We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
David Citadel Hotel
Ranked #11 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Weekend away”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Hotel room overlooking the old city was breathtaking and romantic.
The service was great, and breakfast was in true Israeli style, with a buffet like none other.
Couldn't have asked for a better day poolside with cold drinks and music.
If you are looking to be pampered in Jerusalem, visit this hotel

Room Tip: Enclave suites look over the old city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for such a rewarding review. We do try to exceed expectations and provide the very best service, so it’s really good to hear we’ve succeeded.
We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,433
    327
    128
    67
    45
See reviews for
737
412
74
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

An absolutely superb, world class hotel in the middle of Jerusalem. Everything from the location (our balcony overlooked the Old City) to the Staff, to the Service was top notch. We would come and stay here again, whenever we were in town

Room Tip: Suggest a junior suite with Old City Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverDonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for your heartwarming review, your comments are greatly appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back for many future enjoyable experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great hotel. Very well situated and great service. Breakfast was awesome!!! This was made possible by Sa-id, the man running the breakfast there. He and his peers took care of all of us there with a smile.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eddie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you so much for posting this kind review. We are proud to provide the high level of service to our guests, and are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will forward your kind comments to Said at breakfast.
We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future, and provide an even better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I would like to take this opportunity to comment on the staff at the David Citadel hotel. The staff was top knotch. I was greeted every morning with a smile and a "good morning". I would like to really say thank you to Ms. Shoshi Cohen and Ms. Gil Baruch. They worked in the executive lounge. They were extremely pleasant and very very hospitable. It was a pleasure getting to know them both. They made the stay worth while and I would very honored to stay at the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for posing this great review.
We are proud to have professional staff ,that provide the service we strive to provide to our guests.
I will gladly forward your comments to our staff members- especially to our Executive Lounge staff.
Hope to have the pleasure to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed three nights . Check in was satisfactory. Room was quiet and spacious but beginning to look a touch threadbare . Carpet was marked and worn - which is off putting . Breakfast was excellent and the view from the breakfast balcony is stunning. Public spaces in hotel whilst beautiful now need refurbishment . The pool area and gym are excellent, Staff service was good and way above normal standards in Israel. Would only stay in a refurbished room in future .

Room Tip: Hotel has begun a refurb so would only request a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EliR255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to to post this kind and helpful review.
As for your comment - comprehensive refurbishing of all guest rooms is scheduled to begin later this year.
Hope to host you again soon, so you can enjoy the impoved experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

As a very frequent traveler, I have seen it all. I have visited executive lounges at the best hotels the world over. None is better than the Executive Lounge at the David Citadel Hotel. I recently called the hotel "home" for 18 consecutive nights and took up residence there for over 30 nights in the last couple of months. The service, professionalism and friendliness of the lounge staff is second to none. Aside from constantly offering to refresh my "coke light" and offer food, they always greeted with a smile and a friendly "Shalom". They took service to the next level when offering to assist in printing documents, making copies, etc. I felt as if they were a part of our extended staff.
So, Kudos to the Staff of the David Citadel's Executive Lounge. You all could travel from hotel to hotel and give lessons in customer service!! Thanks for making our stay a great one!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a Old City View! Better yet, splurge a little and get a Jr. Suite with a terrace f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for posing this great review, and your loyal business.
We are proud to have professional staff ,that provide the service we strive to provide to our guests.
I will gladly forward your comments to our staff members- especially to our Executive Lounge staff.
Hope to have the pleasure to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We paid US$5,151 for a 7 nights Alcove Deluxe room in this supposedly 5 star hotel. What a let down . The room has no clock,(available only upon request) ;no kettle (available upon paying a refundable deposit of 200 shekel) worn out broken wooden chairs in the balcony...5star hotel?? The front desk ladies are rude & arrogant. When checking in the lady checking us in was more interested to sell us the junior suite at a special upgrade fee of US$200per nite . When we declined she just stop processing our checking in and asked a young man to take over and walked off without even giving us a second look! Newspaper was supposed to be delivered to our room. After 3days I called up the front desk. The lady who took the call gave no apologies and in fact wanted to direct our call to concierge. As we were rushing off for our private tour at 8.30am we told her to sort it out for us. By the time we came back in the evening around 7.45pm of course no newspaper. But to top it off on the last night of our stay we decided to settle the bill around10.30pm as we have to leave the hotel by 5.30am. We asked the young lady to change US$50into shekels . Without even bothering to look into the cash drawer she told us in a curt manner to come back in the morning to get the change. I was shocked and told her the we have to leave by 5.30 am . She turned around and gave me a hard stare and said in a very stern voice "we will have the change for you in the morning" I muttered to my husband that I must write to TripAdvisor and immediately we were taken aback when she asked for the Us$50. These ladies really do not understand that they are in the service industry and are behaving like school teachers telling off guests. Very poorly trained . 3 outstanding staff, who knows what service in a 5 star hotel should be are 1. Yael Zims (guest relations) who immediately arranged for clock &newspaper for us; 2. Said the waiter who was first class in service and guests would look for him when they needed something at breakfast and of course the ever willing and smiling housekeeping Dept's Abu Gosh.
I would not recommend anyone to pay that kind of price for this hotel. However if there should be a tour that include stay in this hotel than you should take it . Overheard in the elevator an American couple telling their tour's fellow traveller that they were given a Junior Suite! How about that a US$900+ room for a tour package!

Room Tip: Alcove rooms do not have fantastic view as there are constructions right in front. So you will be se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eagleeye23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I regret your stay with us was anything less than perfect , and happy you enjoyed some of what we have to offer.
As we learn from all comments, I can assure you we will check your comments thoroughly.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a better experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,495 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#7 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,131 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#9 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#5 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,777 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,020 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Property: David Citadel Hotel
Address: 7 David ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9410119, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#4 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing