We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Abysmal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jerusalem Gold Hotel
Ranked #75 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
New York City, New York
1 review
“Abysmal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

From the moment of check in (stated as 2pm, actually 4:10pm), we felt completely unwelcomed and were treated as disturbances. Any requests we made from the reception were responded to with delays and dictates to wait another 30 minutes to make the request once more. Constantly, we were waved off and ignored.
We waited 3 hours for new towels after 4 requests.
DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. LUTHERAN GUESTHOUSE IN THE OLD CITY IS MARVELOUS.
The owners/managers do not deserve your business and they certainly carry themselves as if they don't care (probably because they get a large influx of Holy Land tour groups).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trotter2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    131
    111
    79
    82
See reviews for
75
97
71
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

Was part of a seminar at Yad Vashem for two weeks. Our entire group was treated as if we were intruding on the owners-managers of the hotel. They were unattentive to our needs and requests, the advertised pool turned out to be off limits to guests, the people at the counter and front desk did not know how to smile. Asking for anything seemed to annoy these people. I thought they were in the HOSPITALITY business? Oh on a fair note, the food was okay.

Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank hobajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

Ingolstadt
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

The staff was generally very friendly and helpful. The hotel is right next to the Jerusalem Central Bus Station, so the town is easily accessible from there. Jerusalem Jehuda Market and Zion Square are within fair walking distance. The hotel seems to be in a safe area and nothing was stolen from our rooms during our one-week stay.

Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tigeroelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

Jerusalem Gold Hotel is certainly not the four-star hotel that the slick, Internet video and other information on their web site make it out to be. It is in realty a cheap, pilgrim-economy hotel just one step above a youth hostel whose owner has made a great attempt to disguise it as a more quality type of luxury establishment. We found paint chipping off the bathroom door and sparsely-decorated walls (see photos), and there are no amenities in the rooms except a TV and mini refrigerator (no mini bar, nor any pen and paper). There was not even a hair dryer in the bathroom when we checked in to our room, and we had to specially request one from the desk downstairs. Even then, the hair dryer could not be used in the bathroom because the bathroom power outlet is fitted with American voltage, not Israeli voltage (these are typically found in Israeli hotels so the bathrooms can accommodate American electric shavers, but higher-quality hotels also have Israeli-voltage sockets in the bathrooms for running hairdryers). The bathtub/shower does not close completely, having only a fixed half-span of glass commonly found in cheap hotels in Israel which is probably quite good at keeping a hotel’s bottom line in check but which is no good for keeping shower water off the floor, thereby presenting a potentially very dangerous situation in the bathroom (see photo). The towels are thin and raggedy (I had better ones issued to me at army basic training in the 1980s!). But the water is potable, with very good pressure and we never had any lack of hot water.

The room itself was very small and cramped, with broken-down furniture and two, twin-sized beds shoved next to one another to compose a full/queen-sized bed (see photos). In the room was a movement sensor that closed down the room’s power after a short period of time of no detected movement – my wife was in the shower when the power cut out on her. That was very dangerous! The window could be easily opened in our room, which was very nice because we had such comfortable breezes most of the time when we were in Jerusalem then. There was a hot day or two on which we were very relieved to find that the room’s AC worked splendidly. The TV in the room worked fine, and the Wi-Fi Internet connection was always strong and available, although not free of charge. Room service was quick, and the room was cleaned and restocked thoroughly each day for us. The in-room safe was easy to operate and very much appreciated.

The hotel is located on busy Jaffa road directly next to the city’s main bus terminal, but we experienced quiet, restful nights with little–to-no street or other noise. The bus terminal turned out to be quite a blessing because, unlike in/around the old city, everything a tourist needs can be found consolidated in its huge, indoor shopping mall. And, though we found the bus system useless, this hotel is located only about three blocks from Avis and Hertz car-rental offices. We were able to rent a Hertz mid-sized car for about 170 NIS (somewhere around $50 - $60 US) and very easily drive out of Jerusalem from that part of the town for a half-day trip to Masada and the Dead Sea (totally worth it!). The traffic in Jerusalem is scary, so we would have hesitated to rent a car and drive it out of the city center or old city area to see the Dead Sea.

The hotel staff was friendly, but could have been a little more helpful with tourist information. Would we recommend this hotel? No, not for the prices charged. The location is really the only reason to stay at this cheap hotel. So if you’re in a pinch, or if you’re scared to drive in the crazy Jerusalem traffic, but want to rent a car to go see the Dead Sea as easily and economically as possible during your stay, then it will do.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffMurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2010

I was a flight attendant for 41 years. I stayed in hotels all over the world. The food was wonderful at the Jerusalem Gold. The staff treated us like we had know them for a long time. The air conditionion worked well [lots of hotels in the world have problems with cooling the rooms.]Not this hotel. My room was very nice and clean. The bus station is next door and there is a big mall for shopping.We took walks every night and I would never do that in the U.S. YES........ I will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadassah83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2010

This hotel has the friendliest and most helpful staff I have ever encountered ! They all went out of their way to answer all my questions, helped me with directions, ordering cabs, special needs when a friend didn't feel well, and wow the food was delicious. It was a great base from which to explore Jerusalem. Thank you to the owner and staff for making my stay so memorable, I felt like I was saying goodbye to family when I left. Would definitely love to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2010Angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

I stayed at this hotel with two colleagues for business and found it to be very centrally located to all of Jerusalem. It is located right next to the Central Bus Station where you can get any supply you might need or have forgotten. Taxis are readily available outside the hotel. Plenty of coffee shops and stores close by, including money exchange. We arrived on Friday, just before sundown and since everything was going to be shut down for Sabbath, it was nice to be able to eat dinner at the hotel. Ariela, the manager, and Tarik, the (day) front desk attendant, were fantastic our entire stay! Always willing to provide us with directions, help us with Internet access, arrange shuttles, or provide us tea/water after a long day out.

The posted pictures of this hotel are accurate for size and decor. I was a single person in the room and it was plenty spacious. The hotel is a little older but for the price, it is an excellent value and the staff really set it apart.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cchumney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Jerusalem Gate Hotel
#79 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Givat Ram
Prima Park Hotel Jerusalem
Prima Park Hotel Jerusalem
#29 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Prima Palace
#42 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Caesar Premier Jerusalem
#6 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerusalem Gold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerusalem Gold Hotel

Property: Jerusalem Gold Hotel
Address: 234 Jaffa, Jerusalem 9438316, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Rommema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jerusalem Gold Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerusalem Gold Hotel has excellent location, right next to Jerusalem central bus station, which is guarded by security men & street cams 24 /7. It has an easy access to city tram that enables fast trip to the Old City of Jerusalem, Ein Karem, Yad Vashem Holocaust Memorial, Mount Herzl and other main city sights; the hotel is within walking distance from Israel Museum, Knesset - Israeli Parliament and several shopping malls. It has recently undergone full renovations and accredited as a 4 star hotel. Looking forward to welcome you at our hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jerusalem Gold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing