We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There are nicer hotels in Jerusalem.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #44 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There are nicer hotels in Jerusalem.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Ambassador is expensive, no value for money, very few room amenities and poor service, garden parties with loud music are held with no information in advance to the guests - there are nicer hotels in Jerusalem.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Randi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    106
    45
    11
    5
See reviews for
34
29
16
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex England
Level Contributor
181 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We travelled on business and stayed here with a small non- tour group. It is a busy hotel away from the main city but within easy (20 minutes) walking distance of the the old city with cash dispensers en route. There are interesting restaurants tucked away nearby if you want to eat away from the hotel. It was clean and staff were helpful and friendly and despite some misgivings in advance, it was a safe walk into the old city. The hotel is "lived in" rather than ultra modern or something special but in this region, it was entirely acceptable and we stayed several nights Breakfast is ok rather than spectacular and other meals are pretty good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellerforpleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

I've stayed at the Ambassador multiple times in the past 2 years, for 2-3 weeks each time. I've noticed improvements each visit-especially with the food and the internet connection - 2 big factors for the business traveller. The tour groups can sometimes be overwhelming, especially at breakfast and dinner times, but they also bring a nice energy to the place that would otherwise be lacking. The rooms are quiet, clean, and pretty spacious. A room with a balcony is a mixed blessing - the views are nice but you might also get stuck listening to a party in the hotel's garden on a weekend night (though they do seem to end relatively early).

The Ambassador's staff are friendly but not overbearing - you can sit in the lobby and not feel smothered, you are rarely (if ever) disturbed in your room, etc. However, if you have a lot of needs while traveling, this might not be the place for you. Special requests (ie, small deviations from the room service menu, making change for large bills, etc) are not always met with enthusiasm, though staff do maintain a high level of friendliness even when telling you "no."

It's a nice hotel and I would definitely book a room there if I were to travel to Jerusalem for non-business purposes.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seale209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed there for a week this month with my group and I loved it. It was clean staff was helpful
the bath rooms rocked wish I could have taken it home with me. My room was clean and had a nice view. I would stay there any time i am in town.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyril e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I spent 10 days here running a workshop in the conference room below the main residential area. In a city as historically rich as Jerusalem one would expect more of an acknowledgment in the decor of Islamic, Judaic or Christian art. But the interiors are stark and functional broken occasionally by Bedouin mirrors and painted tiles. The main lobby resembles more an airport lounge with huge volumes of tourists arriving in coachloads, then grabbing all available seats and sofas. The rooms are monastic with no views, no comfortable chair for reading, and blistering winter cold blowing under the verandah doors. Fine for an overnight stay, but not more than that. But since the hotel is in the Palestinian part of a divided city, you would be supporting a great cause.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed at the Ambassador Hotel for one night (because the place I normally stay in Jerusalem was overbooked due to some plumbing problems). It's a nice hotel - nicely decorated, very clean, very comfortable. The bed was comfortable, so no real issues with the room at all.

Warning however to independent travelers - the hotel tends to be full of tour groups. They only had one table set up for independent travelers at breakfast. The hotel advertises themselves as being walkable to the old city - but it's not, at least very easily. There are no other restaurants and other services close by (the front desk couldn't even give me a recommendation for a restaurant other than the hotel restaurant - I found one anyway, but it wasn't very easy to do so). Personally, unless you're booked here as part of a tour group, I'd go elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redanteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

If you like filthy carpets and carelessly cleaned rooms this is for you. Breakfeast is a nightmare as the restaurant is jammed with masses of people. Coffee resembles dishwashing water and the two waiters are helpless serving 100 guests at the same time. Single business travellers are lost here. The hotel is a good two star place at the price of a 5 star Hotel. No value for money.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#54 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#15 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Grand Court Hotel
#36 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#56 of 97 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: Nablus Road | Sheikh Jarrah, Jerusalem 19186, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#34 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing