We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for touring Jerusalem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
David Citadel Hotel
Ranked #9 of 102 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed at the David Citadel for 2 nights on a recent tour of Israel organised by Pomegranate Travel. It is a very comfortable hotel with well designed rooms and excellent facilities. It is perfectly positioned for visiting the holy sights and the new and old parts of this amazing and contrasting city. Our guide (also provided by Pomegranate Travel) was extremely knowledgeable and really brought to life the rich history and culture of Jerusalem. After a long day touring, the hotel's swimming pool was particularly welcome!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Touchstone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you so much for posting your kind review.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay,as this is the way for us to know we did well.
Hope to see you again soon among our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,060)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,209 - 1,215 of 2,060 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

Great place to stay!

Jay, H, Maya B and Tamara helped me out tremendously during check-in with a cheerful smile and a answer for all my questions. Truly valuable employees. They were great!

We have stayed here before and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

On behalf of the entire staff, I wish to thank you so much for these warm words.
I will defenetly pass your kind comments to our team members- especially to Jay,Maya and Tamara .
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay,and hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We are very frequent guests at the David Citadel Hotel.
The David Citadel hotel is very elegant, quite , clean and well located.
All of the staff are very kind.
We would like to mention three of the members of the staff- Monir the manager of front desk and his assistant Manuel , are very proffesional , efficient and have a great ability for personal relationships. They are very attentive and patient to the guests and do their best to permit excellent accomodation.
Every time we refer to Manuel, we feel that very reliable responsible person meets us and takes care personally.
Anan the manager of housekeeping department is very proffesional , sensitive and a great ability to understant special needs of the guests. He is very responsible and kind and shows personal involvement. He does his best to help the guests. The special attitude of these stuff members make the perfect feeling of the guess.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InaAriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Many thanks for such high praise; we are proud to have earned it.
I will definitely forward your warm words to the entire staff, especially to Munir,Manuel and Anan,whom we are proud to have as our employees.
We are delighted you enjoyed your trip so much and look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights at the David Citadel in Jerusalem (Nov 2013). Firstly the hotel should not be confused with the King David hotel about 500 yards up the road.. Something to bear in mind if you are taking a taxi back to the hotel.

The hotel is situated in an excellent location. Just 5-10 minutes walk from Jaffa Gate which I believe makes it the closest hotel to the Old City, and 1 minute walk from the Mamilla shopping mall with restaurants etc.. The rooms were comfortable, clean and bright with large bath and separate shower. The breakfast area is pleasant too with views across the swimming pool to the Old City wall.

The staff were superb. The desk staff were particularly friendly and approachable, and were more than willing to help us with directions, and also helped my wife and I book trips out of the city to the Dead Sea and Bethlehem.

I've stayed at hotels across major cities all over the world and the David Citadel was more than a match with any of them. All in all, and great hotel in a great location. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a City Break to Jerusalem.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BartandGunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time and post your great review.
We do strive to create the highest hospitality level,and your comments prove we are on the right track .
I will definitely pass your comments to the entire staff with great pride.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The hotel is very good, the location is great, the room was very quiet and the bed super comfortable.
But, and it's a big but, although in general the room was very clean, there was quite a lot of dirt behind the bathroom door. We asked a member of the staff to take care of it, but he didn't. Also, members of the staff were talking to eachother very loudly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

It is nice to know you enjoyed your stay, and I am happy you enjoyed the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
I do regret we fell short on the room cleanness, which is not up to the hotel standards, and hope to welcome you back for improved experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The staff was wonderful and the hotel was very clean. My only issue - the reason I did not give it a 5 rating - the smell in the lobby was overwhelming. It was very sweet - like strong perfume! I think it was coming from the spa below, but it almost closed my airways it was so strong.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the walls of the old city - it was a breathtaking view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILOVEWEIMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel mamgement at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

I thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review; your comments regarding the strong smell in the lobby will be duly considered.
I much appreciate your compliments and take your comments to heart.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another special experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We just returned from israel myself and wife and we had such a great time. The hotel David Citadel was just something else. The rooms the service and their food, just superb!!

We would like to make special mention of Anna who was our food valet, she was always ready to assist and had a splendid smile.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 307Amadeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you for posing this great review.
We are proud to have professional staff ,that provide the service we strive to provide to our guests.
I will gladly forward your comments to our staff members -especially to Anna.
Hope to have the pleasure to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#15 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,537 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#7 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,185 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#12 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,788 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
#4 of 102 in Jerusalem
459 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Address: 7 David ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9410119, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#4 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: £263 - £540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing