We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in pleasant location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A Little House in Bakah
Ranked #23 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in pleasant location”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Located in nice old Arab building, modern rooms, very helpful staff. Really pleasant atmosphere. Coffee and tea always available in lobby. Refrigerators in rooms. Includes very good kosher breakfast in restaurant on premises. Nice residential neighboorhood with shops and restaurants. Convenient to city center and old city. Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weavercs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdedNiv, Manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hello Mr. Weaver! We deeply appreciate your kind review of our Little House and are especially pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the area; Bakah is not in the center of town, but it is indeed a wonderful home-base for exploring Jerusalem. We will be happy to have you over again :-)

Best regards,

Adva Tal-Or Emori \ Reception Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    158
    51
    21
    16
See reviews for
127
106
81
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is a great hotel in Jerusalem for a great price in a pleasant, although not touristy, location.

LOCATION: It is a little far from the Old City (45-60 minute walk or 10 minute drive to Jaffa Gate), but is in a great neighborhood and is a short walk from Emek Refaim (street with good restaurants, etc.), the Haas Promenade, the First Station, and some other sites in West Jerusalem.

ROOMS: The suites are great, with very high ceilings that make them feel even larger. The architecture and design is unique and I enjoyed the ambiance of the place. Most of the rooms are up a long flight of stairs, so it could be difficult for the elderly, handicapped, or for families with children. I was there with my wife and two kids and it was great for us (free breakfast, crib, extra room, etc.), although I did not mind carrying the stroller up the stairs and did not mind that there was no pool. Rooms by Derek Hebron may hear street noise.

FOOD: The breakfast is also great - unlike some other hotels, the menu is a la carte, with eggs, shakshuka, and other breakfast food available.

STAFF: The staff was uniformly helpful.

PERKS: There is free parking on the street that seemed to be readily available. There is also a ~10% discount for guests to go to the Israel Museum. You can leave your luggage there all day for a night flight. There is a pleasant garden patio to the side of the property. Free Wifi. Free coffee, tea, and milk all day (milk was great for the kids).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TsarUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdedNiv, Manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a thorough and complimenting review :)
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to see you again on you next visit to Jerusalem.
Please note that we actually have the exact same rooms on the gorund floor so guests who prefer not to climb stairs can just tell us :)

Avi Haim\ Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Little House in Bakah. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is wonderful. We really like to walk and found the walk to the Old City easy and beautiful. Great restaurants very close and an easy bus ride to any place in Jerusalem. We are anxious to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdedNiv, Manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Shalom Elizabeth, and Thank you! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope you will have many more opportunities to visit our lovely neighborhood in the future :-)

Best wishes and see you soon (we hope),

Adva Tal-Or Emori \ Reception Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is a wonderful hotel to use as a home while exploring all of what Jerusalem has to offer. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and well-maintained. The staff is uniformly friendly and helpful. The ample and delicious breakfast will keep you going a good part of the day. Good wireless service will help you stay connected while there.
The location is great -- just outside the German Colony with its fantastic selection of restaurants and shops. A pleasant short walk along Derech BethLechem will bring you there. It isn't a very long walk to the Old City, either, or you can easily take a bus -- many bus lines run down Derech Jericho right by the hotel, and the staff is always available to help you learn Jerusalem's very handy bus system. One other special feature of the location is its proximity (only a 10 minute walk) to the Promenade, a wonderful green space from which you can have a truly amazing view of the Old City.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterSaulson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdedNiv, Manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Shalom Peter! First of all, thank you so much for your kind review; it is always a pleasure to hear that we managed to make your stay in Jerusalem even more memorable. Also, we are happy to see that you enjoyed our beautiful neighborhood - Bakah is a true hidden gem of the city, and we hope you will return to explore it a bit more :-)

Best regards,

Adva Tal-Or Emori \ Reception Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed for four nights and were very satisfied with the hotel itself, the location, and especially the staff, who were all very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and spacious (ours had a balcony) and the breakfast included in the room rate was made-to-order (not from a buffet). The hotel is in a quiet residential neighborhood with a great variety of restaurants and cafes within walking distance; the Old City is about a 20 minute walk away. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattosan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdedNiv, Manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hi Matthew, and thank you for such a wonderful review! We are delighted that your stay was so pleasant, and we hope to see you again soon :-)

Best wishes and a big "Toda Raba",

Adva Tal-Or Emori \ Reception Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Loved the location of this little hotel. The room was quite spacious with a high ceiling. The bathroom was small and the bathroom was clean. Soap bars made from some weird material - did not really feel like soap.
TV had basically one channel working and the remote did not work at all.
The Italian restaurant, "Polly" had a fairly decent breakfast. The best part was the shakshuka - only available if you come early enough.
There is a nice garden at the back - kind of hidden, but worth sitting in if you have the time.
The price was right and choices were limited for accommodations - so this was the best choice when time was of the essence...

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the garden - which is quiet and quite pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatARB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdedNiv, Manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are happy you enjoyed many of our features and took the time to write it down :)
Reagarding the T.V, We offer our guests a wide selection with dozens of channles.
I am sorry that it was not brought to our attention while you stayed with us as
it could have been easily resolved by our 24/7 reception staff. (change of remote, bateeries, etc.)
We do hope you will come back and next time you can enjoy the T.V as well :)

Avi Haim \ Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This was my second stay . The location is convenient to major shopping areas and the old city by foot or bus .
The hotel is rather shabby but clean . Our television remote didn't work . The room was dark and gloomy .
I stayed over Passover . The breakfast was uninspired but adequate .
Not my favourite hotel in Jerusalem but in a pinch it will do .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leaffan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdedNiv, Manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you took the time to write a review :)
This is important for us as we always strive to improve.
As much as we try we understand that sometimes problems may occur and so urge our guests to notify us. We are sorry you did not bring the remote problem to our attention as the solution is very simple (change of batteries,remote etc.)
Regarding the breakfast, indeed during the Passover holiday when Bread is forbidden breakfast may not be at the same standard.
We do hope to see you again and hope we can provide you with a better experience,
Avi Haim \Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Eden Jerusalem Hotel
#33 of 99 in Jerusalem
466 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#29 of 99 in Jerusalem
596 reviews
Nachla'ot
Little House In Rechavia
Little House In Rechavia
#48 of 99 in Jerusalem
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nachla'ot
Montefiore Hotel
Montefiore Hotel
#27 of 99 in Jerusalem
453 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#18 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Little House in Bakah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Little House in Bakah

Property: A Little House in Bakah
Address: 1 Yehuda, Jerusalem 9362723, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#11 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#20 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — A Little House in Bakah 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little House in Bakah - where being small is a big advantage. It has 34 comfortable rooms, is fully air-conditioned and serves a full breakfast. It is a unique, Ottoman style renovated mansion, with arches and columns and beautifully arched windows. The house is surrounded by a large garden that has many inviting corners under beautiful old pine trees. We have free wireless internet access. Little House in Bakah gives you a great opportunity to experience Jerusalem at its best. Free parking can be found on the streets surronding the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your A Little House in Bakah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Little House In Bakah Hotel Jerusalem
a Little Hotel In Bakah
a Little Jerusalem
Little House Bakah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing