We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude service and the room is far from being a 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
David Citadel Hotel
Ranked #11 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Sao Paulo - Brazil
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rude service and the room is far from being a 5 star”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Service at the front desk and concierge: feels like everyone is doing you a favor, far away from being friendly and you don't feel welcome at all.
Room: very simple furniture, under the simple carpet you will find ciment (yes, although the floor looks like covered by an expensive stone, but if you look near the edges of the carpet you will see that these stones cover only part of the floor the rest is ciment), the bed cover had roles on it
Cleaning of the room: huge flaws, the toilet was not totally clean and there was hair on the floor
Sleeping: horrible, we were there during succot when a lot of large families go to Jerusalem, we had the unfortunate to stay in a room where all our neighbors were from the same families with a lot of kids that will go from one room to another, having loud conversations on the corridors at 11:30 PM. Can anyone think about this before? How about leaving a couple on Holidays far away from a huge group?
After paying more than U$ 700 per night we are sure we are not coming back to this hotel. As some other reviews mention the staff doest seems to care much about the guests and well being. I have several other things that happen during our stay to share but I won't even bother for the details. If you want a peaceful and friendly stay go somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank erica_fri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
I truly do regret that you did not experience the superb hospitality we strive to provide and would love the opportunity to restore your faith in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,363
    314
    121
    65
    43
See reviews for
681
396
72
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Prebooked suite via net.
advised midnight arrival.
Flight delayed and arrived Ben Gurion @ 1 AM
taxi to hotel.
Claimed no booking.
Showed confimation and they reluctantly gave a room.
Was not what was booked !!
Upon preparing the bed to hop in my wife suggested I have a look.
Found a pair of panties over a wet spot.

Check bathroom, yup shower was dirty along with towels.

Rang to housekeeping - no answer.

Rang to reception - no answer.

repacked bags and went to reception and had to call for 5 minutes before anyone came.

explained and they said sorry no can fix.

Checked out, and they wouldn't refund. ok, I refused to sign.

Immediately walked around to King David and settled for the rest of the night in a real hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are quite small due to a stupidly oversized bathroom. BE aware they misrepresent their rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Greg s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonatan
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Our family spent a long weekend at the david Citadel. The service was excellent, so was the food and the whole atmosphere at the hotel. We had a very pleasant stay at a special hotel in a special city. The location is central and easy access to the main tourist attractions.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aryeh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
We take every care to provide that extra special atmosphere for holidays, and it’s nice to hear you enjoyed it so much. Shana Tova!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I chose the David Citadel for a special weekend with my wife. We were delighted. We enjoyed the expansive view from the tenth floor looking out over the majestic walls of the Old City. The adjacent Mamilla passageway and shopping arcade provides quick access to Jaffa Gate and the sights of the market. The Western Wall plaza was an easy twenty-minute stroll. The food was elegant and abundant. We especially enjoyed lingering over brunch.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank reuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to post your lovely review. I look forward to welcoming you back for another superb hospitality experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
188 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I stayed in the David Citadel for a week on a business/pleasure trip. The property earns it's five stars with great location, rooms, meals, and amenities. I particularly enjoyed the beautiful architecture, spacious room, and lovely breakfast buffet. The best element, however, is the location just outside the Jaffa Gate. That nestles you nicely between the tourist attractions of the Old City and the great dining/night life options just west of the hotel in the Nahalat Shiv'a neighborhood. The pool/gym were also really nice and useful for passing the time during Sabbath.

Minor gripes include having to pay for Internet service and some concierge issues. I find it insulting to have pay for Internet on top of what DCH already charges for a room and it is annoying to have to call and get a silly code. I'm not Jewish and still need to eat on Friday night -- the concierge was not very helpful and gave us attitude about wanting to go to a tourist-friendly restaurant in East Jerusalem.

Room Tip: If you can get on the executive floor with access to the executive lounge it will make your trip a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keithcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
I’m delighted you took advantage of the many luxuries we have to offer and so enjoyed your stay with us. We make every effort to ensure superb hospitality and are richly rewarded to hear of our success.
I certainly understand your frustration with the Wifi fee Israel luxury hotels charge, but we are considering a significant upgrade to the system. As for the Concierge – I can but apologize, I’ve no doubt this was not intentional; we are more than happy to recommend dining in all parts of the city and do so on a daily basis.
I thank you for your detailed review and hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We have just spent a month in Israel for our daughters wedding. We were so impressed with the quality of service from the front desk to the PR, spa right through to the pool attendants at the David Citadel. Everyone was so willing to please and they were honestly concerned with our comfort and went the extra lenghth to make our stay at the Citadel a wonderful experience. They breakfasts were delicious - there was something to eat for everyone and they were more than willing to make sure we had what you wanted. The coffee and pool side food was also delicious On the day of the wedding the PR Manager Medina Pearl and her personal made us feel like the hotel was our home. They arranged for extra tables and mirrors to be placed in our hotel rooms so we could be comfortable getting dressed and ready for the big event. The front desk staff namely Iris, Aws , Munir helped us continually making sure we settled and "homely".
There were others from all over the world loved their stay at the Citadel.
The hotel was continually being cleaned and it was a pleasure sitting at their sparkling pool overlooking the magnificent old city.
Thanks to all the staff at the. Citadel we had an amazing time and look forward to staying at your hotel again. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbourne52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The location is excellent
When we exhaustedly arrived at 6:30 am after having flown in on a 2:30 am flight from Athens, we were greeted by ibrahim at the front desk. He was absolutely charming and welcoming and made sure to get us some hot, fresh coffee while we were getting checked in. Our room was perfect. We requested two twins(next to each other) as we like sleeping in a king size bed and it was exactly right. The pillows were soft, the bedding was wonderful quality and we sunk right in after a shower and slept till noon.

excellent location
special services

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maria h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
How lovely, I’m delighted you so enjoyed your stay with us. Making our guests feel welcome and comfortable is a priority, so your comments and compliments to Ibrahim are very rewarding. Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#4 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Property: David Citadel Hotel
Address: 7 David ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9410119, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#4 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing