We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Poor Hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #29 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very Poor Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. The room was very basic. The refrigerator didn't even had a bottle of water - it was absolutely empty.
The concierge service desk was unattended almost always. Once I saw a lady at the concierge desk - she saw me standing there but she wouldn't be bothered while she was discussing personal issues on the phone - something about what to bring with her to a party or a dinner.

I had a bottle of expensive perfume with me -it was stolen from the room that one time we had a cleaning service there. Next time I will need to put my shoes in the safe - who can guarantee the safety of your belongings?

We asked the reception desk about the local map. Then we asked the assistant on the entrance of the hotel to help us to find Leonardo Plaza on the map- he could not find it on the map. The concierge desk was always unattended.

The breakfast was good and the staff at the breakfast place was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzan v, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for giving us feedback.
We sorry you were not totally satisfied with your service- I took for my attention your criticism.
We hope you enjoyed other aspects of our hotel and hope that after looking at the cost of other hotels you will choose us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    332
    129
    64
    48
See reviews for
414
299
62
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Beautiful hotel in a very nice location. The breakfast is phenomenal. That's the good. Here's the bad. Welcome to 2002. Wi-Fi is not free. In fact it is ridiculously expensive. 100 shekels for three days is the best rate.......for each device! I bought the three days and had it shut off after 24 hours. Went to ask why and the older man at the desk said I had only bought a day. This markedly increases the price. We found record that I had ordered three, but he wouldn't just extend it. Said that the woman was new and made a mistake. OK.......?.... Not really a good excuse. He then said he would fix it and my final bill would reflect the change as a 45 and a 55 shekel charge. Of course it was the original single and three day charge. And.......the Wi-Fi was so weak that I couldn't get any work done. In the modern world, do yourself and Jerusalem visitors a favor and find a hotel with free Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: Find a room at a hotel with free Wi-Fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mozecuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzan v, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for making a post on tripadvisor.
We're glad you enjoyed the breakfast and location .
You're right, we do charge for internet. We want to offer guests the lowest price possible for a five star hotel. Adding internet service to the cost of your room still puts us as a great bargain, but we try to give people price options so that they can create their own package at a rate they can afford.
Ask for an executive room next time you stay with us and you won't have to pay extra for internet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
155 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Firstly, old town is one tram stop away (Damascus gate) or a 10 mins walk so perfect for exploring the city. (Tram stop is a 2 mins walk)
The hotel itself is okay, unfortunately the staff at reception and in the breakfast area are not the kindest. A great exception is a lady behind the big cafe machine in the restaurant who makes you any type of coffee you would like and she is one of the friendliest I have ever met (So don't order coffee from the waiters to your breakfast - go and ask directly from her!)
For the room you get 1h free internet per day.
There's a lovely pool which is only open between 10-18?!?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzan v, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment. Our location in proximity to the Mamilla Mall and the Old City is a major reason why so many people stay with us, I'm glad that you enjoyed it.
We sorry you were not totally satisfied with your service. We are committed to serving the needs of our patrons and your comments offer valuable feedback. Thank you for your patronage, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Everything about our stay here was great. But the best thing by far was the amazing service, in particular Ben at the concierge desk! From restaurant recommendations to helping me find a cheaper place to have my laundry done and then arranging it all for me so I didn't have to do a thing - he was so incredibly helpful. Spacious, clean rooms, beautiful pool and spa, lovely lobby and bar area. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzan v, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post such graceful gratitude.
Our staff loves to make travelers feel at home in Jerusalem.
I read your compliments to the Concierge and it made him smile, thank you.
It was an honor to host you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

This was a great location, but the hotel was disappointing. The buffet breakfast was great, but the room and bathroom were outdated. The hotel was very formal, not a very fun atmosphere. And the front desk staff were not very friendly, except for the young lady at the concierge desk. They have updated the pool area which was nice. Not great value for the money.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank travels234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzan v, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. Your right, our central location makes our beautiful city of Jerusalem very accessible. We sorry you were not totally satisfied with your service, however we are committed to serving the needs of our patrons and your comments offer valuable feedback. The Leonardo Plaza is constantly striving to improve our service and renovating the pool and rooms are all part of that process. Be sure to check out all the new improvements on your next trip to Jerusalem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

my children enjoyed the kids club my son liked the kitchen and coloring my daughter like the toys it was nice to use before shabbat and will be back during shabbat would be good duri g the week as well.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pavelrosenfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzan v, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your patronage. I'm glad to hear that your children enjoyed the kids club, we hope you all will come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Met this great person at guest services Shira. She helped us out tremendously. The a staff was amazing. Great food. We'll be here for shabbas and looking forward to a complete rest close enough for us to walk to the old city.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzan v, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel.
I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The guest experience is very important to our management team, and it is nice to see that our guest enjoy their time with us.
We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#15 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#20 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nachla'ot
Prima Kings Hotel
Prima Kings Hotel
#25 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
David Citadel Hotel
#13 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#11 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem

Property: Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem
Address: 47 King George Street, Jerusalem 91076, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#17 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#19 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#25 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want a perfect holiday in the Holy City, Leonardo Plaza Jerusalem is the place to be at. Within walking distance from the Independence Park and the Western Wall, Leonardo Plaza Jerusalem is a tranquil island in the heart of the historic city bustling with life. Feel the luxury of Leonardo Plaza Jerusalem: the hotel’s gourmet restaurants offer a unique culinary experience, the swimming pool is comfortable and inviting, and in summer a festive barbecue is held on the terrace of the hotel, which overlooks the Old City. The combination of the holy atmosphere of the Old City with the modern luxury provided by the hotels facilities guarantees you a relaxing and pampering holiday which will be more than perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Plaza Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem
Sheraton Jerusalem
Jerusalem Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing