We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is all I ever wanted in an hotel; AFFORDABLE, GREAT SERVICE, CLEAN, NICE BREAKFAST, GOOD LOCATION"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alcazar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alcazar Hotel
Ranked #78 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Irving, Texas
1 review
“Is all I ever wanted in an hotel; AFFORDABLE, GREAT SERVICE, CLEAN, NICE BREAKFAST, GOOD LOCATION"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

It was perfect for me... one of the least expensive hotels in town, the breakfast was good and offered many choices and good quality, you can walk to most attractions, I felt the neighborhood as sufficiently safe and I had no problems walking around very very late at night, and the service is outstanding (I arrived late, with a rental car that I was told in Haifa I could only return to the airport or they would impose a drop off fee, and I didn't know exactly how I was going to get to Cairo from Jerusalem... no problem... Nadir made calls, asked me for my credit card, made bus reservations to Eilat which is in the border with Egypt and told me how to proceed... they sure make you feel like you are their long lost son the way they treat you... outstanding!!)... will stay here again when I come back to Jerusalem!!... only minor problems that I encountered were that the hotel was really difficult to find, even with directions from Mapquest and we are seasoned travelers accustomed to find out of the way places in all sort of international locations, and there was only street parking available, which was free but difficult to find and difficult to park, but doable.... great hotel experience!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joechile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    52
    25
    14
    13
See reviews for
20
55
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
249 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

The staff were wonderful at this hotel and my room was spacious and comfortable but shabby. I am very pleased I stayed in East Jerusalem and would happily stay here again, though I don't think I would recommend the hotel to friends.
You are treated like a respected guest at this hotel which has its up side and a little down side too. When I was there there was a big group staying so the rest of the guests were expected to wait for their breakfast so the big group could have theirs'. This was understandable but still I had to rearrange my day on three of the mornings I was there because of a late start. I could have had breakfast elsewhere of course but the hotel does a very good breakfast

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

Jerusalem is probably the most interesting city in the world - history, current situation, the atmosphere .... architecture - each building has its history and a tourist there must think the entire span centuries, sometimes in thousands of years

Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank OndrejC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

Although it is difficult to locate the hotel (if you are travelling alone) but once you enter the door you will be greeted with one of the finest staff you can ever meet. The best part was that they could even speak (bits & parts) of Gujarati (one of the regional languages in India). The food is also very good & very tasty. The rooms although looks little gloomy are very comfortable to stay in. The bathrooms are also nice & big (but didn't understand the idea of having a wardrobe inside the bathroom). The proximity to the old city & Mount of Olives is also very short. Also the WiFi is also free of charge and has a very good speed.
All in all I can say is that the 4 days spent here were really very nice & comfortable.
Kudos to the Staff.... (especially Mr. Yusuf)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qusais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

A warm welcome, full of arabic kindness from the hotel members. They always have kind words and good advises for you. Breakfast are amazing, as well as the complementary soup offered each evening.
Alcazar hotel is well situated, 10 minutes from the Lion, Damascus and/or New gates of the old city. It is also closed (about 15-20 minutes) to the Olive mount and its amazing view on the Haram al Sharim (Temple mount in english) and the remainder city.
I warmly recomand this place for a pleasant stay and nice visit of the Old City of Jerusalem.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois_Konshelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

The Alcazar hotel do not look much when you first arrive. No parking, old front, but them you enter on it, look nice all gold and red. The people that help you on the front desk are really nice.
As soon that me and my fiancé arrive they did offers you a juice and a coffee.
The room is ok, the bed is not really comfortable but is not bad, it look like an orthopedic bad. It is a little too hard for my taste. But I did wake up with no back pain or nothing so I guess is good.
There is no air conditioning and for a city that is really hot the fan was not really much, for me this is the biggest problem at the hotel.
Over all is a cozy place and is good. If they had a Air conditioning would be great…

Recommended...

Bacal

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leandrobacal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
166 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

If you're traveling on a tight budget, this hotel might be a good choice. If you can stretch it a bit to stay in the new city you'll be much better off.
Location: The hotel is located in East Jerusalem, the Arab section of the city. It's characterized by noisy mosques, dirty streets, sidewalks occupied by inconsiderate drivers' cars, and store owners intent on ripping you off (no price tags at all). Forget about restaurants in the area. The nearest Old City Gate is to enter the Muslim quarter.
Facilities: The lobby and reception look old and in need of maintenance. The rooms look REALLY old and REALLY dirty. You wouldn't want to walk barefoot on those filthy carpets. The toilets are also very old and the hot water takes a while to come out. The rooms are also extremely noisy (AC equipment) and the heating was too noisy and hard to control.
Breakfast: There's a buffet with most Arab staples, freshly cooked every morning. So if you like to indulge in a little Middle Eastern banquet every morning this is the right place. There are coffee making facilities, bottled water and the occasional evening soup complimentary for guests. That's a plus.
Staff: Members of staff are accommodating, attentive, and helpful, with airport transport, for example. One person in particular would always try to engage you in conversation about international politics, which is a delicate topic. He would also be concerned with his praying instead of helping customers/guests at times.
Next time I'll try a different place, more centrally located, cleaner, and more pleasant to sleep in.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeoDiCecco_BA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Eden Jerusalem Hotel
#32 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Zion Hotel
#72 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#74 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#31 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Palatin Hotel
#58 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Nachla'ot
Little House In Rechavia
Little House In Rechavia
#47 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcazar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcazar Hotel

Property: Alcazar Hotel
Address: 6 El-Mutanabi | Wadi El Joz, Jerusalem 9790706, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcazar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable family run hotel, located with easy walking distance to the Old City of Jerusalem. 10 minutes walking to Herod's Gate and 15 minutes walking to Damascus Gate. Simple, clean accommodation, family atmosphere. 10 minutes walking to Lerner Sports compound located in the French Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alcazar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcazar Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing