the mixed feelings will not prevent you from staying with us again on a future visit to Jerusalem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have always stayed at the big, well-known hotels in Jerusalem like the Inbal, Dan Panorama and David's Citadel, so I was not sure what to expect when I checked into the Mt. Zion Hotel. At first I was worried. It is quirky: Enter on the top floor and after going down one flight, the walk down the hallway has you going down, up and down again and then through a courtyard and down some steps to the room. I was told I had a suite and expected two small rooms but instead I had an exotic spread of Middle Eastern themed rooms, with vases, stone and tiles with ceramic designs. It was not the most luxurious place I have ever been in, and the TV in the bedroom was fair at best, but it was very comfortable and private. The best part was the grounds and beautiful pool facing Mt. Zion with only the Hinnom Valley separating the hotel from the Old City. My room had a wonderful terrace where I was able to go after a long day of working and enjoy a cigar and a drink while allowing Jerusalem to captivate me.

And the breakfast was not a cold buffet as someone else wrote. The selection was bountiful; chefs were on hand to cook eggs to order or make waffles and the hot selections included cheesecake and a reasonably good rendering of one of my favorites, shakshuka. Rolls were fresh and tasty, cheeses, olives, fresh fruit. It was incredible, nearly on par with the incredible spread at the David Intercontinental in Tel Aviv.

Negatives: A long way from downtown and I had business in both the city center and in Beit Hakerem. I walked to the former but had to cab to the latter. I have been walking the hills of Jerusalem for over 40 years but it is not for everyone. The better restaurants and shops require cab rides; even the nearby Old City and Mamilla Mall are very healthy hikes.

Discovered positives: It is around the corner from the old Jerusalem railroad station which today boasts pubs, cafés, gourmet food and wine shops, gelato and a number of appealing restaurants. Also nearby are the dining spots and shops of Emek Refaim.

Conclusion: While I was sorry to be so far from Mahane Yehuda and places needed for work, the charm, peacefulness and historic architecture more than made up for it and I will not hesitate to stay there again. The price was lower than any comparable hotels I have found in the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob07052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for your warm and detailed review and for taking the time to write one. We were of course delighted that the Mount Zion proved to be a pleasant suprise, that your visit was a success and that you would not hesitate to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,019 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#5 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,777 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#16 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Property: Mount Zion Hotel
Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing