We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”
Review of The King David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The King David
Ranked #10 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 16 December 2010

We had very great time staying in King David. Food was excelent, location - close to most attractions.
If you ever stay do not forget to try house wine, red or white both perfect.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lana739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,111
    209
    84
    36
    18
See reviews for
428
491
84
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Coast
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We just returned from a week at the hotel ( divided into 2 stays) and can vouch for the other very positive feedback on this site. The rooms were quite large, the views were beautiful, the service excellent. The hotel security staff was even able to retrieve an envelope that contained cash which had been left behind after we checked out. Our three teenagers were very satisfied, and were very impressed with the lobby autographs of famous guests ( though it took a while to explain why room service was so limited on the Jewish Shabbath day). Getting the cell phone number of Maya , the guest coordinator on duty proved to be extremely helpful. The concierge hit it right on the mark when they recommended local night spots for our older boy.
We strongly recommend the KIng David, even after looking at the other new hotels in the area. As for our reference point, we are familiar with higher end hotels, such as the Four Seasons, Ritz Carltons, Pierre, Claridge's etc...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rialto11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

The King David is regal in a British sort of way--elegant but not over-wrought. The staff are friendly and always very helpful. This is not always the case at other hotels in Israel. An added plus is all the history that took place at this hotel. it's fair to say that it has been the diplomatic nexus of the Middle East in the past century. The location is superb--walking distance from the Old City and across the road from another historic landmark--The YMCA. The only downside is that there was no free Internet.

Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidL460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Staying at the King David Hotel was as much of an experience for me as going to Jerusalem itself. It’s historic, formal and beautiful. The free breakfast buffet is incredible. Special treats placed in the room in the afternoon are a nice touch. I did not opt for a room with view of the Old City, but the view from my room was just fine. I read on this site about space issues with some rooms, but the rooms I saw on the first floor (which I believe are new) are huge. If I had a complaint to make, it would be the internet – at 70 shekels ($20) per 24 hours, it was an painfully slow connection – the whole week I was there. However, that doesn’t change my opinion that this is the only place to stay in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmw345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Level of service and cleanliness more than expected
Excellent breakfast
The distance to the Old City is very short
The view towards the old city breathtaking.

Friday dinner must improve

The bottom line is strongly recommended

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mame027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Best location, excellent service. Food quality is mediocre.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nirn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2010

my husband and I were very impressed with hotel and its history and would return there anytime
ask for room with view of old Jerusalem

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ursula00181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
987 reviews
David Citadel Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,937 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#3 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,741 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King David

Property: The King David
Address: 23 King David St, Jerusalem 9410147, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Yemin Moshe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The King David 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King David Jerusalem Hotel is the Israel's most famous hotel stands majestic, overlooking the Old City of Jerusalem. This landmark hotel is steeped in history and is the preferred choice of world leaders and celebrities alike. This regal and outstanding member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is superbly located within walking distance from both the major historic sites of the Old City, and modern Jerusalem's lively center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The King David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King David Hotel Jerusalem
King David Jerusalem
King David Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing