We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, poor service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jerusalem Gold Hotel
Ranked #80 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good hotel, poor service!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I must preface this with the fact that when I stayed at the Jerusalem Gold hotel I was staffing a trip of 40 students to Israel, and was responsible not only for my issues but theirs too. I also want to add that the customer service we've come to expect from hotels isn't always the standard everywhere in the world. That said here's what happened ...

The food was mediocre, and believe me when your in Israel and the quality of food is so great everywhere else you notice.

Customer Service was very poor. On more then one occasion we had issues with the participants' rooms - doors were broken, doors would jam and not open, and there was no heat or hot water in some rooms. Since its a group trip in some rooms we had 3 participants and they lacked an extra blanket (and yes it gets cold at night in Jerusalem during the winter so this is important). The participants tried calling the front desk on various occasions, and so did I - and when we did we were told that the issues were already resolved or would be shortly. However, they were not, and at the end of the day nothing was done to remedy the situations. I understand staff is limited and they've got to deal with 20 occupied rooms by my group alone - but that comes with the territory of running a hotel. More importantly the staff was rude, and they showed virtually no interest in resolving anything.

While the rooms themselves were nice, simple and clean -- the rest of the little mishaps left an unpleasant taste in my mouth. I guess its also a different situation - if your there as a family, or a couple or a very small group maybe they'd be more inclined to help, i don't know.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YelizavetaYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    132
    112
    80
    88
See reviews for
76
98
73
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed here with three friends in June 2013. The hotel is located about 25-30 minutes walk to the Old City, which for some could be a problem but for us meant that we had an enjoyable walk through the streets of Jerusalem every day, which adds to the experience. If you are not keen on the walk then directly opposite the hotel is the tram interchange where you can jump on a tram for the short journey into the centre of town.

The hotel is also conveniently located directly next door to the Jerusalem bus terminal, which means it is very easy to walk next door and get on a bus to wherever you need to go. On arriving from the airport we didn't have far to take our cases and could easily set off on day trips to Masada and Tel Aviv.

The hotel itself is probably more than I would have expected for the price we paid. The breakfast was good, although very busy in a morning, particularly with groups of students/children setting off on their tours.

We had booked two twin rooms, and were placed on one of the highest floors overlooking the tram interchange and main road. Some might not enjoy the view out over the busy streets (which was quite noisy and there was a huge construction site opposite) this wasn't an issue for us.
One good plus was that our rooms were linked together with a joining door.

All in all a very good hotel, in a superb location to access transport links for the whole country. Would recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackH1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem District, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The rooms were nice and the woman who runs the hotel was nice but her front desk staff were slow and unhelpful and I saw that they were occasionally hostile and rude to some of the guests! Waiters worked really hard and the lobby was comfortable. The food was pretty good. I really liked a few dishes that seemed fresh and unique to this hotel. I think that my review of the hotel would be much different and enthusiastic if the staff at the desk were better at their jobs!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeebsKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

me & my family guist at 31/1/2014-01/02/2014 in Jerusalem Gold hotel and was perfect' the room was very clean. the food was tasty & the location is perfect !!
we will back again in my next trip..
thank you :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shuli r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I must mention the high quality of the rooms. We really enjoyed services, workers tried to give us good service, attention and most importantly clean hotel, rooms are clean and bright.

Rooms are not large but everything is beautiful and elegant.

The price was very comfortable and the location fantastic. I will defiantly recommend friends to come to the hotel and stay.
Thanks again to staff attitude and service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benoz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Nice & clean rooms
Friendly & helpful staff
Good and taste food
Worth each $ we pay
Sure will visit again
Allocation is very good not so far from the old city near the central bus station the shuck
We enjoy our stay.
And sure that we will visit again next time we will be in Jerusalem

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Imad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Me and my family want to thank

The staff at the Jerusalem Gold Hotel

For their  service, polite and care for

Me and my children.

The rooms were clean the food was tasty & excellent

And the location was very helpful in our short visit in the holy jerusalem

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moshaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Jerusalem Gate Hotel
#85 of 99 in Jerusalem
423 reviews
Givat Ram
Hotel Prima Park
Hotel Prima Park
#27 of 99 in Jerusalem
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nachla'ot
Lev Yerushalayim
Lev Yerushalayim
#53 of 99 in Jerusalem
230 reviews
Caesar Premier Jerusalem
#7 of 99 in Jerusalem
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerusalem Gold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerusalem Gold Hotel

Property: Jerusalem Gold Hotel
Address: 234 Jaffa, Jerusalem 9438316, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Rommema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jerusalem Gold Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerusalem Gold Hotel has excellent location, right next to Jerusalem central bus station, which is guarded by security men & street cams 24 /7. It has an easy access to city tram that enables fast trip to the Old City of Jerusalem, Ein Karem, Yad Vashem Holocaust Memorial, Mount Herzl and other main city sights; the hotel is within walking distance from Israel Museum, Knesset - Israeli Parliament and several shopping malls. It has recently undergone full renovations and accredited as a 4 star hotel. Looking forward to welcome you at our hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jerusalem Gold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing