We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #48 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This was a great quiet location near the Hebrew University, as we had a car. The staff and service were good, despite the extra pressure of Ramadan. The food was good, at breakfast and in the cafe at night, but we avoided the evening buffet for the sake of our waistlines and budget.

The air conditioning was barely functional, which is usually not a problem in Jerusalem, The wifi internet was acceptable. Parking was hard to find if we returned anywhere near the buffet time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

We booked this hotel at a discounted rate and we feel we got value for money. However, I would not have paid the usual price but - then again - hotels in Jerusalem are generally very expensive - it's difficult to find a decent room for under $150 per night. This hotel is located about 20 mins walk from the old town (Damascus Gate). Rooms are clean and comfortable but a bit small. We didn't get a room with a balcony - ask for balcony room with views of city or garden. The buffet breakfast was very good and can be enjoyed overlooking the leafy green, peaceful garden. There is a nice garden with terrace but no pool - which we didn't mind as we spent little time in the hotel. Staff could be a bit friendlier and more helpful. On the day we were checking out I was suffering seafood poisoning (not from this hotel). Note: beware of where you eat seafood while in these parts. Despite the fact that I was obviously ill - the staff didn't even offer me a glass of water! Customer service/care could be better....

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room with views of city/garden
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jennie1980_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We traveled to Israel with a tour group, and made this hotel our home for 4 nights. Our room's air conditioning was not operating the first night, so we asked to be moved to a different room. The hotel did not want to at first, but I politely insisted and they agreed. Our luggage had been moved to a new room when we returned from our tour the next day. Second room was not as big, but had air conditioning! Some rooms require you to put your room key in a slot when in the room to keep the electricity AND the air conditioning on. If you pull it out when you leave, you lose air conditioning. Fold up an envelope provided with the stationery and stick it in the slot, and you will keep the AC on all day. Because we were a tour group, we did not have a choice of food for dinner. It was served to us via waiter. It was good food! There was a breakfast buffet where you could choose what you wanted from the buffet. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not require a room key to keep the electricity on in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidWB95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was our host hotel while touring Jerusalem. We have stayed here before and we like the location and generally like the hotel. However, there were only two tour groups here while our group was there and they ran out of food the first night we ate in the dining room. I had the misfortune of being last served of both groups( they brought the plate of food to you via waiters) and I had one small piece of meat while everyone else had heaping plates of food. I complained and was told it was Ramadan and cook had gone home early and they had run out of meat( beef)!!Really? Waiter then went and brought me lamb they had made to eat that night for Ramadan( I don't eat lamb) so I did not eat that night.Spouse talked to manager the next day about what had occurred and manager apologized and said he would make sure that did not happen again. The rest of the meals were great and I had no issues after that first night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AttyVette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Did not stay at hotel but came across the beautifully spacious garden area behind the hotel which is host to an expansive Bedouin tent. Go for coffee or dinner, Nargilla or not, romance or business, either way it is an serene, beautiful and comfy setting away from the city tensions.
We went for coffee and a few appetizers, and lounged for quite a long time talking with friends.
One table had business men, another table with pleasant young people smoking nargilla.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank uncgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We requested a double room and got put in a tiny twin room on 2nd floor with very narrow beds and no fridge. They said they would change it in the morning as we had arrived at night. Initially we found they had put us in a 1st floor tiny twin room ( having been out all day) and then they tried to give us a double room on the same floor with no fridge again and very noisy next to a lift! Finally we were given a nice 3rd floor double room with working fridge but it took alot of getting. Staff appeared initially not to understand the meaning of 'double bed!For a 4 star hotel, floors 1 &2 are not up to standard at all! Rooms on the higher floors appeared nice as other members of our group were staying in a range of rooms.

Room Tip: Do not stay on floors 1 or 2 as the rooms are awful! Stay on 3rd floor or higher as the rooms are mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Stayed several days with a small tour group. Can't say enough about the staff - one night we missed dinner, because of an accident. Returning quite late, we were surprised to find a huge & delicious meal prepared us. Food was quite good & staff very accomodating. Most impressive was the cleaning staff on our floor. Horrified to discover that one day we left our room safe not only unlocked, but wide open. Nothing was disturbed or missing & the room had been cleaned. So relieved and thankful for the honesty of the staff. The rooms were very clean & well stocked.
Some minor inconveniences - couldn't quite get the room temp to our liking, but the wonderful staff more than made up for it.
Little bit of a walk to the Old City, but very doable. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mistykit2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#57 of 100 in Jerusalem
211 reviews
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#32 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,208 reviews
American Colony
Grand Park Hotel Jerusalem
Grand Park Hotel Jerusalem
#66 of 100 in Jerusalem
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#62 of 100 in Jerusalem
130 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#41 of 100 in Jerusalem
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 5 Nablus Road | Sheikh Jarrah, Jerusalem 19186, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#33 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: £77 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing