We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #48 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Raleigh,NC
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed five nights at the Ambassador Hotel in late September, and we were very pleased. Our room was very nice and spacious, and we had a balcony overlooking the city. We had free wireless in our room, and we were happy with its speed and reliability.

The breakfast and dinner buffets were very good, and we also had a special lunch and two dinners in the restaurant that were excellent. We enjoyed one evening at the Bedouin tent in the courtyard.

If you need snacks or soft drinks in your room, there is a little convenience store a short walk from the hotel that carries anything you might want!

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliespr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    113
    48
    14
    5
See reviews for
38
32
16
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I did not think that the hotel was very centrally located. It was in a quiet residential area although the hotel could be very lively with weddings, plus many tourist groups. The rooms were adequate. The staff at the desk was not very helpful, but the restaurant staff and management were extremely accommodating and warm.. The tiny pancakes for breakfast were very good when available. And we had excellent salmon one evening. At our final dinner there we were served a makluba, or upside-down rice--a special presentation and finale to our stay in Jerusalem.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 29doro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great hotel within walking distance of the old city and lively Salah ed-Din street. Rooms are comfortable with good views over Jerusalem and hotel restaurants offer a varied selection of authentic Palestinian and Israeli dishes. Fridays play host to BBQ night which will not disappoint.

Room Tip: Higher up gives impressive views of the old city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdavies0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This was a great quiet location near the Hebrew University, as we had a car. The staff and service were good, despite the extra pressure of Ramadan. The food was good, at breakfast and in the cafe at night, but we avoided the evening buffet for the sake of our waistlines and budget.

The air conditioning was barely functional, which is usually not a problem in Jerusalem, The wifi internet was acceptable. Parking was hard to find if we returned anywhere near the buffet time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We booked this hotel at a discounted rate and we feel we got value for money. However, I would not have paid the usual price but - then again - hotels in Jerusalem are generally very expensive - it's difficult to find a decent room for under $150 per night. This hotel is located about 20 mins walk from the old town (Damascus Gate). Rooms are clean and comfortable but a bit small. We didn't get a room with a balcony - ask for balcony room with views of city or garden. The buffet breakfast was very good and can be enjoyed overlooking the leafy green, peaceful garden. There is a nice garden with terrace but no pool - which we didn't mind as we spent little time in the hotel. Staff could be a bit friendlier and more helpful. On the day we were checking out I was suffering seafood poisoning (not from this hotel). Note: beware of where you eat seafood while in these parts. Despite the fact that I was obviously ill - the staff didn't even offer me a glass of water! Customer service/care could be better....

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room with views of city/garden
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie1980_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We traveled to Israel with a tour group, and made this hotel our home for 4 nights. Our room's air conditioning was not operating the first night, so we asked to be moved to a different room. The hotel did not want to at first, but I politely insisted and they agreed. Our luggage had been moved to a new room when we returned from our tour the next day. Second room was not as big, but had air conditioning! Some rooms require you to put your room key in a slot when in the room to keep the electricity AND the air conditioning on. If you pull it out when you leave, you lose air conditioning. Fold up an envelope provided with the stationery and stick it in the slot, and you will keep the AC on all day. Because we were a tour group, we did not have a choice of food for dinner. It was served to us via waiter. It was good food! There was a breakfast buffet where you could choose what you wanted from the buffet. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not require a room key to keep the electricity on in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidWB95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was our host hotel while touring Jerusalem. We have stayed here before and we like the location and generally like the hotel. However, there were only two tour groups here while our group was there and they ran out of food the first night we ate in the dining room. I had the misfortune of being last served of both groups( they brought the plate of food to you via waiters) and I had one small piece of meat while everyone else had heaping plates of food. I complained and was told it was Ramadan and cook had gone home early and they had run out of meat( beef)!!Really? Waiter then went and brought me lamb they had made to eat that night for Ramadan( I don't eat lamb) so I did not eat that night.Spouse talked to manager the next day about what had occurred and manager apologized and said he would make sure that did not happen again. The rest of the meals were great and I had no issues after that first night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AttyVette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#34 of 99 in Jerusalem
648 reviews
Eden Jerusalem Hotel
#33 of 99 in Jerusalem
466 reviews
Hillel 11
#41 of 99 in Jerusalem
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nachla'ot
Montefiore Hotel
Montefiore Hotel
#26 of 99 in Jerusalem
453 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#31 of 99 in Jerusalem
595 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#17 of 99 in Jerusalem
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: Nablus Road | Sheikh Jarrah, Jerusalem 19186, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#34 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing