We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
David Citadel Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$577
US$521
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$693
US$627
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$389
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Montefiore Hotel(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$363
US$319
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Yehuda(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
US$197
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legacy Hotel(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$403
US$380
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Center Jerusalem(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The Sephardic House(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,184)
Filter reviews
2,184 results
Traveller rating
1,566
355
130
77
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,566
355
130
77
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsata bayahold citymamilla mallthe executive loungeconcierge deskbeautiful hotelevery morningguest relationsluxury hotelbreakfast buffetshabbat dinnerwestern walldining roomthe location is perfectheart of jerusalemben yehuda streettel aviv
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,301 - 1,306 of 2,184 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Once you've left the David Citadel you can only go down hill. The Citadel is the best hotel in Israel! Whenever I go there I feel like I've come home. The service, the view, the rooms - I can't say enough great things about this place! A MUST stay in Israel!

Room Tip: Go for the Alcove Deluxe and ask for the room "in the center' of the horseshoe for the best view!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaiaHoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

My many thanks for such high praise, and your loyal business.
We know we are doing well when your experiences only improve.
We are proud and happy to be able to serve an impeccable service. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Once again, our stay at the David Citadel was flawless. After many years, it is comforting to return to a hotel and see that the rooms are clean and fresh, the breakfast as lavish as we remembered and the management team and staff welcoming, efficient and helpful. While nothing is ever perfect, the David Citadel management team did everything they could to make it perfect for us. Super, great hotel!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for such a rewarding review.
We do try to exceed expectations and provide the very best service, so it’s really good to hear we’ve succeeded, all the more so from loyal guests.
I will definitely pass your kind comments to our team members.
We eagerly await your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Excellent room with lots of space to spread out. Great food - we stayed 4 nights and loved every meal. Breakfast is almost too pretty to eat served buffet style. Internet access is HORRIBLE and we were very close to front desk. If you plan on business or keeping in contact with family via internet pick some other place. Their "business office" has 2 computers to serve several hundred rooms. When I asked about internet that was suppose to work in rooms, the desk clerk said "Yes, our internet sucks".

Room Tip: first floor corner rooms seem to have extra space.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay; it’s important for us to know where we succeed and where we can improve.
I much appreciate your compliments and take your comments to heart.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another special and improved experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

What a great overall experience. When we arrived, our room keys were waiting for us with a completely hassle free check in. Fresh drinks and snacks were waiting for us in the lobby before we were escorted to our room. The dining staff was always courteous and pleasing. Our waiter, SAID, and the restaurant manager, ABED, were amazing. They catered to our every need. The free WIFI in the room was an added bonus!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

On behalf of the entire staff, I wish to thank you so much for these warm words.
I will definitely pass your kind comments to our team members-especially Said and Abed.
I am happy you enjoyed your stay, and hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Citadel for a few rainy days in December. They have wonderful hospitality and a star general manager who did everything he could to make our stay comfortable. We had no special general manager type needs but he circulated throughout the hotel, checking on guests.
The location is 5 minutes from the Old City, Jaffa Gate. You can see the Old City from the upper floors. The breakfast is varied with many healthy choices-salads, nuts, grilled vegetables, cheeses, and lots of types of fish. If you prefer carbs, they have that too-in abundance.
The rates are high-commensurate with this expensive city. (Pocket some rolls for lunch.) You will enjoy your stay.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank rangyhulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

My many thanks for your business and your review; it is rewarding to know we succeed in providing superb hospitality for you .
We look forward to welcoming you back again for many more wonderful experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews