We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The King David
Nearby Hotels
US$444
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$420
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Ba Moshava(Jerusalem)
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mamilla Hotel(Jerusalem)
US$515
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$447
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$564
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$510
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mount Zion Hotel(Jerusalem)
US$298
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
City Center Jerusalem(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$580
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$563
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,586)
Filter reviews
1,586 results
Traveller rating
1,199
231
94
39
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,199
231
94
39
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla regenceworld leadershistoric hotelold citykind davidpool area isbreakfast buffetdairy restaurantroom facingguest relationsdining roomdan hotelsan upgradeup to dateshabbat dinnerfive star hotelwonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,154 - 1,159 of 1,586 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2010

My husband and I came to Jerusalem to walk in the first Susan G. Komen race for the Cure in Israel. My sister, My daughter and I are all survivors of breast cancer. This was a very emotional journey for us because we would walk in the land that is very sacred to us and our family for a cause near and dear to our hearts. It was suggested we have a sign indicating our home town to show we were here to support the Israelis in their fight against breast cancer. We spoke to Maya, at the hotel, hoping she could help us. Graciously she invited us for a drink and listened to our story. She was so moved that she immediately picked up her phone and our request for a Philadelphia sign was honored. The next morning a beautiful sign was delivered to us hours before the race.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alice2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Hotel is dated and lacks some of the qualities needed for 5 star review. The rooms are extremely small and the hotel is under renovation with alot of banging going on. We switched rooms twice. Although the hotel gave us a 25% credit for my complaining I would rather have paid full freight and had peace and quiet and not to have to pack and unpack to move. The towels felt like sand paper and I actually asked them to give me the towels which they give the kings and presidents who stay there. They did bring some ones that didn't feel like sand paper. All the Dan hotels ,although the best in Israel do not hold a candle to the bristols and hotel du caps of the world

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank golfbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Manager at The King David, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2010

Dear Guest,

Although, we have had several conversations during your stay and your requests have been addressed, I feel constrained to comment on your rather unsettling public feedback.
First and foremost, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience unwillingly caused to you. Please allow me to emphasize that the hotel is not under reconstruction, but some parts of it are being refurbished and converted into the executive area. Although, the site is well isolated by the intermediate storage floor, in certain rooms, noise might have been occasionally heard. As a result, as you justly mentioned, you were offered another room and were duly compensated.
As regards the rooms size, it is widely known that the King David has the most spacious rooms and public areas in the city, due to the construction standards of the early 30-ies - unfamiliar to the modern architects who are often constrained to save space. We also have the biggest private garden in Jerusalem.
As regards the towels, I am pleased to inform you that practically all the towels at the hotel have been recently changed and we regret that your first ones seem to have belonged to the old stock, although the "sand paper" metaphor you use appears to be somewhat exaggerated.
Having mentioned that, we truly appreciate your feedback and do acknowledge that we have learned a lot from it.
We hoping to welcome you back soon and show you the true face of the legendary King David.

Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

The King David is not just a hotel! It is a opportunity to experience history and the Israeli culture! I would recommend this hotel to everyone! The staff are wonderful and so caring! The hotel is stately and beautiful. The location is in the heart of the city! The ability to walk to the Old City, neighborhoods, fabulous dining places, and shops is great! They even schedule tours with outstanding guides. Do not miss the King David experience. Mintz - Atlanta! Stay here as a treat to yourself!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smintz101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

The King David is the Grand Dame of Jerusalem hotels. There are trendier places in Jerusalem. There are places that are more hip. But there are none more comforting or cosseting. None with better staff. None with a better restaurant.None with better views.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterBSurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We stayed in this beautiful , historic hotel and had an unbelievable vacation! The dedicated, friendly staff went above and beyond to make each day special. The spacious rooms that overlook the old city are wonderful and capture the magic of this land. The pool and garden of this resort are unmatched. The restaurants are superb and varied. I can't wait to return.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Coco500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews