We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 weeks in review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
David Citadel Hotel
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I recently spent three weeks at this hotel. The staff are amazing. Special thanks to the cleaning staff who cleaned my room so nicely everyday and worked so hard. Also, special thanks to SAID in the dining area who made my breakfast experience fantastic. Every day he was so quick to fill my coffee and ask what I needed. All of the staff was great. Location and proximity to city center and old town makes this a must stay location. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rsouthland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

On behalf of the entire stuff, I wish to thank you so much for taking the time to post these warm words.
I will definitely pass your kind comments to our team members- especially to Said at breakfast.
I am happy you enjoyed your stay, and hope to host you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

992 - 998 of 2,123 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

I went for medical checkups at the medical center in the hotel (my company sent me to the periodical checkups) on July 8th. As part of the checkups, I got a voucher for breakfast. I definitely did not expect the best breakfast I ever had. There was such a wide variety and everything was served so beautifully that every type of food caught my eye. The hospitality was a genuine middle east hospitality, as I read in all the books. Abed and Said were very generous and gave the best service, which made the experience even better. Looking forward to coming again to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Naama Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

My sincere thanks for such very lovely compliments regarding our breakfast.
I will pass your comments to our staff with great pride- especially to Said and Abed at breakfast.
Hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The hotel is fantastic. You feel like you are coming home. Entire staff is extremely helpful.
The views are spectacular. The rooms are spacious and the amenities are from L'Occitane
Breakfast is delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Many thanks for such high compliments, and for taking the time to write it.
I will forward your remarks to the entire staff with great pride.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stay at the David Citadel annually and have done so for the last 15 years. I love the hotel, I love the location, I love the room we always stay in (although I must confess the renovation of all the rooms - which has already begun - is necessary to keep up with the competition) with the breathtaking view of the Old City, the magnificent flowers in the room and the extra special care of the staff who take care of the room day and night. I miss the dark chocolate hearts that used to be placed on our pillow for turndown - please bring them back! I love to have breakfast outside on the terrace, enjoy my daily cappucino, fresh squueezed juice, wonderful fresh made omelet and the service of the very best team of waiters and managers in any hotel anywhere around the world! This year we hosted a Shabbat dinner for 23 people on the terrace overlooking the walls of the Old City and the lights of the walls plus the Jerusalem lights festival made this whole experience breathtaking. I would be remiss if I did not single out Manuel who helped with the Shabbat dinner and is in charge of the terrace at breakfast. And then of course our dear friend Abed who is one of the managers and welcomes us back each year as if we are family. Mahmoon organized the entire Shabbat dinner for us and took into account special foods for my niece. He could not have been more obliging. It never ceases to amaze me how the waiters remember us from year to year - Samir, Ata, Samer and of course our beloved Yoram who is no longer the omelet chef after 10 years due to his promotion and is present daily checking the buffet and catering to all the guests' needs. It's a good feeling when you walk into the dining room and you are greeted like family. The rooms and bathrooms are spotless even while the carpet in our room is tired and in need of an overhaul and the bathrooms are well appointed and have great showers, big bath tubs and fluffy bath robes and towels.The fitness center is wonderful, the pool is great and generally the hotel is 5 star! Above all, the reception by Munir (our dear dear friend), Manuel and Medina makes our stay feel like home away from home. Thank you once again for a glorious visit. We will be back

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for posing this great review, and your loyal business over the years.

We are proud to have professional staff ,that provide the service we strive to provide to our guests. Especially guests that consider our Hotel as "Home away from Home".
I will gladly and proudly forward your comments to our staff members- all those you have mentioned.
Hope to have the pleasure to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second time at the David Citadel. Our daughter is in the IDF and we brought my wife's parents to visit. The location is wonderful, the rooms are well kept and well appointed. The bathrooms have a great shower and are large. We had chosen again a room with balcony and view of the old city, and it never dissapoints. The pool is beautiful, the breakfast out standing with fresh produce and omelet made to order. Our waiter Said was there to take care of us again. He is a stand out and we appreciated his attentiveness and service. Arie and Ilan at the concierge desk so helpful and always patient and informative. Security is great. The concerns for the guest's comfort is high. A truly 5 star hotel without any negative points. It will always be our home in Jerusalem.
By the way, my mother in law , who is quite difficult to please , when it comes to accomodations and food , was delighted and very pleased.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank rdavidml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Many thanks for such high compliments, and for taking the time to write it.
I will forward your remarks to the entire staff you have mentioned with great pride.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was an extraordinary few days in Jerusalem with Pope's visit, but I think many days in Jerusalem are extraordinary; it's an intense city! Staff did little to ease 'tensions' although the breakfast servers were very friendly and accommodating.

Rooms were clean, well appointed and small but expensive considering hotel ammenities, particularly during Shabbat.

Compared to hospitality received in Tel Aviv hotel, I was disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I regret your stay with us was anything less than perfect , and happy you enjoyed some of what we have to offer.
As we learn from all comments, I can assure you we will check your comments thoroughly.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a better experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We spent our holiday in Jerusalem and the breakfast
Service was excellent. We have
Enjoyed a variety of fresh meals
And healthy food, fresh orange juice and a very tasted cappachino made by our waiter
Mr. Said Ammouri who treated us nicely and took care of us during our breakfast. Because of the warm welcome from the staff we will visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for posing this great review.
We are proud to have professional staff ,that provide the service we strive to provide to our guests.
I will gladly forward your comments to our staff members- especially to Said at breakfast.
Hope to have the pleasure to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#15 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,613 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#8 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,298 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#11 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,842 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,103 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
#9 of 100 in Jerusalem
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Address: 7 David ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9410119, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: £269 - £517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 385impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing