We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding, nothing to complain about , the best of the best in all aspects”
Review of The King David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The King David
Ranked #11 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

It's one of his kind hotels, top of the world , the name says it all , KING David.
The service, kindness of all the staff, the garden = you feel there ROYAL
The admosfere brings you to the past history of the hotel.
There is absolutely no competition at all, with the new most beautiful hotels in Jerusalem.

Room Tip: Do not hesitate, it's one of his kind ,
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddy293983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,498)
There are newer reviews for The King David
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

612 - 618 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great Location. We arrived very early in the morning and Eliel Nissim had our room ready which was awesome since we had been traveling for 24 hours. We had a view of the old city which was so meaningful to us to wake up to every morning. 10 minute walk to the Old City. Jeremy Sheldon, guest relations Manager was also a favorite and always cheery and helpful. We miss seeing him. The concierge Eyal Ayalon is what every hotel should have to assist guests. Muli one of the outside staff also very warm. We did have a problem with another staff and it was handled to conclusion. An example of who should not be in reception. After hours of walking needed a massage. Her name starts with S and the deep tissue massage and stretches helped me the next day. Thank You.
Breakfast out of this world. Miss it already. Thank You forma wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Old City View
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ribird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at The King David, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Ribird,

Thank you for sharing your remarks on your recent stay here at The King David Hotel in Jerusalem. Your encouraging words, especially those about our dedicated team members are highly appreciated and serve as reminders that our devotion to guest satisfaction truly does make all of the difference in creating a pleasant and memorable stay at our hotel.

We are delighted to know that we were able to ensure you an early check-in as we are aware that many of our guests arrive after exhausting journeys and we always do our utmost to ensure optimal convenience and comfort. We hope that your recent experience will inspire you to return to our hotel again in the future and we will certainly be happy to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Joshua Merl
Management Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Returned last week from 5 days at the King David, having spent the previous 5 days at the Hilton in Tel Aviv. Whilst the Hilton hasn't got the history of the King David it's got one thing that the King David hasn't got (apart from the King David's staff on the front desk and its gardens) and that's impeccable service. When you enter the dining room and sit down it's pot luck on how the table's been laid. Either you're missing a knife, or it's the wrong spoon or there is no spoon with the teacup that may also be chipped. And probably the worst meal we had there in all ten days in Israel was Friday night. The choice is Chicken or Gedempte meat. A better choice would have been "do you want it or not", it was awful. So there's no fine dining at the King David on Friday night which is a shame because the building, rooms and especially the gardens are beautiful. So a suggestion to Dan Hotels Management, go and spend a few days at the Hilton and see how they do it!

Room Tip: Go for the 4th or 5th floors.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2jaygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at The King David, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts following your recent stay with us; it is often through comments from our guests that we are able to monitor and develop for the future.
We are delighted that you appreciated the gardens and overall hotel ambiance, yet we regret that while you dined there seemed to have been a drop in our usual standards in the food and beverage service department. It is rare, if at all, that we receive such comments, so all have been taken on board in a bid of no further re-occurrence; we thank you for highlighting your concerns to us.
We'd certainly like the opportunity to welcome you back when we may show you that we usually do so much better. Do let us know when there might be such an opportunity.
With best regards for the time being,
Joshua Merl
Management Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The location of this hotel is great. The staff are not very friendly, esp the morning concierge who had no patience and was very rude at times. When we checked into our room we found pieces of glass on the bathroom floor. The person who showed us to the room said they would take care of it asap. 2 hours later nobody came to clean the glass. Its when I went down to the front desk that finally it was taken care of. For you american express platinum or centurion members this was the first hotel in 5 years that did not give us some kind of room upgrade or extra privillage. Breakfast is great and the servers are the most pleasant people who work at the hotel. Not sure this is a true 5 star hotel, but not sure what would be better in jerusalem.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steven c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at The King David, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Steven C,

Thank you for contributing a review of your recent stay at The King David Hotel; your comments are highly valuable to improving our services.
Our team constantly strives to meet the expectations of our valued guests, so it is regretful to hear if a guest feels anything less. We pride ourselves as members of Amex's FHR (Fine Hotels and Resorts) programs, and adhering to strict compliance of the criteria is at the height of our priorities.
While rare in occurrence, at times, hotels are unable to grant the "upgrade upon availability" benefit due to high occupancy, however always extend our guests a complimentary dinner for two and late checkout as is obligatory.
Furthermore, you mentioned a failure to clean up broken glass speedily; we of course find this just as unacceptable as you did, and does not reflect the usual high standards of our hotel. Rest assured, our team is already looking into all items you have brought up in your helpful feedback. While quite late to rectify the unfortunate events which rendered your stay a less-pleasant one, we would like you invite you to contact us personally to discuss anything you might like to a little further or to be in touch prior to your next visit so we may monitor your reservation directly.
With many thanks and kind regards for the time being,

Josh Merle
Management Associate
KingDavid@danhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel's location is perfect. The back side overlooks the old city; the views are lovely.
For 2, fifty year olds it was a short 20 min. walk to the Old City walls, and Mamilla Mall is a mere 5 minutes away. (Walking through the mall to the Old City, instead of taking the street route, offers a nice change of scenery.) The hotel rooms and grounds are beautiful. The pool was a refreshing break from the heat.

This hotel's historical pedigree is second to none! The names etched into the floor, and the pictures on the walls attest to her importance in history! The short documentary on the hotel channel provides a glimpse into all her adventures, and is well worth watching.

I want to mention we are non-jewish visitors, who visited Jerusalem during Easter and Passover. Though we had knowledge of the Kosher customs, we had never experienced living that way. It was quite a learning experience, as this hotel keeps Kosher.

For example, our first morning we ordered room service; it came with plastic silverware. The next morning the same, only this time there was a card, placed on the tray, that explained why the plastic silverware. It was due to the customs needed to be observed during Passover. - Ok, we do understand.

Eating at the hotel during this time proved a bit challenging, but gave us a better understanding of the strict Jewish customs carried out during Passover. For example, one morning, for room service, I could not get decaf coffee because they ran out in one kitchen and the back-stock was located in another kitchen.

At the bar, I could not get a whiskey sour, due to mixing wheat with other ingredients.

We also spent one evening eating at their fine dining restaurant.
The food was delicious and service was fine. But I could not get milk with my coffee; it was their meat kitchen, and once again, ingredients could not be mixed. The offered soy milk which was an acceptable work-around, but again, not thinking about such dietary rules, it opened our eyes to practices we had never experienced.

So if you are non-Jewish, visiting during Passover, just be aware that the hotel, which is certified Kosher, (I apologise if that is not the correct way to state it) cannot have free reign in the food/drink arena. And you, like us, may not really understand what that means until you experience it.

The hotel service was a mix of excellent to poor.

One evening the concierge, understanding our dietary wishes set up a reservation at Katy's Restaurant - we were very pleased.

Another evening a different concierge worked for a half hour to try and find us a table. She finally asked if we would eat at a bar; we said of course, and sent us to another wonderful restaurant - again we were pleased!

A third time, a different concierge told us he would make reservations at their fine dining restaurant onsite, for the next evening. We arrived at the designated time and no reservation had been made. The restaurant handled this well, did not blink and sat us at a lovely table.

If there was one word I could use to describe our experience at The King David, it would be invisible. We felt invisible there. The service was a mix of excellent to poor, but more than that, no one greeted us, knew our names or bothered to ask us how we were.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the back-side which has a view of the Old City.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jelliclegypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at The King David, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay at The King David Hotel. Such feedback is one of the most effective ways in which we can gain an understanding of our guests' satisfaction. It is delightful to read that your stay was enjoyable, and that you found our hotel and its amenities to be beautiful and enhancing to your stay in Jerusalem. Your positive comments regarding the quality of our food and the helpfulness of our concierge staff have been passed on to the team members themselves.

We are certain that your encounters with Kosher dietary restrictions, especially during a holiday like Passover were an interesting and educational experience, and we hope that you did enjoy our cuisine nevertheless. Most hotels in the country adhere to kosher law which can be complicated and stringent at times. Our chef, Dudu Bitton, and his team are highly talented and creative with their menus and have won great acclaim from both kosher and non-kosher adhering guests.

You have expressed that the service you experienced was not particularly consistent, and we are very sorry about this. We believe that at all times, impeccable service should be provided. Furthermore, our guests mean everything to us, and we strive to be in direct contact with everyone one of them during their stay, and even have an entire department devoted to ensuring their satisfaction. It is very unfortunate that we weren't able engage with you while you were still here. Your remarks have been shared with upper management and we will be sure to investigate the areas you touched on . While late to rectify, we do hope that you will return to our hotel in order to experience the true face of The King David and we kindly request that you be in with contact the management prior to your stay so that we may coordinate your arrival well in advance. Our email address is KingDavid@danhotels.com.

Sincerely,

Management Staff
The King David Hotel, Jerusalem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Having great expectations, I was really disappointed initially. Our first room was cramped and old, and efforts at getting it changed were met with apathy and a bit of rudeness by the front-desk staff. A new manager, Jeremy, stepped in and worked his magic and switched us to a decent size room. Definitely ask for him if you have an issue. He was the lone standout guy. The bell men were very accommodating and helpful. The breakfast selection is diverse and good. The wait staff is helpful, but not trained in the same way you expect in similar U.S. hotels of that caliber. The concierge was also helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyRisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at The King David, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear AmyRisa,

Thank you for providing us with valuable feedback regarding your recent stay. We are very sorry that you did not find the room you were initially allocated to fully meet your expectations. As part of constant role as a guest-oriented hotel, we are committed to implementing any necessary actions that will ensure a guest is fully satisfied with his/her stay. This would include relocating you to a room that you would find fully suitable. Please kindly note that it is possible that upon arrival, there were no other rooms available, and we sincerely apologize for this inconvenience. Lastly, I would like to thank you for your encouraging comments on our new manager, Jeremy. He will be delighted to know that his commitment to our guests has made all the difference. We hope that in the future, you will choose The King David Hotel. Please feel free to contact us in advance and we will be delighted to discuss your guestroom specifications, and any other items which might ensure a more pleasant stay, enhanced with only lovely memories.

Sincerely,

Joshua Merl
Management Associate
The King David Hotel, Jerusalem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just spend 5 days at this prestigious and grand hotel. Truly lived up to it's reputation in every way.
Front desk and bell staff was first class. Eyal the concierge is a gem-know's it all, has patience and passion for Jerusalem, it's history, sites and restaurants.

Housekeeping top shelf. Breakfast amazing-loved Yosef and Faoud-they truly know how to make you feel special.

This hotel is worth the money....an experience that will stay with you always. Ask for an upgraded room.

They even set us up with towels and snacks for our trip to Masada and the Dead Sea.

Room Tip: Doesnt matter if you have old city or new.....you shouldnt be spending much time in your room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tucker24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,521 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,040 reviews
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#31 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#7 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,164 reviews
David Citadel Hotel
#9 of 101 in Jerusalem
2,043 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King David

Address: 23 King David St, Jerusalem 9410147, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Yemin Moshe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: £347 - £599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The King David 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King David Jerusalem Hotel is the Israel's most famous hotel stands majestic, overlooking the Old City of Jerusalem. This landmark hotel is steeped in history and is the preferred choice of world leaders and celebrities alike. This regal and outstanding member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is superbly located within walking distance from both the major historic sites of the Old City, and modern Jerusalem's lively center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The King David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King David Hotel Jerusalem
King David Jerusalem
King David Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing