We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay and good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Walls Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Golden Walls Hotel
Ranked #46 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
NLD
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

The hotel is situated near the Damascus gate of the Jerusalem old city. The main sights are within walking range and the other sights around Jerusalem are easy to reach with public transportation or one of the many tours. There is a bus station almost next to the hotel.

From the outside the hotel looked ok, but once inside quality is definitely very good. The lobby and rooms are well furnished and everything is generally clean. The hotel has a very nice roof terrace which overlooks the old city of Jerusalem. WIFI is free, but only available in the lobby. Service is also very good. When we missed breakfast one morning the staff made a special breakfast just for us. When ever we had questions about where to go or how to get there, staff members were always friendly in answering.

Although the beds were good, we were always wakened very early by a nearby mosque. Of-course this is a part of the Muslim inhabitants culture.

Al together Tulip Inn Jerusalem is definitely a very good hotel where you get very good quality for a good price.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ton_NLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    107
    42
    5
    5
See reviews for
22
40
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

Fantastic service, very cheap international call rates. Very clean. Bar is a little expensive but much like all hotels and even in the Muslim Quarter of Al Quds it's not hard to find places that you can get a cheap beer.

Bathroom was a little small and you'd definitely want a double room if there's was more than one of you staying but when you're right next to the Old City why on earth would you stay in the room. Same goes for the not great TV - with all there is to see and do in the city if you're watching TV you're doing something very wrong

Damascus Gate right nearby for great shopping and there's a street falafel guy a few steps away where you can gorge for around 3 shekels. In fact try to street eat as much as possible - cheap as chips and tasty too.

Also for the non smokers out there the Golden Walls seems to be the only hotel in the middle east which doesn't provide ashtrays as standard.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DjinnAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmhurst, Il
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

Stayed here four nites during a pilgrimage to Eygpt, Israel. Included breakfast and dinner buffets. Food was good albeit a bit monotnous. Saturday night they had the Sultan's feast which included some entertainment. A bit of irony since we were with a Christian group in the Palestinian area - ha.

The staff was friendly and accommodating.
The hotel had a single internet terminal for free use of patrons. That was a nice feature. I don't think there was free wireless for those with laptops.
There were a number of street markets in the area.
After dark the area seemed a bit sketchy but no one in our group had any problems.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biggerfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

If you're traveling for Old City Jerusalem, this is the place to stay. I spent January 3-10, 2010 at the Tulip Inn.

You're all of 30 seconds walk from the Herod and the Damascus gate, the latter being one of the main entrances into the Old City. There are fresh markets almost immediately outside of the door to buy fruit and bread, which is fresh and delicious every day. The staff was unbelievably helpful. I mean, they were more than helpful getting me a sherut (a shared taxi) to the airport on Shabbat, which is near impossible. They were there for every need I could have had, and even helped me get directions to different sites in the Old City.

I've read some other reviews complaining about the neighborhood being dangerous and risky, and taxi drivers not wanting to go there. I am not sure what they are referring to, though. Immediately outside the door are a line of taxis, buses and sheruts willing to take you anywhere. As a single male in my early twenties, I had no problems walking around to and from there at time late at night or early in the morning. Everyone inside and outside the hotel was helpful and friendly. And, for whatever it matters, the internet works just fine.

This hotel is worth the price to be that close to the Old City, the Rockefeller Museum, the Mount of Olives and that much transportation to anywhere in the Old City, the Dead Sea and Galilee. The staff is great and the rooms are comfortable. The only adjustment I had to make was the 5 a.m. wake up call of the call to prayer, which is something you can definitely live with. :)

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceejfri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2009

I stayed nine nights at this hotel over Christmas. The room was clean the water temperature (shower) can be a bit off. The breakfast is not bad decent selection of food. The location is great as it's in walking distance to most sites. Staff were friendly and helpfull. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LV2TRVL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle East
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

Stayed there for over a week while on business in Jerusalem and Ramallah. The hotel seemed to be half-empty while I stayed there but there seemed to be a mix of muslim pilgrims and business travellers and independent Western travellers. It is quite obvious that the rooms were all renovated recently but on the whole it has the same relaxed ambience of most family-owned business class hotels I've stayed in in Arab capitals, except that the Golden Walls seems to be a little bit better run. The only "issue" to be aware of were that the front door closed around midnight (you had to ring a bell and the night watchman would let you in). There seemed to be no room service when I was there, but breakfast was included in the price and was lovely. Also, the bar in the reception area is open until midnight, where they serve good strong coffee when you need it when returning from meetings all day late in the afternoon.
The rate I got was $50 less than similar in East Jerusalem and with the location, I would with no doubt stay there next time I'm there.
Also, for the leisure traveller, I'm sure this is a great option if you are staying in Jerusalem for only 2-3 days, since the location is right between the Damascus and Herod Gates to the Old City. And I would check the hotel's website for the best price.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PR0FESSI0NAL_N0MAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

We were expecting a lot more after reading the reviews. The staff is super friendly and nice. Lobby dated. Breakfast good. People there were kind of older tour bus types. We stayed there three nights and then moved to the Harmony Hotel which was a better fit for us. It is small, in kind of a hip neighborbood. Great breakfast, fresh and healthy...no tour bus crowds. But let me clarify, if you are going to be touring the Old City and don't want to drive or take a taxi the Golden Walls is the place to stay!

Partners input: Neighborhood kind of ruff, hard to find good places to eat, and parking is pretty rustic.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWPilgrims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
The Sephardic House
#51 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
Jerusalem Hotel
Jerusalem Hotel
#50 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#47 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#32 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Holy Land Hotel
#57 of 97 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#56 of 97 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Walls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Walls Hotel

Property: Golden Walls Hotel
Address: 17 Sultan Suleiman | Damascus Gate, Jerusalem 9761190, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Walls Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jerusalem Golden Walls Hotel is located in the center of the Holy City. Located just outside the northern city walls, between Damascus and Herod's Gates, our hotel is within walking distance from the most religious, historic and cultural centers.The Golden Walls Hotel is a family-owned business managed by the Pilgrims Palace Hotels Ltd. The Golden Walls Hotel was built in 1964 and run by the late Dr. Rasheed Nashashibi till 1983. It was then known as the Pilgrims Palace Hotel. The Hotel has undergone major renovations throughout the last 10 years. It was expanded twice. A new building was added to the existing to make the total number of rooms 120. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Walls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Jerusalem Golden Walls Hotel Jerusalem
Golden Tulip Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing