We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service Training Needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #24 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 800 helpful votes
“Customer Service Training Needed”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Employees and management require remedial customer service training. We had a problem with the WiFi service, and the young manager on duty who wears glasses was very rude and arrogant, totally lacking any courtesy or customer service skills. Desk clerks exhibit no smile or courtesy toward guests. We checked out at 4:30 a.m. to make a flight at Ben Gurion, and there was no one on duty at the front desk. I finally tossed the key cards on the desk, and we headed for the door when a heavy set young man sitting with his back to us in a guest chair near the door asked us if we needed help. Well golly! He was the sole desk clerk on duty. I told him we did not need help anymore, and his attitude was typical of employees at this hotel, very bad. I would like to point out one rare exception to the customer no service at this hotel. Mr Eliot Shein was fantastic, a real gentleman, who always treated us like honored guests. Mr Shein is a rare exception at this hotel. Too bad all the employees and managers were not like Mr Shein. WiFi costs U.S. $22 a day, a rip off. There is some sort of executive lounge in the lobby that has computer terminals connected to the internet, but there is some unknown policy about their usage. The lobby restaurant has outrageous prices, and the buffet downstairs costs 200 Shekels per person, that's about U.S. $57 per person, outrageous. We found a grocery store around the corner and a small pizza place across the street that sold food at very reasonable prices. Also, there is an internet cafe next to the pizza restaurant that has very reasonable prices for internet time, about U.S. $2.50 per hour, and the owner was very friendly. Rooms were very hot at night, and the air conditioning is woefully inadequate. In all fairness, I want to compliment housekeeping, as they did a superb job cleaning and restocking our room every day. Also, the breakfast buffet, which our tour company paid for, was very good, and you could eat all you wanted to. We stayed here three nights and not once did any employee or manager ever thank us for our business, with the exception of Mr Shein. A special note to Leonardo Plaza Hotel, please promote Mr Eliot Shein and put him in charge of training your entire staff and management in common courtesy and customer service. I would never stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask them if the air conditioning is working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cruiser100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    338
    132
    67
    52
See reviews for
435
320
64
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern England
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is my third review for this hotel (see my other reviews for further info.). As a business booking, it was chosen by the company, but we stayed as a couple so there was a relaxation element to our trip too. From the business side, my boyfriend and his team are always very satisfied- the large coffee lounge beyond Reception is a very convenient, professional place to conduct interviews and one-to-one business meetings, and the location is close to the business district. It’s an old building but inside quite smart and upmarket, with the feeling of a national chain.

It’s very different staying here outside of the summer months. August was jam-packed with noisy, often obnoxious families, but in March we had a much more peaceful stay. We’ve also been here in November which was in between the two extremes for number of guests. Most guests are American, Jewish and orthodox, so I understand it’s one of the best kosher hotels in town and a popular venue for religious gatherings etc. As we’re not in that category, we’d try a different hotel if we were coming purely for leisure (somewhere more cosmopolitan with a late night bar).

That said, we always have a really comfortable stay here and love the generous breakfast. We split our evenings between beautiful Mamilla/the Old City (10 minutes’ walk turning left out of the hotel) and the downtown Ben Yehuda area (10 minutes’ walk turning right), so no complaints on location. The room we had this time on the 10th floor was really plush and lovely- could happily have stayed another week! If you get the right room, you can enjoy brilliant views, especially from a higher floor like the 20th.

A special word for Sufian, our smiling friend on Reception whom we always look forward to seeing- he is very helpful and kind, and takes good care of us as regular visitors.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubiachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Great tidy rooms, clean baths and furnishings, wonderfully helpful staff at desk and meals, delightful food. We were pleased with our whole group's experience. Dining room is very large and a bit noisy, but it's part of what's necessary to accommodate large groups like ours.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoomMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We love the Leonardo Plaza in Jerusalem. We've spent so many vacations there and it's great. The place is really clean (always smells like shampoo:) and the staff is helpful. It pays to get someone on your side so that if there is a problem, you know who to call. The food in the lobby is a tad bit expensive, but it is really good. Breakfast is worth every penny!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaya f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay in the city, perfect location, the rooms are great and the staff was friendly.
I would definitely recommend this hotel If you're looking for the best of everything !!!
Zero complaints here just a positive experience!!!

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Noah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I am a corporate agent and stayed at the Leonardo Plaza for 4 days. Overall I was VERY impressed with the hotel. Service was superb,rooms were very clean,location was fantastic. I will sure recommend Leonardo Plaza to all my clients.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REBECCA291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

Hotel is pretty satisfactory and meets all demands of traveller.
Room is clean and cozy.
Service is in line with stars.
Food is delicious especially if you are lucky enough to have a grill party. Also it was very pleasant to find several sugar-free deserts.

Location is good too. David's Tower and lovely Mamilla street is on walking distance.
So it's a reasonable choice for sightseeing groups.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Duck T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#16 of 99 in Jerusalem
2,071 reviews
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#22 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,680 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#5 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nachla'ot
Hotel Prima Kings
Hotel Prima Kings
#32 of 99 in Jerusalem
740 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,469 reviews
David Citadel Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem

Property: Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem
Address: 47 King George Street, Jerusalem 91076, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#17 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#19 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#20 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want a perfect holiday in the Holy City, Leonardo Plaza Jerusalem is the place to be at. Within walking distance from the Independence Park and the Western Wall, Leonardo Plaza Jerusalem is a tranquil island in the heart of the historic city bustling with life. Feel the luxury of Leonardo Plaza Jerusalem: the hotel’s gourmet restaurants offer a unique culinary experience, the swimming pool is comfortable and inviting, and in summer a festive barbecue is held on the terrace of the hotel, which overlooks the Old City. The combination of the holy atmosphere of the Old City with the modern luxury provided by the hotels facilities guarantees you a relaxing and pampering holiday which will be more than perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Plaza Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem
Sheraton Jerusalem
Jerusalem Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing