We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical, memorable hotel”
Review of The King David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The King David
Ranked #11 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I have travelled a lot and stayed at some of the best hotels and this one is right up there. Wonderful rooms, some with romantic balconies and views of the Old City of Jerusalem, excellent staff and local knowledge, lovely outdoor cafe setting and pool area, tennis court etc. Really there was something special about this hotel and the breakfast was outstanding! Best rooms do overlook the Old City.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a blacony overloooking the Old City. It's worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tania d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

972 - 978 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

With its history so intimately connected to that of the State of Israel, the King David is a hotel that caters to royalty, and bravely aspires to do the same for all its guests, even us commoners.

We stayed there for a 4 day conference that included meetings with political dignitaries and business leaders, we were overwhelmingly impressed by the hotel staff who delivered the ultimate in personal service, all without a trace of obsequiousness. The staff's devotion to perfect service is complemented by the magnificent grounds and public rooms of the hotel. No wonder that just about every world famous personality to visit Jerusalem has chosen to stay at the King David.

Despite this storied history, attention to service details, and a perfect location, the King David does not quite measure up to the high standards of a modern-day luxury hotel.

I was disappointed in the room; it was far smaller than expected, with a somewhat out of date and shopworn decor. While my frequent traveler status guarantees a room upgrade with the Dan Hotel chain (of which the King David is a part), I did not get an upgrade although upgraded rooms were available. The travel service that arranged the conference would not accept American Express, perhaps this was the cause of their rudely stated inability to accommodate. A hotel that aspires to be one of Israel's premier hotels should have vendor / agent policies to avoid such hassles and issues.

On a practical level, the toilet area in the bathroom was tiny, and the bedroom's lighting was poorly designed, with multiple switches that were difficult to figure out. The minibar in the room was minimally stocked, the room had no ice bucket, no coffee maker, and a clock that was off by an hour. Linens and blankets were below that of your typical Westin or Hilton chain. Turn down service failed to show on our first night, later nights it consisted of a bottle of water and slippers. There was no "club lounge" or "club floor" either. The television seemed to be a 24 or 26 inch, there was no sound system, no IPod dock, nor the other basic amenities that are now the norm even at mid-level hotel chains.

The famous breakfast was a bust, attributed by staff to the upcoming Passover holiday. Perhaps I am still spoiled by my recent stay at the adjacent David's Citadel Hotel - their breakfast put the King David's to shame, their rooms were modern, spacious and airy and completely up to date and cheerful.

With the opening shortly of the luxurious new Waldorf Astoria in a historically constructed building on the same block, this small neighborhood outside the Old City gates will host 3 of Jerusalem's leading hotels. It would appear from my stay that the King David has some serious work to do if it does not want to be the 3rd best of the 3.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing on a higher floor overlooking the Old City of Jerusalem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HikeBikeSkiGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

It costs a bit more, but it is worth it when you want to experience the best. I recommend joining the e-dan club to receive early check-in, special considerations, free gift, and an upgrade if possible. The personnel could not have been more helpful. I had been given the name of a restaurant by a friend. Dani, the guest relations person, recommended a different restaurant with a similar menu and he was correct when saying it would be excellent. The hotel is a landmark in Jerusalem and filled with history since it opened. The only negative is that they do not provide free internet during your stay. It seemed beneath them to charge $20 a day when all their others services were free and excellent.

Room Tip: Join the e-dan club; request a room on the 4th floor or higher for excellent views; be friendly with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3seals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Yes it is historic, yes it is iconic, yes it has magnificent grounds perfects views over the old city, top class service and facilities but let me commend breakfast.

First of all its scope. From the chef preparing fresh fruit from this cornucopian country's sensationally fresh and tasty produce to the vast array of salads, vegetables and nuts that occupy only one of 5 vast tables all heaving with every breakfast treat you can imaging that is not meaty. The juices are blended or smoothed according to your wishes and the hot cheese blintzes are sensational.

Just as impressive are the breakfast room's amazing waiters. They remind me of the most professional efficient Italian hotel waiters bereft of the slightest trace of smear or condescension. All warm friendly and wonderfully efficient they will have filled your coffee or endlessly replenished your orange juice. However with their professionalism comes warmth. Smiles of recognition after the first day, cheerful conversation and on a day I came down early and sat alone waiting for others they spend time testing conversation to see if, as a sole diner , I wished for solitude or breakfast chat.

Room Tip: Pay more for an old city view as high as you can, then watch the evening sun make this holy city glo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank conferenceplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Hotel is beautiful. Food is excellent - particularly breakfast! It is strictly Jewish cuisine so don't expect meat with dairy, even if for different people! Now does have wifi available at an extra cost. Strangely you can't ask for an iron! You have to use their laundry service! Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottishphiledin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The King David is not just a hotel, of course: it has a fascinating history in Jerusalem and is well worth a visit just to sit on the terrace overlooking the Old City. We enjoyed a four day stay this time. As usual, the service was superb: any concerns were addressed immediately and pleasantly. I would have appreciated a coffee maker in the room, like the one we had at the Dan Jerusalem. Other than that, the beds were very comfortable, the food was excellent, (the buffet breakfast and Saturday lunch were outstanding), and there was a wide choice of tv channels. Everythng, from the towels to toiletries, was top of the line. I am looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pianoprincess10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

As extensive travelers, my husband and I have stayed in many high-end hotels. The King David is amongst our favorites. Not only is it a historic icon in Israel, but the impeccable service and outstanding food make it a winner from every viewpoint. Our spacious room overlooking the Old City on the 5th floor was modern and beautifully decorated. The sitting area and desk were very comfortable, and we returned every evening (we were there for a week) to a beautiful fresh fruit platter, goblets of almonds and cashews, and hand made chocolates. Because we were touring, we ordered breakfast in the room for the first few days. My poached eggs were perfectly done (hard to achieve with hotel delivery), and breakfast included cheese, olives, a basket of the most delicious pastry, juice, coffee. We were delighted. The next few days we went down to the breakfast buffet, and were overwhelmed by the variety and quality of the breakfast. Laundry was quickly washed and returned. Several amenities we loved - a 120 outlet in a pull out drawer meant that we could power up one of our various iPads and iPhones without a converter; and the gift shop changed our dollars at better rates than the nearby ATM. We have also stayed at the David Citadel, and there is comparison between the hotels. Do yourself a favor, and stay at the King David - I promise you won't regret it.

Room Tip: You're in Jerusalem. Ask for a room overlooking the Old City on the 5th or 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susang4835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#32 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,174 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#15 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,566 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#9 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
David Citadel Hotel
#13 of 101 in Jerusalem
2,090 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,075 reviews
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#27 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King David

Address: 23 King David St, Jerusalem 9410147, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Yemin Moshe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: £313 - £561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The King David 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King David Jerusalem Hotel is the Israel's most famous hotel stands majestic, overlooking the Old City of Jerusalem. This landmark hotel is steeped in history and is the preferred choice of world leaders and celebrities alike. This regal and outstanding member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is superbly located within walking distance from both the major historic sites of the Old City, and modern Jerusalem's lively center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The King David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King David Hotel Jerusalem
King David Jerusalem
King David Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing