We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Barmitzvah in Jerusalem”
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #18 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
389 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“A Barmitzvah in Jerusalem”
Reviewed 5 April 2010

What can one say about this hotel?
The location is spot on within walking distance of the Jaffa gate and overlooking the walls of the old city with East Jerusalem in the back ground.
The hotel itself is beautiful and the top end accommodation is stunning with dark cool suites off small private green courtyards. Breakfasts are a buffet affair and very ample and delicious.
We went for a family Barmitzvah and this ceremony on the lawn overlooking the walls of the old city was a very lovely and moving event made all the better for the location. The meal the night before (on the Friday after sunset) held in one of the private dining suites was excellent.
But there the plaudits stop I am afraid. The service was truly shocking though out the hotel. Our first room was appalling being small drab and looking out over the back gated (locked) entrance to the grounds. The “minI bar” was just an empty fridge which seemed not to work to well! The air con was also not very effective and Jerusalem in July is hot believe me. We asked for an up grade but the hotel was full – we were going up to Tiberius for a few days and then returning and managed to get an upgrade to a “citadel” room on our return visit which was quite acceptable – lesson - accept nothing less if staying at this hotel!
The pool area is crowded with inadequet numbers of loungers and noisey bar and food service is non- existant (and I am being restrained).
The hotel does not do dinner (rather uninteresting snacks are available in the lobby bar if you can find someone to staff it) but there is a great little restaurant just 3 minutes walk down the road associated with the art house cinema and they do pizzas to die for trust me or a taxi into town will do the trick.
Don’t (and I mean it) use the laundry service they destroy clothes very effectively and compensation seems to be 20 shekels take it or leave it regardless of what was destroyed ( anything white come back yellow and when returned for another go is returned in tatters).
In summary a beautiful hotel in parts but poorly managed I suspect and I am afraid in this day and age the service and standard accommodation is just unacceptable.
Wold we return? Probably if only for the Fawlty Towers experience!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    360
    129
    56
    37
See reviews for
347
355
40
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
133 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 618 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2010

I was torn between the King David and Mt. Zion for a recent 5 night stay in Jerusalem. I have stayed at many top hotels and have a true appreciation for authenticity and character so the Mt. Zion won out in the end. I wouldn't classify it as a true 5 star hotel, but our time there was worthy of 5 stars. The staff was very helpful, friendly and accommodating. The architecture and decor are very unique with lots of local flavor. The hotel offers an intimate spa and a beautiful Turkish Bath that is free to guests. A great way to end a long day of hiking around the city. Our room was very spacious and had a huge balcony looking out on Mt. Zion, the walled city and the Mt. of Olives in the distance. From our balcony we could hear church bells, the Muslims called to prayer and even saw a fireworks display on our last night. The hotel also has a number of terraces and gardens making it feel secluded against one of Israel's busiest cities.

The breakfast buffet, also included, is quite expansive and has something for everyone is a very cool dining space. I am very glad we chose to stay here and look forward to suggesting it to friends and clients in the future. Should I ever make it back to Jerusalem, this is where I will be!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobynPringTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

Start with a unique building -- a hotel converted from a 19th century hospital built into, not on, Mount Zion. Add the highest standard in finishings and furnishings. Staff it with friendly, helpful staff attentive to every detail. Then, include a wide range of rooms which are spacious, uniquely designed, quiet and comfortable. Enhance it with a superb spa, Turkish bath and exercise center. Finally, include an incredible breakfast which can sustain you all day. Finally, make it a 10 minute walk to the Jaffa Gate of the Old City. What more could you ask? Only one thing -- free wireless internet. My only quibble with an otherwise perfect stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkHazelbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
526 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights at a work conference. The views from the bedrooms and the breakfast room are over to Mount Zion. There are beautiful gardens to walk around, a hammam and in summer a swimming pool.
The breakfast is fantastic - with all the usual Israeli food and an excellent selection of bread and non-stop top ups of coffee.
The rooms were very clean, although a little dated, but there were fab balconies with a view over to Mount Zion.
It is only a 10 minute walk to the Jaffa Gate, so a great location for exploring the old city. The only downside was that the bar shut very early each night and it was impossible to get a drink after 11pm.
I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are holidaying or on business in Jerusalem

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisasplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Had reserved a Citadel room and got put into a regular room. Regular room was spacey, nicely done and not bad but - regular. Room could need a makeover. After complaining were put into splendid Citadel room which also was not brand new but huge with a splendid view to Mount Zion and the city walls. Definetely worth paying the extra money as this was exactly what we had wished for. Lobby and restaurants are nice, food (the bit we had of it) was good. Room service was so-and-so.
All in all, a splendid place for a good price when you are willing to pay the extra and are not too picky when it comes to details.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Correspondent10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

The Har Tzion has the most wonderful Moroccan decor and a beautiful feel. The grounds of this hotel far exceed most in Jerusalem. The front desk is knowledgeable about Jerusalem and will not guide you wrong. The hotel is slightly off the beaten path of the larger, more well known hotels but from the Mt. Zion you have a stunning view of the Old City, an easy walk to the Jewish quarter and the Kotel, an easy walk to Emek Refaim. An easy cab ride or a lovely 25 min walk to Ben Yehuda street. The hotel was very accommodating when we needed late check out after Shabbat. Easy to park a car. Scrumptious breakfast, great buffet dinner. There is an outdoor hot tub from which you can gaze on the Old City Walls and Jaffa Gate. The Hamam (turkish steam room) is free for guests and a wonderful treat after traveling. Not a great choice for handicapped guests.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptdoc1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london england
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2009

We had concerns about the accessability to parts of town from the hotel. It was in walking distance from the German Colony where they are many good restaurants. Next door the hotel the Cinematique also good food. We walked on the footpath above the road to the old city. We walked through the park to the King David and YMCA. Took buses from the old city to Yad Vashem. And taxis where necessary. LOvely pool, especially with some urging they cleaned up the changing rooms. Delightful gardens. A more active housekeeper checking on the running and cleaning would have made this a very top rate hotel. It has character and charm

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shulamit65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#16 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#9 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#17 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Property: Mount Zion Hotel
Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing