We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel close to the Old City of Jerusalem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #18 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Kampenhout, Belgium
1 review
“Excellent hotel close to the Old City of Jerusalem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Warm welcome, friendly personnel! You feel at home the moment you arrive! A very fine restaurant where you can try also some Israelian recipes...we had a taste of it all! A nice pool to relax after some sightseeing in the city. It is a pitty we could not enjoy the hamman (no time..). Maybe next time :-) Because we surely will come back to "our home" in the beautiful city of Jerusalem! Shalom!



Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your warm review and for having taken the time to write one. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and of your intention to return to your "home" in Jerusalem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    354
    129
    56
    37
See reviews for
346
348
40
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were recommended to this hotel by our travel agent. It has an excellent view of the Old City but needs refurbishing throughout. The pillows on the bed were hard but I found a spare in the wardrobe which was better. The breakfasts were good.

When we arrived we asked the manager if we could have a room with a view of the Old City but were told we could not have one 'because you are only staying two nights'.

The next day we asked a young man at the reception desk if he could order us a taxi to take us to visit some friends who lived 20 - 30 minutes ride away. He wrote down the cost of the taxi for us and when the cab came we showed it to the driver. When we arrived at our friends' home and told them the cost of the taxi, they were horrified as the hotel had told us the charge - which we had paid - was double the normal rate. We felt like we had been robbed of £15 in broad daylight. Israeli taxi-drivers do not have a good reputation but when you ask a supposedly reputable hotel to order one for you, you do not expect to be ripped off.

We chose not to complain to the hotel at the time as we felt physically sick about the scam. We could hardly bear to be in the place that night and did not wish to ruin our holiday by having an argument. On our return to the UK we wrote to them and copied in our travel agent (who has acknowledged our letter). We gave Mount Zion several days to reply to us. But as they didn't chose to do so, we are posting this review.

We can't recommend the hotel because of their attitude to their guests. We are posting this on tripadvisor so other travellers don't get ripped off the way we did.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for the feedback of your recent stay. We were sorry to read that you felt that the hotel "needs refurbishing throughout" and that you believe we would intentionally give our guests false information. There are several factors that determine the cost of a taxi ride but since you do not mention the time of day nor where the taxi took you it is difficult to comment. Were you quoted an approximate price or a fixed price? Was the taxi meter used? Was there a lot of traffic? Could it be possible that your friends were mistaken? Anyone would be upset if they were "ripped off"and we sympathize and are sorry if indeed you were. Further, had the hotel received your correspondence we would have responded immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel is located approx a 10-15min walk to jaffa gate with good views of jerusalem. However the rooms are very dated and the hotel is in urgent need of a refurb. The staff are very rude especially those on reception, i must mention the guy who checked us in, the one with a funny triangle patch of facial hair..he did his upmost to make to be rude and made it known he had no personality or charm. For the price of this hotel you can certainly find better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whagwarning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback although we were sorry to read that you did not appreciate the style of the hotel. We were most suprised to learn of staff that were rude and can only imagine that there was some form of misundertsanding. However, please accept our sincere apologies if you were offended in any way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a beautiful old property that has been updated from a historic hospital into a beautiful hotel. Beautiful pool and spa as well as a great restaurant on site. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Make sure you are not on the seventh floor, no elevator goes there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for your review which we greatly appreciated and in which you express you overall approval. We hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Check-in/out was smooth and efficient. Hotel staff were very helpful and courteous throughout our 4 day stay. Reception area is located on 6th floor and our room was on 2nd floor. Excellent views from the lobby area overlooking Hinnom Valley. Room was comfortable and shower/bathroom facilities adequate. Free wifi was excellent throughout the hotel. Beautiful grounds. Old City was within walking distance (about 15 to 20 minutes walk). Overall it was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtp-op75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for your review and for having taken the time to write one. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be able to return some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

First review on Tripadvisor. Feel compelled as the stay was so exceptional. Was there for the Jewish Holidays in September 2013. Hotel is magnificent. Location is extraordinary, halfway between the old city and Emek Refaim. Amenities are lovely (pool and hamam), views are great. Room had a little private patio which really made a difference.. Service was very good. Management was extremely helpful with rooms and reservations. I've stayed at the Inbal and King David, and find the MZ meets and exceeds both those experiences. Quieter too. I'll be back many, many times.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianj613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your warm review and for having taken the time to write one. We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and of your intention to return many many times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Our recent stay at the Mount Zion Hotel during Passover was delightful, comfortable and provided friendly and helpful service. The atmosphere of the hotel is warm and "homey." To our pleasant surprise, we found out that the hotel now offers free WI FI for Internet access!
We look forward to staying at the Mount Zion Hotel during our next visit to Jerusalem.

Room Tip: The suites with the terrace overlooking the old city are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mratson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for the warm review and we hope your next trip to Jerusalem will be in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#8 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#9 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#16 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Property: Mount Zion Hotel
Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing