We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #45 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Acceptable but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

The hotel is located in Eastern Jerusalem, handy for consulates and embassies, and a good 20 minute walk to Damascus Gate in the Old Town. The hotel is a little grubby and has clearly seen better days but the staff are friendly, particularly those at the breakfast room, who will set up a table outdoors for you on request. The restaurant serving Middle East food was also enjoyable, although the appetizers were so big it wasn't possible to make it as far as the main course! The free wi fi throughout the hotel is another plus point.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S and E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    107
    46
    12
    5
See reviews for
35
29
16
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the ambassador hotel for 3 nights with the family. We booked a triple room on the fourth floor. The hotel is in a quite area 5 min away from the old city by car.
I can't say enough about the hotel the food was good the room was clean the bathroom also, wifi available in the entire hotel, service was excellent the staff are amazing and make you feel as if you are at home.

I would like to specially thank Layal, Raed and Josephine and everybody else, they all were very helpful and so sweet.
I will defiantly go again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

I tend to stay at the ambassador hotel when going to Jerusalem for work. It is well located, close by the main embassies, etc and you meet a lot of international staff at the coffee bar as well. Probably less well located if you are a tourist. Nice rooms, clean and comfortable. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midnight_in_belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed there for one night on a work trip to Jerusalem and the service was very good.

The rooms are big, and you get a complimentary plate with four fruits (which I appreciated greatly. The internet works very well and the restaurant selection is excellent.

The only small disappointment is that the hotel booked a cab for us, and I therefore trusted that he wouldn't rip us off, but he did anyway (around 50 NIS to go to the central bus station!!!).

I would highly recommend this place though!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose_dea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed at the Ambassador for a work trip. I had arranged for an airport pickup and they even contacted me the day before my trip to reconfirm the details - a nice touch.
The staff were all very friendly, impeccable English and great service. Room service was also very timely and delivered by friendly staff.
I had a room opposite the gym which was fantastic as it was rarely used. My only complaint is that the balcony was covered in dust and the flat roof was being used as a dumping ground for renovation works. I opened the curtains to find a man on the other side of the balcony painting - which didn't make me feel particularly comfortable. But free WIFI with a great connection so only a small complaint.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holby-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights as apart of a pilgrimage to the Holy Land and what a lovely place to stay.The key to maximum enjoyable is to get a room overlooking the City of Jerusalem which is facing south so offers prime views. We were lucky as we were allocated with a balcony which overlooked not just the city but a very pleasant open air lounge area where you could take a drink and read or simply relax enjoying in particular the Dome of the Rock and Al Aksa Mosque. The dining room was flooded with light and although, as usual a buffet offered, it was good, fresh, diverse and frequently replenished. The Staff were friendly and service good. If adventurous enough you can walk down to the old City Walls, the road signs are incomprehensible but just follow your nose and it takes about 10 minutes. For a "tour hotel" this was well above average.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the City for wonderful views and warmy sunny aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

This hotel offers nice rooms with balcony and a nice variety of restaurants.
Great food and very fast speed free wi-fi are the highlights of this hotel.
The general ventilation system operating outside the hotel causes too much noise that can be heard in the room. the noise was constant during my stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelogue88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#54 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#16 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#9 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eldan Hotel
#24 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#31 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Hillel 11
#44 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: Nablus Road | Sheikh Jarrah, Jerusalem 19186, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#34 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing