We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for the Terrace Eat out and friendly staff!!”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #50 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Another short stay, but the hotel was really lovely. The highlight is the Terrace Restaurant, the cold breeze in the evening makes it worth the while. The view from the terrace at sunset is totally worth it. So grab beer or a glass or wine and enjoy yourself.

Some of the rooms on the ground floor were tiny, but ask for rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floor they are bigger. And do put in a request for twin beds as most of the rooms have a double bed. The staff is really helpful, we actually had a injured friend, and they were very considerate and help us out the best way they could. So totally worth the stay.

And as far as accessibility is concerned, its a 7 - 10 min walk to the tram, from where you can head to the Jaffa or elsewhere.

Room Tip: Again choose rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floor if you prefer bigger ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deeceego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Nice hotel- Nice views and nice people. You can take a local bus home for 5 nl- all busses going from the local bus station is stopping here. The breakfast was not amazing- but okay. Very friendly place-

Room Tip: You should take one with a view-
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casamona-Real-Estate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed five nights in this hotel with a group. The room with balcony was spacious and well appointed. The decor was attractive and well maintained and the limestone bathroom was beautiful. There were tables and chairs near the lobby and outside which meant that others in the group could hook up with the others and have a drink without making formal arrangements. The hotel was a 20 minute walk to the old city or it is easy to catch the light rail 5 minutes away by buying a ticket on the stop;7 sheckles for as far as you want to go on a single trip. It can take you right up to the market whichis highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cactusflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were on an organised trip and stayed for 7 nights.
Initial impression was not good as my room was not ready and I had had a long day and it was nearly 6pm. After I was sent to my room I haste wrong key and so tired and weary I went and hAd this rectified. After a rest and a hot shower which was very nice I went down for dinner. Very nice.
On returning to my room and on closed inspection the en- suite was dusty and then I noter some black ants.".........and that on he fourth floor.
Any way despite this had a great nights sleep and breakfast was good.
The above sort of coloured my first impressions but as the days went by none of the problems recurred another ants just went away.
All in all a great stay with helpful and friendly staff and high standards of food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gastodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Ambassador is in a quiet area of Jerusalem not far from the old city and near to a tram stop. The hotel is quite modern and all areas clean and good quality. Rooms are quite large and comfortable but did not have the most efficient air conditioning, some have balconies with views of city, The hotel has a mix of Holy Land tour groups and business people. Food for groups is buffet style and offers plenty of choice at breakfast and dinner. There is a pleasant terrace area for relaxing in the evening.
The Hotel is well run and efficient and provides a good base for touring around Jerusalem.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDB51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I have stayed in 3 different hotels in Jerusalem. The Ambassador is my favorite. The rooms are quite large. Very clean. Lots of choices for breakfast. Helpful, friendly staff. Location is in a residential area, but not too far from Old City. Great place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4duffys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. We soon realised that the focus of this hotel is on tour groups. Because of this the small public areas could be crowded and noisy. Breakfast was fair, service poor. Many people helping themselves to hot water etc rather than wait. Again busy due to volume of people at set times. We ate in the small restaurant in the evening which was a better experience. Food was good with generous portions. Our room was very basic and fairly clean. Bed not comfortable as needed new mattress. We found the hotel a bit too far out fir us although the tram was a short walk and easy to use. The hotel needs updating. We would not return to this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank midlandtraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Legacy Hotel
#56 of 101 in Jerusalem
200 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#42 of 101 in Jerusalem
694 reviews
Golden Walls Hotel
#49 of 101 in Jerusalem
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#59 of 101 in Jerusalem
200 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#62 of 101 in Jerusalem
129 reviews
Jerusalem Gardens Hotel & Spa
#45 of 101 in Jerusalem
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: Nablus Road | Sheikh Jarrah, Jerusalem 19186, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#33 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: £90 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing