We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“fantastic 10 out ten russell from australia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alcazar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alcazar Hotel
Ranked #77 of 96 Hotels in Jerusalem
australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic 10 out ten russell from australia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2009

great hospitality the manager nader was very kind as were all the staff i would highly recommend the alcazar to any traveller.clean and quiet just what you need after roaming the streets of Jerusalem all day and very close to old city

Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank adventure333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    52
    25
    14
    13
See reviews for
20
55
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

This must be the best value for money hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff makes you really feel at home and go out of their way to take care of you. Ad hoc helpfulness included: offering to drop me off at a nearby restaurant, picking us up when we couldn't immediately find the hotel and digging into information for public transport on a public holiday.

The hotel has a convenient location: walking distance to the Old City, easy trips to Aman, Jordan and other high profiles cities including the Dead Sea and the West Bank.

Rooms are basic but very clean.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Israel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2009

I wasn't sure what to expect from this place since there were so few reviews on the net, but it was a FANTASTIC deal for the price of the room. Yousef, who works there (what seems like 24-7) was a SUPER friendly guy, always asking us if we wanted tea or coffee (no charge) when we came in & would sit down and chat with us regularly. We stayed there for 2 nights and although the rooms aren't huge, they're fantastic value (all en-suite), including a few satellite TV channels (although only BBC was in English). The hotel was about a 15 minute walk from Damascus Gate, but that made it a real quiet place & the view from the rooftop is fantastic as well, especially to watch the sunset! Oh, and the breakfasts were decent with toast & jam, eggs however you like them, hummus, pita bread, cucumbers, tomatoes, etc. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel for value, quality, service, hospitality & friendliness!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdunn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Pl
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2009

If you are looking for a nice and safe place in Jerusalem, go for the Alcazar. The people at the hotel are amazing! They are hospitable, warm and very friendly. When we arrived at the hotel too early and our room was not ready, we were offered a delicious lunch on the house. In the evenings we enjoyed mint tea in the lobby and found fresh fruit in the room.
They are professional and helpful, too. The managers gave us great tips on how to get to some places and arranged our transfer to the airport.
The hotel itself is very basic - no frills, but it is clean. Our room had a newly renovated ensuite bathroom and new mattresses. The towels were changed every day.
As the hotel is on the hill, there are beautiful views over the city from some of the rooms and the roof terrace.
Breakfasts served there are generous and tasty.
The Alcazar is located in Eastern Jerusalm. The area is safe - even late in the evening. In the immediate neighbourhood there are some small shops and a mosque. The hotel is 10 - 15 minutes walk from the old town which is not much considering the size of Jerusalem.
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel and hope to come back.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank agnieszkaczy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2009

Only a short walk, 10 minutes, from the Old City. Good value for money. Very friendly staff, good breakfast, clean rooms and sure a hotel to come back again. We enjoyed our stay very much at the Alcazar hotel, we will recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrottertjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

Perfect location, extremely helpful staff !!! The fresh orange juice from the hotel's garden for breakfast is absolutely unique every morning...
I recommend Alcazar for everyone who needs to stay in a friendly, clean hotel on a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatokaBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

it is not the king david. the rooms are basic, but very clean. the hotel has a llot of character and atmosphere. the management is overwhelmingly friendly and helpful. I asked the manager for the best bus up to the mount of olives - he just gave me a ride up. try that at the king david.... do not be worried about the "arab", "palestinian" neighborhood: its safe, and the fruit and veggies in the shops are fresh and cheap. The alcazar ist not your seen-one-seen-em-all-hotels. that´s one of the reasons why I´ll return....

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank willbebacksoon_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Zion Hotel
#70 of 96 in Jerusalem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Eden Jerusalem Hotel
#29 of 96 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Mount of Olives Hotel
#73 of 96 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Christian Quarter
Addar Hotel
Addar Hotel
#83 of 96 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#57 of 96 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
ג 'ראח
Mount Scopus Hotel
Mount Scopus Hotel
#82 of 96 in Jerusalem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcazar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcazar Hotel

Property: Alcazar Hotel
Address: 6 El-Mutanabi | Wadi El Joz, Jerusalem 9790706, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 96 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcazar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable family run hotel, located with easy walking distance to the Old City of Jerusalem. 10 minutes walking to Herod's Gate and 15 minutes walking to Damascus Gate. Simple, clean accommodation, family atmosphere. 10 minutes walking to Lerner Sports compound located in the French Hill. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alcazar Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing