We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location ”
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #19 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect location ”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a barmitzvah. Basic but adequate rooms. Perfect location for walking to the old city of Jerusalem. Lovely grounds. Lovely hotel decor. Great pool. Amazing hamam and massage spa. Lovely service. Great breakfasts. I'd definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bobbybray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your warm review and for having taken the time to write one. We were delighted to read of the different aspects of your stay that you appreciated and of your intention to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    368
    135
    59
    40
See reviews for
365
366
40
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Little bugs across my duvet, mould on the walls of my hotel room on the bottom floor and managerial staff that were not the least bit accommodating. The other staff were very helpful and cheerful. The view is gorgeous.

Room Tip: Be insistent if you want to change rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArlenesHideaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We were sorry to read that your experience in our hotel was not a positive one but nevertheless hope that should you visit Jerusalem again you will consider staying with us once more...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schoolcraft
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I agree with a previous reviewer who said that the rooms are inconsistent in style and size. We were originally assigned to a room very low in the hotel, and located close to the elevator. It was a large room, with a large couch; however, it was a bit loud with people getting off the elevator and chatting away. I asked for another room, and very quickly was escorted to a balcony room on floor 5. Nice room; however, it was like a maze to get there, and be prepared to walk on some stairs with your luggage on this floor. The balcony room was much smaller, but I enjoyed the view and the little bistro furniture for relaxing after a long day touring.

There is an in-house souvenir shop, and a pleasant shopkeeper. Food was EXCELLENT, and they offer al fresco dining on a beautiful rooftop deck. Desserts were especially good. This was the only hotel during our vacation that offered a coffee pot after dinner. Hooray! They also didn't mind when I asked permission to take some rolls from breakfast with me for snacks later. :)

The hotel has charm and character, even the restrooms are tiled and beautiful. We stayed her for three days to finish our vacation, and found it to be ideal.

Kudos to Ahmed for exceptional service at the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piccolopower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for having taken the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback and are glad that we were able to offer you another room which was to your liking and that your stay proved to be "ideal". Your kudos for service were passed on to Ahmed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel was originally a eye hospital. .Each hotel room is different. There didn't seem to be much consistency in the size of the rooms. My husband and I had a fairly large room with a balcony that overlooked the old section of the city. The location is great if you want a 15 to 20 minute walk to the old city. The breakfast buffet was varied and plentiful. If you are looking for modern and up to date hotel, this isn't the place for you. Our bed was comfortable, but we could have used a better chair in the room. The bathroom while spacious and clean had issues with water pressure. If you like a hotel that is not run of mill, and in a good location you should like Mount Zion Hotel. It is also a five minute walk to the old Jerusalem train station which has been converted into shops and restaurants. Overall we enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: Beware that some rooms have to be accessed by stairs, so if you have a mobility problem, be sure and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revakb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy general Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your review and for having taken the time to write one. All our standard rooms are identical while those of the"Citadel" category do vary in size and layout (they are mostly located in the older section of the building). We were delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
566 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We would stay here again for the great location facing the old city across the valley and about a 15 minute walk. The common areas and views are great. The breakfast and outdoor patio are a great way to start the day. The staff and service are indifferent. The rooms are old and small and housekeeping is very variable (simply didn't show up one day.)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank joel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for having taken the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback and are sorry that our staff were not more attentive and that you were disappointed with the rooms. Perhaps the "Citadel" category which offers larger rooms overlooking Mount Zion would better suit you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Recently we traveled to ISRAEL with Gate 1 and had a fantastic trip, our only complaint was our first hotel, The Mount Zion in Jerusalem.
The Hotel is older and not well appointed. The staff is not very attentive and seems to not really care. The rooms are very old and not very clean.
Overall we gave this hotel a poor rating.
While there for 4 nights, the air was not working and it was warm out. We had to keep the windows open at night to get some air in the room. One night a fire breaks out on a very large tree in the courtyard area, were our room was. The embers and smoke were coming into our rooms and many of the others as a result and NO ONE from the front desk alerted us of the danger of a fire breaking out as the embers were hitting the curtains at the window. NO ALARM NO CALLS FROM THE FRONT DESK, nothing. The managers words were, "WHAT DO YOU WANT ME TO DO ?" Well I think the very least she could have done was alert her guests of any danger, not done ! This turned out ok, the fire was put out but the ATTITUDE was very bad and we see why the entire staff had a bad attitude also. No care in the workl.
As for GATE I - The trip was very good with a fantastic guide Shmulik. we recommend highly. He made the trip fun, exciting and very informative.
We have traveled with GATE 1 many times before and again they give you MORE of the WORLD for LESS ! Very pleased with GATE 1, not so with the Mount Zion Hotel. See you again real soon.
- Marla and Merrill Sinert
Winter Park Florida

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPEARL54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We were sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay in our hotel and that your impression of our staff was negative.The tree that caught fire, as we told you at the time, is not located on the hotel's property and was of no danger to the hotel. There was no need to evacuate the hotel or carry out other measures mentioned in your review. We are sorry for any discomfort you may have experienced from the smoke but we are sure that this would have been minimal had you closed the windows until the fire had been extinguished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel is one of my favorite places to stay while in Jerusalem. The location provides excellent views of many historical sites such as the Mount of Olives, the western side of the ancient walls of Jerusalem, and the tower of David. The ancient gate of the old city is a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel. Taxis are readily available if you prefer transportation. Many of these points of interest can be viewed from the hotel lobby through large arched windows near the hotel's bar area. There is comfortable seating in the lobby for casual meetings and enjoying a favorite drink from the small bar. The hotel is colorful with many Turkish influences since the building dates back to the 1880s. Since the building is located on a Jerusalem hillside you enter into the lobby with guest rooms on floors below and above. The restaurant is one of my favorites since it allows spacious dining with great food. They serve some of the best coffee I have enjoyed anywhere. The breakfast is awesome! The fitness room is adequate for the hotel size and the outdoor Jacuzzi located in the garden area with great views of Jerusalem city is wonderful. The hotel does not have a shop for purchasing soft drinks, bottled water and snacks. This is the only thing missing in this otherwise great lodging experience. The staff is friendly and accommodating. I look forward to my next stay at Mount Zion.

Room Tip: Elevators are available for upper floors whereas stairs are used for the lower levels. The rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hurleyec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your warm and detailed review. We very much appreciate you taking the time to write one and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and intend returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,006 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#18 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,329 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#5 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#10 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Property: Mount Zion Hotel
Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing