We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, pleasant hotel”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #43 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Friendly, pleasant hotel”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I had a pleasant, spacious room with a balcony, decent bathroom and good wifi. The staff is friendly, helpful and more attentive than in some posher hotels in the area. Location is quite central to E. Jerusalem, near the old town walls. It's also safe to walk around at night (take your ID).
The room was really cold but apparently this could have been fixed - note to self - ask next time!
Breakfast is fine - not sumptuous but adequate and some nice local food.

The one downside is the lack of any coffee/tea making in the bedroom. It's pretty standard, these days.

Room Tip: There are big rooms so if you're offered a smaller one, ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clownface10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Najah R, Reservation Department at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
We thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled to read that we were able to exceed your expectations. We have reviewed your comments and have taken appropriate action to resolve the A/C issue in the room you occupied . In addition, we are re-evaluating our inspection process to ensure these type of issues do not occur in the future.
We apologize for any inconvenience that was caused and I am delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us.
Above all at the Ambassador Hotel, we pride ourselves on the intimate level of service our guests receive. We thank you for your lovely comments about our team.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to have you again with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    112
    47
    12
    5
See reviews for
36
30
16
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I would recommend anyone to stay there I stayed for 10 nights. The hotel is located in a very safe, friendly area with a lovely culture and atmosphere. The services could have been a bit better but overall the food was lovely and the rooms and facilities were very satisfactory. Very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Najah R, Reservation Department at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Warmest greetings from the Ambassador Hotel,
Thank you indeed for sharing your experience with us and providing us with the feedback. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.
Once again, we thank you for your feedback and hope it will not be too long from now that we again welcome you to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Good location, friendly but limited service, unimaginative food but great free wifi coverage. Small fitness room and a small terrace to enjoy the sun. Twenty minutes walk from the walls of the Old City.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Najah R, Reservation Department at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Thank you for choosing the Ambassador Hotel for your recent stay in Jerusalem. We appreciate you taking the effort to providing feedback, as we view it as integral to improving our services. Your positive comments is sincerely appreciated, which will act as a motivation for our team.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at the Ambassador Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

Rooms vary, can sometimes be too small .. There is not kettle, tea, nor coffee in your room... Neither at the dinner buffet - whoch is acceptable, but the worst of all the hotels thus far .. Though their desert is great.
Dont expect speedy service either, you may hae to call more than once to get something ...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kgbGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Najah R, Reservation Department at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Ambassador Hotel . Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We have passed your comments onto the team and we hope to be of service to you in the future.
Again, thank you for feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

They have very poor service. You cannot get a drinks of water at the hotel after 11pm. They double charged me for the room and then after demanding my refunded, left me short on the credit card transactions fees. The food is sub standard to say the least and service is from very disinterested staff who can be quite rude. I would avoid this location. The area where the hotel is located has had more than its fare share of attacks on women.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rcesite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Najah R, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
We do wish to thank you for bringing this to our attention and we assure you that we have addressed it with all departments and personnel. We have informed our accounting department, to which we are assured that they have taken the necessary steps to remedy this situation and fixed our original error by refunding the credit card transaction fees. On behalf of the Ambassador Hotel, we do hope that this gesture will go some way in apologizing for the problem you reported.
Your feedback is important to us and we will definitely use it to assist us in fine tuning our operation so that this does not reoccur. We were extremely sorry to know that you did not receive our normally high standards of service.
On a different note, we have had about thousands of female visitors and never complained or referred to the issue you mentioned. Besides, our hotel is located in the consulate district in the Sheikh Jarrah neighborhood.
This neighborhood in particular has a unique texture, people of different religions, from all over the world, have set their homes in Sheikh Jarrah as it is safe and thriving of life.
Should you ever come back to Jerusalem, we encourage you to give us another change to be of service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Have been very pleased with my stay at the Ambassador. Very good value for money.

Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are well-equipped, and the attention to detail by housekeeping was commendable. Free wifi was in general ok, but inconsistent.

Enjoyed the half-board package- when I wasn't obliged to eat from the buffet trough with the package tour groups. The buffet breakfast and dinner that they provide to the masses was underwhelming- very bland, and simply not appealing. The food available in the restaurant is very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f200918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Najah R, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Thank you kindly for sharing your experience of the Ambassador Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our spacious, clean rooms, friendly staff and convenient location. We are delighted to hear that the housekeeping department was helpful, we will be sure to share your comments with them.
We apologize that our buffet-style meals were not to your liking. We will pass your comments onto our chef. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed at the Ambassador 4 years ago while looking for an apartment & ended our posting by staying there again. A super friendly hotel with amazing staff & clean comfortable rooms. Our go to place in Jerusalem for sure!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedfreak123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaa S, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Ambassador Hotel. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that we are now your hotel of choice when visiting Jerusalem again.
We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.
We thank you again for your continued patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#34 of 99 in Jerusalem
644 reviews
Eden Jerusalem Hotel
#32 of 99 in Jerusalem
463 reviews
Hillel 11
#41 of 99 in Jerusalem
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center Jerusalem
#28 of 99 in Jerusalem
593 reviews
Eldan Hotel
#26 of 99 in Jerusalem
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: Nablus Road | Sheikh Jarrah, Jerusalem 19186, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#33 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing