We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT stay here: stay anywhere else, this place is bad”
Review of Golden Walls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Walls Hotel
Ranked #52 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed 9 June 2008

The hotel was dirty and overpriced. They advertise ammenities on a number of different travel booking sites that don't exist. They say they have wireless web access and they do...it just doesn't work. The lobby is dingy, worn and in need of a good cleaning. The room was a more serious health risk and the front desk people were grim and unhelpful. We arrived early and they tried to extort an additional night's room charge to allow us an early check in (about two hours early). The entire experience was horrible and we've traveled to over 50 countries on four continents so we have seen lots of different expressions of hospitality. Expedia wouldn't take a review even though our room was booked on their web site (through a colleague and not me personally). The hotel is honestly a slim two-star and they advertise and price themselves as a four-star. The hotel is well-located to the Damascus Gate but in a very dangerous and rough neighborhood. Some cab drivers will not go there. The coffee and breakfast were very good.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank globetravelinguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2007

It is a shame not to praise this hotel as the staff are wonderfull, the food great, and the location for visiting Old Jerusalem couldnt be better. Unfortunately if I am honest, the rooms are a tad on the small side, and the bathrooms on the very small side! Also hot water for bath a rare exception. The location also whilst splendid for visiting also makes it very noisey, as most rooms overlook either the road/bus station/shops etc. Personally I like this hotel very much, mainly because of the staff and also the public areas are very nice as well, so if you are not expecting a lot from your room you will be happy. (if you are in Jerusalem it is unlikely you will be spending that much tim ein your room anyway - too much to see)

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodykibworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2006

Excellent food and staff made me feel very welcome and even asked me to have a drink with them. I could not ffault the accomdation, rooms were very clean but however I was and still am not happy that my group leader was allowed retrieve my passport. and everyone elses. Only the holder must do this. I was also told by a fellow pilgrim that my passport could not be released to me directly but to my group leader first. This is unaccepable

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Eimeara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2006

rooftop terrace a great place to stop for a drink and watch the sunset after shopping in the Old City

Stayed: October 2005
2  Thank Rev_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2004

The Golden Walls hotel provides a real home-from-home experience in Palestinian East Jerusalem. Refurbished air-conditioned rooms and a friendly welcome in this small family run establishment overlooking the Od City walls and walking distance from the Holy Sepulchre. A real find!

7  Thank McCabeLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ziototo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Torben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#57 of 100 in Jerusalem
211 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
Jerusalem Hotel
Jerusalem Hotel
#49 of 100 in Jerusalem
241 reviews
The Sephardic House
#46 of 100 in Jerusalem
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#54 of 100 in Jerusalem
327 reviews
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#82 of 100 in Jerusalem
175 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#41 of 100 in Jerusalem
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Walls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Walls Hotel

Address: 17 Sultan Suleiman | Damascus Gate, Jerusalem 9761190, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: £87 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Walls Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jerusalem Golden Walls Hotel is located in the center of the Holy City. Located just outside the northern city walls, between Damascus and Herod's Gates, our hotel is within walking distance from the most religious, historic and cultural centers.The Golden Walls Hotel is a family-owned business managed by the Pilgrims Palace Hotels Ltd. The Golden Walls Hotel was built in 1964 and run by the late Dr. Rasheed Nashashibi till 1983. It was then known as the Pilgrims Palace Hotel. The Hotel has undergone major renovations throughout the last 10 years. It was expanded twice. A new building was added to the existing to make the total number of rooms 120. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Walls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Jerusalem Golden Walls Hotel Jerusalem
Golden Tulip Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing