We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a hotel with an astonishing location providing excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a hotel with an astonishing location providing excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

The location of, and the views from, this boutique hotel must be the best in Jerusalem. The authentic style of Jerusalem/Ottoman architecturel has created unique public rooms, bedrooms and grounds This incudes an attractive swimming pool , an almost historic turkish bath and a spa. .

Add to this exceptionally friendly and helpful staff , good food, good wines, caring managers and all the comforts one could ask for in the bedrooms , you have a recipe for a perfect visit to Jerusalem.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    345
    129
    56
    36
See reviews for
333
339
40
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2009

Staying with a bunch of colleagues, I couldn't say there was much very wrong or bad about this hotel, but it's certainly not using its full potential. Location and building's common areas (bar, lobby, breakfast area) are good.

Although not the cheapest place in town, we started off dragging our suitcases up the stairs to the main entrance (and subsequently up another floor to the room) ourselves.

The room was a bit smelly and the bathroom - although well designed and spacious - not fitted with any special amenities. The nastiest surprise however was in the room's fridge. No minibar contents, but a previous guest's personal stash of food (incl French cheese) gone off. Also, the swimming pool was closed for maintenance during our stay.

In short, average hotel. The views and wifi made up for some of the shortcomings.

Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank My-View-on-things
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ct
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2009

Our four days here were just wonderful. The hotel is clean. The rooms are spacious and quiet. There is a wonderful breakfast buffet. The breads are incredible. Great restaurant, Levan within walking distance. There is free internet when the business center is open.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaureenMCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
237 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2008

The Mount Zion is located very near all the important sights in Jerusalem. It is an easy walk or quick taxi ride to/from just about any old city location and the Mount of Olives.
The hotel was plenty nice with good beds, clean rooms and a lovely reception/bar area to spend time overlooking the Kidron Valley. The breakfast buffet was delicious with plenty of choices. My only complaint is the bath towels were thin, worn and inadequate.
I did make it to the Spa which is quite nice and reasonably priced. The staff was competent and friendly but the changing room did not allow for privacy.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bath towels were sad
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nana_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2008

3 generations of our family visited Jerusalem in November, 2008. We booked 3 rooms at the Mt. Zion - when we arrived, we were told they were overbooked but we had been upgraded to the "Royal Suite". And it was indeed royal! About 2000 square feet, 3 BR, 3 bath, 3 sitting rooms, kitchen + huge private terrace with a view on the Old City and all around. The furniture and decor was old Ottoman and the equipment was great. The staff was always helpful and the food was pretty good.

We had a great time at the Mt. Zion - it will stay as one of our best travel memories ever!

  • Liked — Location, room upgrade, decor
  • Disliked — Neighborhood is a little weak on foot
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Harley226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2008

We were a group of 15 family members. We booked 6 rooms for 5 days in September 08.
The only thing nice about this hotel was the view of the old city. I found the rooms old, the towels in the bathroom looked like cleaning cloths. The carpets were shocking. The staff was unhelpful. I couldn't wait to get out. I would not stay there again.

  • Liked — the view of the old city
  • Disliked — the rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2008

This is a beautiful higher end hotel in a great location. We walked easily (about 15 minutes) to the Jaffe Gate of Old Jerusalem. Our room had a terrace overlooking the Old City Wall and a broad vista of the surrounding area. The pool is very nice. There is an authentic steam room and spa that we did not get to use in the hotel. The rooms and bathroom were very nice. The hotel was quiet. The incredibly ample included breakfast buffet is served in a large beautiful old room. The hotel was built over 100 years ago and excudes quiet a bit of old world charm and character.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leh115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#15 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Property: Mount Zion Hotel
Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing