We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!”
Review of The King David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The King David
Ranked #8 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Hotel is beautiful. Food is excellent - particularly breakfast! It is strictly Jewish cuisine so don't expect meat with dairy, even if for different people! Now does have wifi available at an extra cost. Strangely you can't ask for an iron! You have to use their laundry service! Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishphiledin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,103
    205
    83
    35
    18
See reviews for
426
488
82
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The King David is not just a hotel, of course: it has a fascinating history in Jerusalem and is well worth a visit just to sit on the terrace overlooking the Old City. We enjoyed a four day stay this time. As usual, the service was superb: any concerns were addressed immediately and pleasantly. I would have appreciated a coffee maker in the room, like the one we had at the Dan Jerusalem. Other than that, the beds were very comfortable, the food was excellent, (the buffet breakfast and Saturday lunch were outstanding), and there was a wide choice of tv channels. Everythng, from the towels to toiletries, was top of the line. I am looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pianoprincess10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

As extensive travelers, my husband and I have stayed in many high-end hotels. The King David is amongst our favorites. Not only is it a historic icon in Israel, but the impeccable service and outstanding food make it a winner from every viewpoint. Our spacious room overlooking the Old City on the 5th floor was modern and beautifully decorated. The sitting area and desk were very comfortable, and we returned every evening (we were there for a week) to a beautiful fresh fruit platter, goblets of almonds and cashews, and hand made chocolates. Because we were touring, we ordered breakfast in the room for the first few days. My poached eggs were perfectly done (hard to achieve with hotel delivery), and breakfast included cheese, olives, a basket of the most delicious pastry, juice, coffee. We were delighted. The next few days we went down to the breakfast buffet, and were overwhelmed by the variety and quality of the breakfast. Laundry was quickly washed and returned. Several amenities we loved - a 120 outlet in a pull out drawer meant that we could power up one of our various iPads and iPhones without a converter; and the gift shop changed our dollars at better rates than the nearby ATM. We have also stayed at the David Citadel, and there is comparison between the hotels. Do yourself a favor, and stay at the King David - I promise you won't regret it.

Room Tip: You're in Jerusalem. Ask for a room overlooking the Old City on the 5th or 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susang4835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Another great Dan Hotel. This is supposed to be the top and the service here and the facility makes you feel special. Is a pricey hotel, so you would expect this, but people uses smiles and courtesy that is not always granted in luxury hotels. I was there for work and I needed a coffe facility in my bedroom. They have sent me first a kettle and then a Nespresso machine. My only recommedation would be to make this avavilable to all the guest as personally, as soon as I wake up I need my coffe and I do not want to use the room service for the many coffees a day I drink while on business and working from my room. Understanding this is a luxury hotel, this may be on their policy, however, they are impeccable in satisfy guest requests and it was really much appreciated. My room with the view on the Old City was spectacular and I felt I never wanted to leave Jerusalem. The hotel management, security and maintenance and all the staff are superb. The room are beautiful and the breakfast buffet is one of the best I have ever seen. I would recommed to variate a bit more the menu on the little restaurant facing the garden, altough very good quality and great portions. Loved the King David.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Old City. Is magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fra-carlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowbrook, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed for five days at what proved to be one of the best high-end, non-resort hotels we have experienced in fifty years of travel. Staff was extraordinarily accommodating; rooms clean, spacious and ample in every respect; food exceptional by any reasonable standard, particularly the buffet breakfast. It is easy to see why so many world leaders - ranging from kings and presidents to entertainment icons - have chosen the King David as their home in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i82much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Very good hotel. The breakfast is amazing and the staff is really polite and helpful. The facilities are great and the rooms are big. You are treated like you are a king!!! Really nice experience in Jerusalem . To wake up with a smile in the morning!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolverine123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

My daughter and I went to the King David Hotel for Shabbat dinner. Everyone said this was a must. It was a little expensive but we thought we were going to have a wonderful experience eating in this historic hotel. We were very disappointed. We were shown to a table way in the back near the kitchen even though there were many tables were open. They did show us to an empty table when we asked. The food was very mediocre. What you would expect at a catered wedding. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zzzemble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Management at The King David, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to comment on your visit at the King David.
We have held extensive inquiries with the senior staff of the dining room and are pleased to share with you the results.
Please note that the dining room was remarkably busy on that evening, whereas most of the tables which seemed available, were actually reserved for later hour. Besides, a large family event took place in the adjacent hall.
Thus, more than 300 guests were having the Shabbat dinner on that date, with the same menu. At the King David, Saturday meals are traditional and family oriented. In fact, many of the guests enjoyed the meal and commended the variety and quality of food offered.
Notwithstanding the above, we would like to assure you that we strive for the highest standards in all areas of the hotel operations, with constant efforts to improve the quality of food and service. Therefore, we would encourage you to contact us directly and specify your remarks. We hope to welcome you again at the King David, and trust that your impressions will be more favorable next time.
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
David Citadel Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#5 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#21 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King David

Property: The King David
Address: 23 King David St, Jerusalem 9410147, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Yemin Moshe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The King David 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King David Jerusalem Hotel is the Israel's most famous hotel stands majestic, overlooking the Old City of Jerusalem. This landmark hotel is steeped in history and is the preferred choice of world leaders and celebrities alike. This regal and outstanding member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is superbly located within walking distance from both the major historic sites of the Old City, and modern Jerusalem's lively center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The King David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King David Hotel Jerusalem
King David Jerusalem
King David Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing