We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #46 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Whidbey Island, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Our tour group stayed here for 4 nights at the end of our Israel tour. The staff was very friendly and helpful and took very good care of us. It was not too far from Old Jerusalem but to my estimation not walking distance. My single room was moderate size but I looked out on an alley so had no view. Bed was very comfortable but the only chair was the desk chair which was not comfortable. Most people in our group were very happy with the food served in the shared dinning room, but it seemed to me that everything had the same spice flavor
and middle eastern flair. Food was plentiful. We were served a delicious farewell dinner our last night and it was served in their private dinning room and quite enjoyable.

Room Tip: Most of our group had double rooms which were large and had much better views than my single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    113
    48
    14
    5
See reviews for
38
32
16
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel is a twenty minute walk from the old city. Trams too are easily available. Though not in the heart of the city, it's a quiet place to stay in. The rooms are well kept and neat... the housekeeping does a great job.The breakfast spread is adequate and nice. The coffee shop adjoining the lobby serves a variety of interesting pastries and the restaurant with its friendly staff serves a fair selection of meals and the portions are quite generous. The terrace area overlooking the old city is a wonderful area to sit and relax in.

Room Tip: The standard room tends to a bit small. The superior room is more spacious. Ask for one facing the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Another short stay, but the hotel was really lovely. The highlight is the Terrace Restaurant, the cold breeze in the evening makes it worth the while. The view from the terrace at sunset is totally worth it. So grab beer or a glass or wine and enjoy yourself.

Some of the rooms on the ground floor were tiny, but ask for rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floor they are bigger. And do put in a request for twin beds as most of the rooms have a double bed. The staff is really helpful, we actually had a injured friend, and they were very considerate and help us out the best way they could. So totally worth the stay.

And as far as accessibility is concerned, its a 7 - 10 min walk to the tram, from where you can head to the Jaffa or elsewhere.

Room Tip: Again choose rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floor if you prefer bigger ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deeceego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Nice hotel- Nice views and nice people. You can take a local bus home for 5 nl- all busses going from the local bus station is stopping here. The breakfast was not amazing- but okay. Very friendly place-

Room Tip: You should take one with a view-
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casamona-Real-Estate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed five nights in this hotel with a group. The room with balcony was spacious and well appointed. The decor was attractive and well maintained and the limestone bathroom was beautiful. There were tables and chairs near the lobby and outside which meant that others in the group could hook up with the others and have a drink without making formal arrangements. The hotel was a 20 minute walk to the old city or it is easy to catch the light rail 5 minutes away by buying a ticket on the stop;7 sheckles for as far as you want to go on a single trip. It can take you right up to the market whichis highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cactusflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were on an organised trip and stayed for 7 nights.
Initial impression was not good as my room was not ready and I had had a long day and it was nearly 6pm. After I was sent to my room I haste wrong key and so tired and weary I went and hAd this rectified. After a rest and a hot shower which was very nice I went down for dinner. Very nice.
On returning to my room and on closed inspection the en- suite was dusty and then I noter some black ants.".........and that on he fourth floor.
Any way despite this had a great nights sleep and breakfast was good.
The above sort of coloured my first impressions but as the days went by none of the problems recurred another ants just went away.
All in all a great stay with helpful and friendly staff and high standards of food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gastodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Ambassador is in a quiet area of Jerusalem not far from the old city and near to a tram stop. The hotel is quite modern and all areas clean and good quality. Rooms are quite large and comfortable but did not have the most efficient air conditioning, some have balconies with views of city, The hotel has a mix of Holy Land tour groups and business people. Food for groups is buffet style and offers plenty of choice at breakfast and dinner. There is a pleasant terrace area for relaxing in the evening.
The Hotel is well run and efficient and provides a good base for touring around Jerusalem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDB51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#34 of 99 in Jerusalem
648 reviews
Eden Jerusalem Hotel
#33 of 99 in Jerusalem
466 reviews
Hillel 11
#41 of 99 in Jerusalem
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nachla'ot
Montefiore Hotel
Montefiore Hotel
#23 of 99 in Jerusalem
453 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#29 of 99 in Jerusalem
595 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#16 of 99 in Jerusalem
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: Nablus Road | Sheikh Jarrah, Jerusalem 19186, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#34 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing