We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value, Good Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Little House in Bakah
Ranked #33 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Value, Good Staff”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This was a short trip with my 18 year old daughter, and we had a lovely time. A friend recommended A Little House in Bakah to us, for which we are grateful. I hope to come back to Jerusalem with my wife, and would love to stay here again. Staff was friendly, helpful, and even offered a switch us to a much less expensive room when they saw that we had booked a much larger suite than we needed. That saved us almost 1/2 on our room price.
It was nice to stay in a place with character, in a pleasant neighborhood. Only about 1/2 mile to the German Colony, another nice area for shopping and dining.
If you enjoy walking you can reach the Kotel in a little over 1/2 hour. Most of Jerusalem's most popular places to visit we're less than 30 - 40 minute walk, or a very short taxi ride.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodstockRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdedNiv, Manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Hi Roger! We were very happy to host you and your daughter, and even happier to see that we could adjust your reservation to your needs. It is always wonderful to see guests enjoying our beautiful neighborhood, and we hope you will indeed come back with the rest of the family - we would love to meet them too!
-Adva Tal-Or Emori, Reception Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    147
    48
    21
    16
See reviews for
119
103
74
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I had an amazing few days at this hotel, the staff went above and beyond to make my stay a comfortable one, and the rooms exceeded my expectations. I will come back, again and again! A special thanks to Mr white srugim :) / Ms Rothstein

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdedNiv, Manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you, Annika, for taking the time and reviewing us! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and of course we will await your return :-)
- Adva Tal-Or Emori, Reception Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Windsor, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were visiting Jerusalem for a few days with our daughter who is spending a year in Israel. We stayed in a family room. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful. We brought in a Shabbat Dinner and we had hot plates for warming and thus had a very enjoyable dinner with a few of her friends. That room is under renovation and even with that it was very comfortable and enjoyable. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcb60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdedNiv, Manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Shalom Jerri, and thank you for taking the time to review us :-) It was a pleasure to have you and your family in our hotel, and we hope to see again when you come to visit your daughter.
- Adva Tal-Or Emori, Reception Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My stay at A Little House in Bakah was the best decision I made concerning my first time in Israel. I really had the time of my life this January 2014. The hotel is in a great location, minutes away from awesome restaurants, shopping and great sights. The staff is extremely helpful, very knowledgeable and ALWAYS going beyond to assist in every which way possible. It is so refreshing to have such a friendly staff such as Avi, Abigail, Adva and the rest on board to help at all times. I not only had a wonderful time but I recommend this hotel over and over again on every level, cost, availability, comfort, warmth and assistance. Because of their pleasant treatment, I have fallen in love with Israel that I plan to go every year. Did I mention the free breakfast they provide at Polly's Restaurant is so healthy and so much it fills you up all day. The staff at the restaurant Adam and Mia give exquisite service. They also have incredible tours from the hotel some free and others you have to pay reasonably in and around Israel. There are local buses minutes away from the hotel, taxis available to get you to different destinations. My room was extremely comfortable, I tell you it felt like a home away from home. Thank you very much A Little House in Bakah for a Magnificent and an Astonishing Experience. See you next year, Sincerely Monica

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica01139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdedNiv, Manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Monica, I am grateful for your beautiful words about your stay with us. It was a true pleasure to assist you on your first encounter with Israel, and all of the hotel staff were more that happy to take part in this unique experience. I hope you will indeed be able ot return for another visit shortly, because there is still so much more to see!
- Adva Tal-Or Emori, Reception Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caesarea, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed at this lovely little hotel for a couple of nights with my wife .
The room was nice , no pampering but had all the things one needs for a pleasant stay.
What i really liked was the family feeling this place has, as soon as you enter you see a sign "welcome home" and that is indeed the feeling you get from the people there.
The reception was always available to our questions and gave excellent advice with a smile.
Somehow they find out it was my birthday and the staff put some balloons, chocolate and wine in my room, that was a nice surprise.
If you are looking for a home away from home this is the place.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and take the regular rooms (not the economy) , it's worth the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdedNiv, Manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Shalom David, and congratulations! We were delighted to take part in your birthday celebrations, and it is wonderful to see that we managed to make the day extra-special :-) We hope to see you again soon.
- Adva Tal-Or Emori, Reception Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ness Ziona, Israel
Level Contributor
174 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Location, room, hospitability are all excellent. This is not an "hotel", is not a large facility - yet it's a cozy quiet little juel in the heart of the very nice old quarter of Bakaa (Geulim). Within 5 to 10 minutes walk to coffee shops and restaurants. An Italian dairy restaurant in the house, where a very nice breakfast is served.

Room Tip: Basic for youngsters, others for adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdedNiv, Manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hello Meir, we are grateful for your kind and detailed review. It is always wonderful to hear that we managed to make your stay a pleasant experience :-) We hope you will visit us again soon!
-Adva Tal-Or Emori, Reception Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The room was clean, tidy, with extra blankets and the required and expected amenities. The bathroom was on the small side.

The WiFi was very good and free, which was a pleasant surprise, with tea and coffee available upstairs.

Overall the hotel and the rooms were what you'd expect for the price but the staff and their flexibility was what made the place stand out - as it was quiet they allowed me to change one of the dates I was staying (last minute), responded to my emails promptly and also allowed me to check out an hour late to accommodate my flight time. When I arrived they were giving plenty of information on buses etc to the person checking in before me providing a very nice map!

They provide a fantastic breakfast in the restaurant next door, the staff were great and the atmosphere lovely.

Location was perfect for me as my friends live in the Bakah /Katamon area and the hotel is situated between two main streets (Emek Refaim - perfect for food!) and Derek Bet Lechem - both of which have regular buses into useful areas of Jerusalem.

For someone looking for good value and basic accommodation with very helpful staff - this is the place to go. I'd stay here everytime.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdedNiv, Manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Shalom Brighde,
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our staff and accommodations! We do our best to be flexible for our guests when needs be, and it is good to know we helped you out :-)
We understand that you were less pleased with your room, since it was an economy room - by definition, it is smaller and situated in a less attractive part of the hotel. We recommend trying our regular single rooms the next time you stop by; we are sure you will enjoy them much more.
-Adva Tal-Or Emori, Reception Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Eden Jerusalem Hotel
#34 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Nachla'ot
Little House In Rechavia
Little House In Rechavia
#46 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#30 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#16 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Shamai Suites
#31 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Little House in Bakah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Little House in Bakah

Property: A Little House in Bakah
Address: 1 Yehuda, Jerusalem 9362723, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#11 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#20 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — A Little House in Bakah 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little House in Bakah - where being small is a big advantage. It has 34 comfortable rooms, is fully air-conditioned and serves a full breakfast. It is a unique, Ottoman style renovated mansion, with arches and columns and beautifully arched windows. The house is surrounded by a large garden that has many inviting corners under beautiful old pine trees. We have free wireless internet access. Little House in Bakah gives you a great opportunity to experience Jerusalem at its best. Free parking can be found on the streets surronding the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your A Little House in Bakah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Little House In Bakah Hotel Jerusalem
a Little Hotel In Bakah
a Little Jerusalem
Little House Bakah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing