We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even 3 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
David Citadel Hotel
Ranked #13 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel. We paid an exorbitant price for an alcove deluxe room.The first room we rejected as it had a view of the wall of the hotel, the second room had a slightly better outlook, at least we could see further than the other rooms of the hotel.The room was small and felt dingy and the rug was very worn and shabby. The wifi was temperamental and we paid a daily fee. The breakfast was in a room that was so unrelaxing that I felt as if I was sitting in the middle of a highway. The staff were rushing around and looking so harassed but I'm not sure what they were doing- I asked twice for a coffee - it finally came without a spoon or milk. We also witnessed an argument between the staff and a customer and after the dispute was finished the staff started to imitate the lady although we couldn't understand what they were saying it was obvious that they were being very derogatory. This was highly unprofessional. We were told fruit would be delivered to our room when we checked in but we never received it. Skip this seedy hotel, walk 10 minutes up the hill, and experience the warmth and professionalism that makes the King David Hotel so special.

Room Tip: To choose a good room book at the King David Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Desby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

I’m so very sorry we failed to provide our usual superb hospitality. Outstanding service is very important to us and I regret your disappointment; we’d welcome the opportunity to restore your faith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,089)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,504 - 1,510 of 2,089 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2012

I spent 6 nights in a junior suite at the Citadel and had the worst experience of my life. Arriving at night after touring for the day I was met with a heavy perfume that permeated the entire hotel. I asked about this odor at the front desk later that night. My request to see the manager of the hotel was flatly denied. Hanoch at the front desk said he would investigate this and he would have a manager get back to me. In the ensuing 2 days I spoke with Hanoch about never hearing from a manager nor what caused this problem. He said he knows and that's all he can do. I was treated in a unprofessional, disrespectful and inconsiderate manner. As a result of this perfume I developed a severe exacerbation of my asthma and only because I am a physician and have steroids with me was I able to avoid going to the hospital. If I had a choice I would have moved out of the hotel before I checked in but there were no rooms available to accommodate me and my family. My Israeli guide also discussed my complaints with the front desk but had no different response. I was only able to use the hotel for breakfast and a place to sleep.
When I checked out I again asked to speak with the manager of the hotel, Chemi Gur. The Guest Relations, Amira Lauer, was the only person to come talk to me. I explained the situation and expressed my disappointment, anger, disrespectful treatment. She states the perfume is being blown through the ventilating system of the hotel and can't and won't be stopped. Hanoch should have known that. Also as I am checking out their is nothing she can do for me except to apologize. So please beware of the David Citadel Hotel!!!! My experience is they don't care about their client's health and welfare, they are disrespectful and Amira really wishes I had reached her sooner. ???? Not to mention on our arrival the suite had two light bulbs in key locations that didn't work, no tissues in the room and a big hair ball behind the bathroom door by the shower. Was the room clean, I don't know.
I bought a wifi card to use for a week, the connection was so slow websites would need 15+ minutes to load. The front desk was aware that the wifi was not functioning well and told I need to bring the card down to get the charge taken off my bill.
I do know the teaching at The Cornell University School of Hotel Management is, the key to successful hospitality and hotel management is to anticipate your clients needs before they are aware of what they are themselves. This hotel flunks!!!!!!
I've traveled around the world and never, ever been treated so poorly in my life!!!

I STILL DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY THE MANAGER OF THE HOTEL, CHEMI GUR IS SOOO
IMPORTANT HE CAN'T PERSONALLY ATTEND TO A SERIOUS HEALTH COMPLAINT IN HIS HOTEL!
After spending over $5,000 in his hotel you would think he could spare a few minutes of his time.

Jerusalem in a great place to visit with your family but DO NOT STAY AT THE DAVID CITADEL!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
8  Thank ezsleepmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

I sincerely apologize we did not handle this situation better and provide the usual superb service we strive for. We’ve examined the details and will see such an incident does not recur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

If you want to be right by the old city this is a top choice. I prefer it over the King David. It has an amazing location by the old city and is next to an inviting mall that offers ample places to dine. The rooms are good size and comfortable. Wifi works great (extra cost) and the breakfast (except Saturday) is amazing. If being next to the old city is not a top priority you can save a good sum of money ad stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Request a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

I thank you for taking the time to post your review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

I started going to the Citadel soon after it first opened, when what is now the famous Mamilla Mall across the street was a mere pile of stones. I always admired the brilliant architecture, the inspiring views and the excellent, if not ideal, location. My only gripe in the early years was the level of service, the lengths to which the staff, especially the senior staff was willing to go to satisfy their clientele. This, I was told, was typical of Israeli establishments, of their crisp, business-like culture

I am happy to report that my most recent visit, from December 11 to December 19, 2012, was an eye-opening display of the complete transformation of the hotel's level of customer service - the culmination of a concerted and determined effort to raise to the highest level their desire and willingness to please their guests.

At the moment of check-in, a friendly exchange between guest and host will occur regarding room types and upgrades with offers to see the different rooms before signing in. Here, the Front Office Manager, Munir Salman, proved gracious and helpful - just as he did upon checking out, extending our time to a very late hour to accommodate our needs. Like many of the other senior staff, he has been with the hotel for many years and will greet returning guests as one would old friends - which is in fact how we felt.

Th rooms are maintained well, with crisp comfortable bedding and turn-down service daily. It is a testament to the integrity and brilliance of the original design and decor that not only the public spaces but also the rooms have retained their same modern, clean and new feel to this day. Incidentally, years ago, the hotels in Israel (and Europe) typically shut down the a/c system for the winter - very annoying for some Americans (and this one) - and I complained about that. Well, this too has changed and I was happily tucked under my duvet with the temps in the room somewhere in the low to mid-sixties.

Breakfast is what Israeli hotels are famous for and here too The Citadel does not disappoint. Omelettes made in front of you, espressos and cappuccinos galore, etc. etc. All manner of food in beautiful indoor and outdoor spaces and a wait staff falling over themselves trying to please and cosset. We were served by the wonderful Saeed and when he was going to be away for a few days he informed us that he would be putting us in the equally able hands of Samer, who did in fact carry the baton in every way.

Two more points.

1. The Fitness Center has been upgraded. Also, there used to be an annoying 50 shekel charge per day for use of the fitness center. There is now no charge at all.

2. The Pool. As I have become an avid swimmer, this is most important to me. To find a large pool in which to do laps during winter is itself a challenge. To find an outdoor pool (you enter and exit the pool from within the building and swim out) heated to just the right temperature, well that is simply fantastic and quite the experience. The life guard, yes, patrolling out there bundled up in hooded winter coat but always vigilant, told me they're open every day of the year except Yom Kippur.

My wife and kids emphatically thanked me for another pleasurable Israel experience and I in turn thank The Citadel.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms on the quiet street that runs along the right side of the hotel when facing it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamElbogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

And I thank you for such richly rewarding compliments; you’ve given us the very highest we could have asked for, and coming from so loyal a guest as yourself they’re all the more gratifying. We look forward to providing many more wonderful experiences for you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

It's expensive and then they make you pay for wifi. They also wouldn't give me a box to take breakfast up to eat with my Mom who is sick. They told me to call room service. Location is great. Beds are comfortable. But it's a tacky hotel. What decent hotel expects a guest to pay for wifi in the 21st century and won't let you take food from the dinning room to eat in your room. They squeeze you for every extra cent they can, even asking for deposits on things that should have come with the room in the first place.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

I'm pleased you enjoyed some aspects and regret the ones you did not. We have many luxuries to offer and you’re welcome to enjoy them on your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay and loved the location.
We were especially happy with the service we received from Monir and the reception desk staff.
They gave us great touring ideas and Manuell was very helpful with some ticket issues we had.
We will definitely recommend it to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asa764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Many thanks for your compliments. Munir and Manuel do exemplify the superb service which is our priority and I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

i've stayed at the hotel a few weeks ago in a Superior room that was not as superior as i expected. the room is very small. so small that after the security staff member opened the connecting door for us- we had no room to place the couch!
however, the hotel has a great location and an amazing spa.

i was dissapointed with breakfast - when i've had an early breakfast it was great, but the next days when i came later, at around 09:30 the pastries were all dried out and not fresh. when i complained i was tols that it was baked much earlier and there is nothing they can do at this time.

also, some staff members are much nicer then the others. When i came to check-in i've had to wait for a few minutes for a bell-boy to take my luggage while the security guy at the front keeps asking them to send a boy over. nothing happend so i took it in by myself. nevertheless, the doorman did not bother getting up and open the door for me. the secutity guy noticed it the last minute and helped me. when i told the doorman it was rude of him, he answerd that he is not a young person and that he cannot get up from his chair for every single guest. my question is - WHY HIRE HOM FOR A JOB THAT HE IS NOT CAPABLE TO DO?!
eventually, i preffered tipping the security team rather then the concierge.

Also - WiFi is with extra charge. this is 2012, wake up! i just went to the Mammila mall, paid for a cup of coffee and got free WiFi. much better.

in coclusion,
nice hotel - could be much better with some thaught. (and some of your staff might need a wake up call).

[sorry for my bad english]

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

I’m so sorry we fell short of the outstanding service we strive for, and hope you choose to stay with us again so that we can restore your faith in our hospitality. Thank you for your detailed review, we much appreciate guest feedback and are considering your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#15 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,565 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#9 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,236 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#11 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#7 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,806 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,074 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
#8 of 101 in Jerusalem
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Address: 7 David ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9410119, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: £285 - £474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing