We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, spotty service.”
Review of The King David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The King David
Ranked #12 of 102 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Having great expectations, I was really disappointed initially. Our first room was cramped and old, and efforts at getting it changed were met with apathy and a bit of rudeness by the front-desk staff. A new manager, Jeremy, stepped in and worked his magic and switched us to a decent size room. Definitely ask for him if you have an issue. He was the lone standout guy. The bell men were very accommodating and helpful. The breakfast selection is diverse and good. The wait staff is helpful, but not trained in the same way you expect in similar U.S. hotels of that caliber. The concierge was also helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyRisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at The King David, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear AmyRisa,

Thank you for providing us with valuable feedback regarding your recent stay. We are very sorry that you did not find the room you were initially allocated to fully meet your expectations. As part of constant role as a guest-oriented hotel, we are committed to implementing any necessary actions that will ensure a guest is fully satisfied with his/her stay. This would include relocating you to a room that you would find fully suitable. Please kindly note that it is possible that upon arrival, there were no other rooms available, and we sincerely apologize for this inconvenience. Lastly, I would like to thank you for your encouraging comments on our new manager, Jeremy. He will be delighted to know that his commitment to our guests has made all the difference. We hope that in the future, you will choose The King David Hotel. Please feel free to contact us in advance and we will be delighted to discuss your guestroom specifications, and any other items which might ensure a more pleasant stay, enhanced with only lovely memories.

Sincerely,

Joshua Merl
Management Associate
The King David Hotel, Jerusalem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

625 - 631 of 1,506 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just spend 5 days at this prestigious and grand hotel. Truly lived up to it's reputation in every way.
Front desk and bell staff was first class. Eyal the concierge is a gem-know's it all, has patience and passion for Jerusalem, it's history, sites and restaurants.

Housekeeping top shelf. Breakfast amazing-loved Yosef and Faoud-they truly know how to make you feel special.

This hotel is worth the money....an experience that will stay with you always. Ask for an upgraded room.

They even set us up with towels and snacks for our trip to Masada and the Dead Sea.

Room Tip: Doesnt matter if you have old city or new.....you shouldnt be spending much time in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tucker24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I were on a tour with two other couples that stayed at the KD hotel.

Critiques: We all complained about our rooms. Outdated, small, and located by screaming kids. The rooms faced the new city (YMCA). This is not what you want. Spend the extra money and get a room facing the old city that has been renovated. The famous people stay on the upper floors 5&6. Due to being in a tour group we got the crappy rooms. Upgrade!!!!!

Positives: All of the staff were friendly and professional. I read some bad things on here but that was not our experience. The head of the breakfast crew was genuine and very friendly to me. I was usually the first one to breakfast and he would always greet me with smiles and make sure I was ok. Great guy! Location is awesome. Breakfast was one of the best parts. Fresh fruits...awesome. You are staying at a historical place. This is where the Irgun blew up the KD and killed many people to get the British out. To me, this was enough to stay here. All of the famous people stay here: Bono, Movie Stars, Presidents, Prime Ministers, etc. There are historical pictures all over the hotel. Pool is awesome with private showers by the pool. Terrace for drinks, awesome.

Would I stay there again? Probably if I had one of the rooms on the top floors facing the old city. Costs more, but it's vacation!! If you have not stayed there, you should to experience the historical significance of Israel.


Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MickeyMouse55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at The King David, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for contributing a review of your recent stay at The King David Hotel. We are delighted that your stay here was overall an enjoyable one, filled with fond memories of our dedicated team, and splendid food. Naturally, we are less ecstatic to read that you were dissatisfied with your room. As you mentioned, our hotel offers rooms that face towards Jerusalem's modern city center as well as rooms that face towards Jerusalem's walled Old City. From the new city-facing rooms, parks, highrises, picturesque hills, and of course the historic YMCA building are visible. In fact, many guests specifically choose rooms with views of the New City out of preference. Perhaps you would prefer a top floor New City room which features alternate decor and a more elevated view of the city. Nevertheless, we know that many guests prefer the Old City facing rooms as it is the focal point of their travels, but we do wish to emphasize that all of our rooms are held to the same high standards of cleanliness and quality. Furthermore, all of our valued guests, are worthy of the King David's royal hospitality. We will be delighted to welcome you here again, and we hope that on your next visit you will have the liberty of choosing an Old City-facing guestroom or suite.

With best regards,

The Management Team
The King David Hotel, Jerusalem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

There is no more storied hotel in Israel, than the King David. The hotel is Grand, and just a classic. Do not get me wrong, the Citadel is a great hotel, and the new Waldorf is looking beautiful, but the King David is just Special. There are many variations of rooms, but highly recommend the Old city view. The rooms are generally large, and the service is the best in Israel. The pool area is just great, huge olympic size pool, with plenty of chairs around it. This hotel is just great, it is an old classic with nicely renovated, and updated rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w0rldtraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at The King David, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for contributing a review of your recent stay at The King David Hotel. We appreciate your positive feedback and are delighted that we have succeeded in fully meeting your expectations. We are glad that you enjoyed your room as well as our large gardens and pool area. Providing to our guests top-notch service with a smile is what we strive for on a daily basis, and we are happy to have made your stay all the more enjoyable. We look forward to welcome you again in the not so distant future.

Warm regards,

Joshua Merl
Management Associate
The King David Hotel, Jerusalem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We loved staying at the King David. The hotel is rich with history, and plenty of modern amenities to make us feel like we were royalty. The bed was amazing, the towels luxurious.
Upon our arrival, we had a bottle of wine, and a beautiful jar of cookies.
We were on a tour, so we have no idea what the room rate was.
The pool looked fantastic, but we had no time to enjoy it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quarterdeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at The King David, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for contributing a review of your recent stay at The King David Hotel. We are pleased to read that your stay was enjoyable and memorable, and that the amenities provided were worthy of praise. Your positive feedback will certainly be shared with the relevant departments. We look forward to welcome you back to The King David, yet hope that during your next visit you will have sufficient time to enjoy the pool!

Yours sincerely,

Dror Danino-Forsyth
Hotel Manager
The King David Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel in early May 2014 for two nights. It is in a great location, just ten minutes walk to Jerusalem old city. Along the way is a soho area with shops and restaurants. The room is great. Just the shower has design problem. After using it with door properly closed, the whole bathroom is flooded. This is the worst thing during the stay. Others are perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CW1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at The King David, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for contributing a review of your recent stay at The King David. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found your guestroom and the hotel location satisfactory.
While we're happy you were overall comfortable with almost every aspect, your remarks about the shower in your room are of concern, as we have not received similar feedback regarding our showers in the past. The hotel features a range of room categories with various design configurations; therefore, it would be helpful to know which room you stayed in, should you wish to be in touch directly with us. It is possible that some type maintenance was required and we were not aware prior to your stay; thank you for informing us of this necessity. The comfort of our guests is of supreme importance to us, and we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We hope that this will not detract from staying with us again and will be sure to allocate a room that fully meets your expectations; looking forward to that opportunity.

Sincerely,

Dror Danino,
Hotel Manager
The King David Hotel, Jerusalem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We loved our stay at The King David Hotel. It is deserving of its reputation as world class.
The room that we had was beautiful... spacious, wonderful bed, large patio. The pool area is beautiful and relaxing. The service... dining room, concierge, desk, maids... is superb. The breakfasts are beyond belief... sumptuous to say the least. We plan to return again and again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view, and large patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at The King David, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Edev,

Thank you for contributing a review of your recent stay at The King David Hotel. It is delightful to read that you found all aspects of your stay more than satisfactory. Your remarks have been shared with team members of relevant departments who appreciate your positive feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future and offer your even more fine amenities and top-level service.

Best regards,

Joshua Merl
Management Associate
The King David Hotel, Jerusalem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#34 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,155 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#15 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,538 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#7 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,053 reviews
David Citadel Hotel
#9 of 102 in Jerusalem
2,061 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King David

Address: 23 King David St, Jerusalem 9410147, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Yemin Moshe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: £341 - £646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The King David 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King David Jerusalem Hotel is the Israel's most famous hotel stands majestic, overlooking the Old City of Jerusalem. This landmark hotel is steeped in history and is the preferred choice of world leaders and celebrities alike. This regal and outstanding member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is superbly located within walking distance from both the major historic sites of the Old City, and modern Jerusalem's lively center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The King David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King David Hotel Jerusalem
King David Jerusalem
King David Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing