We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Legendary Hotel with a few misses”
Review of The King David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The King David
Ranked #10 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Legendary Hotel with a few misses”
Reviewed 3 February 2011

The KIng David mostly lives up to its hype. Its beautiful, the setting and staff are appropriately formal and the location can't be beat. The history is fascinating so take the time to watch the documentary on the in house TV channel and check out the photos on the walls of the main areas to see the famous folks who have stayed there. The pool is beautiful and the breakfast buffet is out of this world! I would have appreciated a small non-kosher cafe, but hey, I was in Jersusalem so when in Rome right? The room itself could have been cleaner and dishes collected until we mentioned it to the front desk staff. The shower leaked and never was fixed. Internet rates were kind of high. At this price point, I would have expected at least some comp time on the internet to check email. No spa was disappointing. My Father and I did a lot of walking the 3 days we were there and a massage would have been nice. If I ever return to Jersusalem I might check out a more modern hotel.

Stayed September 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank RonnieLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Manager at The King David, responded to this review, 10 February 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the most favorable description of our beneficial location, noteworthy history as well as the significant present time agenda, and, what is no less important - the courtesy of our staff and the splendor of our breakfast buffet.
At the same time, we are concerned about your remarks regarding the house keeping and the maintenance service in your room.
We would be grateful to receive from you the room number and the specific dates in order to retroactively rectify the faults and make sure that your observations contribute to our performance and help us improve our service.
As to your remarks about the internet: the 24 hours wireless connection charge is similar to other top hotels in Israel. Besides, Business center services as well as cable connection are available on premises as an alternative. It is also important to remark that at leased fifteen massages of all kinds, including the exotic ones, are offered around the clock in our newly refurbished Health club, which is also furnished with top techno gym equipment and a spacious Finnish sauna.
We would be delighted to welcome you to the King David on many more occasions in the future and show you the real face of this modern hotel with fine old tradition.
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,127
    212
    85
    36
    19
See reviews for
435
500
85
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

We arrived exhausted in the evening to a beautiful looking hotel room situated in the front of the building, which we were told was recently redecorated. The room was gorgeous and clearly furnished with expensive furniture. A nice little spread of food awaited us and we were told there would be more each night. There was no stand available for a suitcase, which our bellman promised to get for us; we tipped the bellman well and never saw him again nor did we receive the stand for our suitcase. Then we did what we always do upon arrival in a hotel room: Check for bedbugs. As we searched all over, including behind the bed, beneath furniture and elsewhere, we found a massive amount of dust and dirt. The room was clean as a whistle where people would notice, but staff had not run a vacuum beneath the two chairs which could be easily moved, as well as beneath furniture where a vacuum could easily go, for what looked like years. Underneath the dresser in a bunch of dirt I found what looked like it might be a dead bedbug, based upon numerous photos I have seen online, but I am not a bedbug expert and there were no signs of bedbugs in the bed or elsewhere. I ordered a drink which arrived promptly. But the dirty dishes accrued; maid service failed to remove dirty dishes and failed to provide us with clean drintking goblets during our stay even though it was obvious that the dishes and glasses in the room had been used by us. The food spread in the room we were promised daily stopped being delivered to the room. We would recommend the outstanding breakfast but if you come to the King David be sure to bring cleaning supplies.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynnWinters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Manager at The King David, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Dear Ms. Winters,
We have thoroughly studied your review and appreciate your feedback.
As you have rightly noticed, the Hotel dominates the fascinating view of the Old City and its classically designed rooms are regularly decorated and refurbished. Furthermore, close to 50% of our clientele are returning guests, many of them –fourth generation already. Therefore, the service at the KD is highly personalized, whereas every request and personal habit of the guests is documented and respected.
Having mentioned that, we truly regret that your experience, though highly atypical, was so discomforting. In fact, we could hardly recognize our hotel in your meticulous description, neither could we detect the reservation on your name.
In order for us to investigate in due manner the state of affairs described by you, we would appreciate a direct communication with a room number, since no report of the kind was received lately by the Management.
As regards your remarks, it is important to mention that almost every hotel room has an inbuilt suitcase niche. Besides, we have a regular, thoroughly documented sanitary inspection in each and every room so that there is hardly a likelihood of any bugs. A thorough cleaning service is provided regularly – twice a day and any time upon request.
Room courtesies, including water and fruits, are supplied regularly and can be refilled any time, upon request.
As your experience appears to contradict the above, we would very much appreciate a direct feedback from you in order to rectify the faults and spare any such mishaps in the future.
Kind Regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
730 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,435 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

I learned this interesting fact (referring to Menachem Begin’s time with Irgun) watching a documentary on the hotel’s cable channel. My time here was well spent.

Check-in: Without question the most impressive check-in experience I have ever had. My luggage was secured and quickly brought to my room, I was treated very graciously from the moment I introduced myself, and I was given a tour of the hotel and my room along with a welcoming drink. The manager of guest relations also went out of her way to introduce herself and give me her card “if there is anything I can personally do for you.” I can list numerous 5-star establishments (including some in Paris and New York) that could take notes from this place.

Accommodations: Four nights in an Old City room with a small balcony. The room was clean and functional with a bit of a classic feel to it. Park Hyatt this is not, but I like the Old World-style better anyways so it was a nice fit. Everything worked and house-keeping was close to perfect (forgot to put my slippers out at turndown service one night).

Dining: Jewish dietary laws restrict the variety a bit here but at this point in my trip I had become accustomed to separate “milk and meat” menus. I ate at La Regence (formal dining) my first night and also at their casual brasserie several times. Breakfast buffet is quite good. Those expecting a complete non-kosher experience might be a little disappointed but I was more than satisfied.

Location: 10 minute walk to Jaffa Gate. The surrounding neighborhood seemed safe and a bit upscale (go figure).

Service: There seemed to be quite a few trainees when I stayed (Dec 16th-20th) but the impressive thing is that the service was still almost across the board excellent from the dining rooms to the bell boys. There was a bit of nervous energy here and there but for the most part these guys delivered a 5-star experience. I would love to see their “regular” staff at work.

Summary: Not a perfect visit but close to it. Aside from the above mentioned minor glitches this was a quality Grand Hotel experience. Any history buffs out there will love this place; this is an historic hotel making history as we speak, with numerous recent visits by Presidents and Prime Ministers and not just B-list movie stars. One of the few times I would consider revisiting a city based on just the hotel. Excellent.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midway42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

The King David Hotel is a comfortable, friendly, warm and welcoming hotel in the 5 star category. We requested a room overlooking the old city of Jerusalem and were given one: large, recently renovated, with terrace. The weather was warm for November, and we were able to sit outside and relax in the beautiful light that is unique to Jerusalem. Everyone in the hotel, from reception, to concierge to breakfast room manager, to restaurant and bar personnel, went out of their way to make our stay very special. Easy access to all of the sites that we wanted to visit and to top quality restaurants and cafes. There are many excellent 5 star hotels. The King David is a cut above. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

As first time visitors to Israel we chose to rent a car at Ben Gurion Airport and make the the Holy City of Jerusalem our first stop. We had a casual knowledge of the King David Hotel from many years of watching TV news and reading newspaper accounts of important leaders and dignitaries staying there. Pulling up to the hotel in golden late afternoon Jerusalem sunshine and receiving the warm, gracious and friendly greeting from the hotel doormen & staff quickly reinforced our impressions from afar that we would be enjoying the classic "old world" hotel that we had hoped for.
Our three day adventure in Jerusalem and stay at the King David was memorable. The King David Hotel was a definite high point in a city with no shortage of them. Our room. was wonderful and the dining was superb. The gorgeous swiming pool and grounds were a surprise considering the downtown location of the hotel. Best of all was the genuine kindness and immediate attention to our every need from the King David Hotel staff. We could not have asked for any better ambiance or hotel experience .
You can be sure that our next visit to Israel will include a much longer stay at the King David Hotel in Jerusalem. -Rick & Sarah desjardins-

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jericho16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2010

We had very great time staying in King David. Food was excelent, location - close to most attractions.
If you ever stay do not forget to try house wine, red or white both perfect.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lana739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We just returned from a week at the hotel ( divided into 2 stays) and can vouch for the other very positive feedback on this site. The rooms were quite large, the views were beautiful, the service excellent. The hotel security staff was even able to retrieve an envelope that contained cash which had been left behind after we checked out. Our three teenagers were very satisfied, and were very impressed with the lobby autographs of famous guests ( though it took a while to explain why room service was so limited on the Jewish Shabbath day). Getting the cell phone number of Maya , the guest coordinator on duty proved to be extremely helpful. The concierge hit it right on the mark when they recommended local night spots for our older boy.
We strongly recommend the KIng David, even after looking at the other new hotels in the area. As for our reference point, we are familiar with higher end hotels, such as the Four Seasons, Ritz Carltons, Pierre, Claridge's etc...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rialto11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,006 reviews
David Citadel Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,467 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#5 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,766 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King David

Property: The King David
Address: 23 King David St, Jerusalem 9410147, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Yemin Moshe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The King David 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King David Jerusalem Hotel is the Israel's most famous hotel stands majestic, overlooking the Old City of Jerusalem. This landmark hotel is steeped in history and is the preferred choice of world leaders and celebrities alike. This regal and outstanding member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is superbly located within walking distance from both the major historic sites of the Old City, and modern Jerusalem's lively center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The King David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King David Hotel Jerusalem
King David Jerusalem
King David Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing