We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad how far downhill this once great property has gone...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
David Citadel Hotel
Ranked #11 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sad how far downhill this once great property has gone...”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have stayed at the Citadel several times over the past few years, and one that I would feel comfortable recommending to friends or colleagues visiting Jerusalem. However, after this stay, I can say that .I will NEVER stay in or recommend the hotel to anyone again.

I have been here with my family past few nights and was shocked at how this property has gone downhill. The breakfast was mediocre at best, not to mention trying to get a cup of coffee trook forever. I am not sure how you make and omelette inedible, but these were, and the open shelves stocked with crackers, bread etc were completely unsanitary.
The first night we asked the concierge to assist us with arranging for transportation for the evening. We ended up in a taxi at a rate almost double what it should have been, and with a driver who started screaming at us to the point we had to find another taxi and pay a second time. Apparently the hotel charged a markup on the taxi, yet didn't actually make sure we had a driver that was willing to take care of us.

As it turned out, those were the LEAST of the issues. The hall outside of our rooms, and subsequently our rooms smelled like sewer gas. When someone came up during our stay they mentioned that they noticed the smell, yet nothing was done about it.

When we made the reservation, the person in the reservations department offered a special rate of 50% off , which was the reason we chose the hotel over its newer and much MUCH better managed property, the Mamila. We gave the person the email address twice, but never received a confirmation. We later found out that she had sent it to the incorrect email address. This is understandable with the language barrier, but what wasn't is when we learned that not only had we NOT received the promised discount, but that the discount was ONLY available at the Mamila, which is where we wanted to stay in the first place. Even more frustrating, the person at the front desk acknowledged that the person who had taken our reservation was new and had made a mistake, yet neither he nor the manager was willing to take responsibility on the hotel's behalf, resulting in us being charged DOUBLE what we were told. They were not willing to make ANY concessions, offering us only 50% off our NEXT stay which will be NEVER. (We are returning to Israel with a large group in the next couple of months and even at 50% off I wouldn't consider staying here again, nor would I subject anyone else to it!)
With everything going on in the region, occupancy rates are extremely low. We were told that the top two floors of the hotel (including the one we are staying on) are almost empty. You would think that our business now and in the future would matter, but considering the lack of action on the part of the hotel and its staff, that doesn't seem to be the case. Very disappointed in what used to be my go-to hotel in Jerusalem. I hope for the owner's sake that the management 'style' at the Citadel doesn't seep over into its sister property next door....

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are far from deluxe. For the price, you can find much nicer. Rooms over the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quartzlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I regret your stay with us was anything less than perfect , and hope you enjoyed some of what we have to offer.
As we learn from all comments, I can assure you we will check your comments thoroughly.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,431
    327
    128
    67
    45
See reviews for
735
412
74
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I just got back last week from a quick trip to Israel. I was there with my father and they gave us access to the Executive Lounge. All day, anytime a place to go, have a drink, some soup so food. It was so nice there. Everyone was so nice and unfortunately it was empty but that only gave us more service time!!!

Ask for Executive Lounge Access and book your trip to come today!!!

Room Tip: Any room with "old city view" is a great start.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mayer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you so much for posting your kind review.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay,as this is the way for us to know we did well.
Hope to see you again soon among our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I had stayed at the hotel before and had a better experience. The service at dinner and lunch on Friday and Saturday was terrible. We couldn't even get someone to bring us water. Also, we had a suite for 4 people. And I had to family members come and visit us at the hotel and they were not allowed to sit with us at the pool. For $700 per night i expected better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I regret your stay with us was anything less than perfect , and happy you enjoyed some of what we have to offer.
As we learn from all comments, I can assure you we will check your comments thoroughly.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a better experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The view of a full moon rising over Jerusalem from the outside dining area was unbelievable. If you're there for a Friday evening, be sure to sign up for the Shabbat dinner, which was awesome.
Walking distance to everything. All that and an H.Stern for great shopping in the hotel. We will stay there again on our next trip to Jerusalem.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Many thanks for such high compliments, and for taking the time to write it.
I will forward your remarks to the entire Hotel staff with great pride.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The food was amazing and the service was quite perfect...i have enjoyed the food very much, room service as well...if i am to come visit again i would definitely come back again to it..

the staff was really nice and friendly especially mr. said as he was very welcoming and hosty

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your heartwarming review, your comments are greatly appreciated.
We hope to welcome you back for many future enjoyable experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed for only two days but it was sufficient to be impressed by this beautiful Hotel, the ever so hospitable staff, the luxurious room & outstanding service, the wonderful pool and perfect restaurant (evening and breakfast) at the hotel overlooking the Wailing Wall, all in this spectacular first class hotel in Jerusalem overlooking the Holy Kotel. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: rooms facing the old city and the Wailing Wall only. Worth the extra charge. simply perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eliana988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for such a rewarding review. We do try to exceed expectations and provide the very best service, so it’s really good to hear we’ve succeeded.
We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london uk
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for four nights in early July - our fourth stay over the last few years - and we were so glad that we did. There may be newer and swankier five star hotels in Jerusalem but, for what you pay, the Citadel is a great choice. The location is superb as it's so close to both the shopping areas and the Old City. The staff are extremely helpful - in particular Yael in Guest Relations who was so gracious about changing our room when we had noisy neighbours - to the door men, reception and concierge and all the staff who serve breakfast (thank you Samir). The rooms are a good size and spotlessly clean with plentiful toiletries supplied. The breakfast choice is amazing and the pool is great - pity that the view of the Old City is now blocked by new construction though. The vibe in the hotel is relaxed coupled with quiet efficiency on the part of the staff. We have no doubt that we will be back at the Citadel next time we are in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siobhancrusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for posing this great review, and your loyal business over the years.

We are proud to have professional staff ,that provide the service we strive to provide to our guests. Especially guests that consider our Hotel as "Home away from Home".
I will gladly and proudly forward your comments to our staff members- all those you have mentioned.
Hope to have the pleasure to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,495 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#7 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,131 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#9 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#5 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,777 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,019 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Property: David Citadel Hotel
Address: 7 David ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9410119, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#4 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing